University Library at St. Cloud State University

Legal and Free

Legal and Free to Use
These resources are legal and free to use for online instruction, presentations, and non-commercial performances!
While these resources are legal and free to use, credit all content creators of this free media!


Creative Commons Licesnsed Media
CC Search allows searches from multiple Creative Commons licensed and public domain sites for images, music, video, and other media.
Creative Commons Content Directories: Lists of organizations and projects that provide CC-licensed and public domain media.
Google's Advanced Image Search, go to "usage rights" and limit to those images that are free to use or share.
McCoy Productions provides links to multiple sites that provide Creative Commons licensed music to use in videos.

Open Access Resources
Open Access Publications
Open Data
Open Educational Resources
Open Textbooks
Wikimedia Commons: Free Media Resources/Photography Frequently updated mega-site of CC-licensed and public domain photographs.
Wikimedia Foundation Projects (including Wikipedia, but so much more)

Public Domain Media
Pond5 provides historic audio files, photos, and video to use for creative projects. Create a free account and the world is yours!
The Public Domain Review Collections. Search by medium or time period.

University Library Resources
The following library resources are licensed to use for online instruction through our course management system:
eBook collections
Streaming Media Collections (includes films, video experiments, and music)
Content from our online databases may be linked to a course page if credit to the creator(s) and bibliographic.information is provided.
The Repository contains SCSU faculty and student publications which are Creative Commons Licensed for non-commercial sharing provided that creator(s) receive credit and that the work is not altered in any way.

For all other materials, please contact the Collection Management Librarian with any copyright, fair use, or performance rights related questions.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Rachel Wexelbaum

Rachel Wexelbaum
Associate Professor, Collection Management Librarian
MC 135D
(320) 308-4756
rswexelbaum@stcloudstate.edu


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University