Start with these databases:
ERIC (EBSCO)
ERIC is the primary database supporting research in all areas of education, including psychology, administration, and library science.
MLA International Bibliography (Languages & Literature)
Comprehensive current index to articles and chapters in scholarly collections for literature, linguistics, and folklore. Covers all the world's languages and literatures, both contemporary and historical.
PsycINFO
PsycINFO is the premier source for finding scholarly articles and other information relating to all aspects of psychology and related fields.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
The main database for Communication Studies and Mass Communications. Searches over 600 journal titles that support research in communication, mass media, linguistics, language learning and related fields of study.
Other databases to explore:
Academic Search Premier (all topics) from EBSCO
Full-text articles in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
Google Scholar
Searches academic papers and other scholarly literature. Go to Settings and set SCSU as your "Library link" to get full text available through the library.
ERIC (EBSCO)
ERIC is the primary database supporting research in all areas of education, including psychology, administration, and library science.
MLA International Bibliography (Languages & Literature)
Comprehensive current index to articles and chapters in scholarly collections for literature, linguistics, and folklore. Covers all the world's languages and literatures, both contemporary and historical.
PsycINFO
PsycINFO is the premier source for finding scholarly articles and other information relating to all aspects of psychology and related fields.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
The main database for Communication Studies and Mass Communications. Searches over 600 journal titles that support research in communication, mass media, linguistics, language learning and related fields of study.
Other databases to explore:
Academic Search Premier (all topics) from EBSCO
Full-text articles in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
Google Scholar
Searches academic papers and other scholarly literature. Go to Settings and set SCSU as your "Library link" to get full text available through the library.
- Some tips for searching Google Scholar: http://www.umuc.edu/library/libhow/googlescholar.cfm
- Information from Google about Google Scholar: http://scholar.google.com/intl/en-US/scholar/help.html
- Information about the "Cited by" function in Google Scholar: http://academicguides.waldenu.edu/content.php?pid=225643&sid=1870041
Teacher Reference Center
Provides indexing and abstracts for over 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals to assist professional educators.
1. Limits: To focus your search, use database features that allow you to specify criteria such as date and publication type such as peer-reviewed journals.
2. Sort Order: Note how your search results are displayed -- many databases sort by relevance rather than by date.
3. Subject Terms: Pay attention to the subject terms because they can lead to other relevant articles on your topic.
4. Get an Article: If the full text of the article is not available in the database you're searching, use
5. Not Satisfied? If you are not finding relevant results about your topic, try different combinations of search terms, or select another database to search.
For more tips, watch "How Can I Develop an Effective Search Strategy?"
2. Sort Order: Note how your search results are displayed -- many databases sort by relevance rather than by date.
3. Subject Terms: Pay attention to the subject terms because they can lead to other relevant articles on your topic.
4. Get an Article: If the full text of the article is not available in the database you're searching, use
5. Not Satisfied? If you are not finding relevant results about your topic, try different combinations of search terms, or select another database to search.
For more tips, watch "How Can I Develop an Effective Search Strategy?"
Credo Reference 
Provides online access to over 500 reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) in all subject areas. This is the premier place to look up a quick fact or to search for background information on a research topic.
The Lesson Plan Generator
This resource from the Language Acquisition Resource Center guides teachers through the design process using the principle of Understanding by Design.
Assessment of Second Language
From CARLA: Center for Advanced Research on Language Acquisition at the University of Minnesota.
Understanding Assessment: A Guide for Foreign Language Educators
A tutorial on language testing from the Center for Applied Linguistics.
Provides online access to over 500 reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) in all subject areas. This is the premier place to look up a quick fact or to search for background information on a research topic.
The Lesson Plan Generator
This resource from the Language Acquisition Resource Center guides teachers through the design process using the principle of Understanding by Design.
Assessment of Second Language
From CARLA: Center for Advanced Research on Language Acquisition at the University of Minnesota.
Understanding Assessment: A Guide for Foreign Language Educators
A tutorial on language testing from the Center for Applied Linguistics.
Robin Ewing
Professor, Research Librarian
MC 204F
(320) 308-2093
rlewing@stcloudstate.edu
Click to access email (answered usually within an hour during regular Reference Desk hours), chat (available 24 / 7), phone numbers for SCSU Reference Desk, and online form to set up a one-on-one (in person or via telephone) research consultation with a librarian.
As you work on your project, schedule an in-person or online meeting with me for in-depth guidance on finding the best resources for your topic.
APA Formatting and Style Guide from OWL at Purdue 
Provides examples of formatting papers, in-text citations, footnotes and endnotes, and reference lists in APA style. Updated according to the 6th edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.
MLA Formatting and Style Guide from OWL at Purdue
MLA (Modern Language Association) style is most commonly used to write papers and cite sources within the liberal arts and humanities, including English. This resource offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the Works Cited page.
Manage your research and create bibliographies with a click of a button. Set up your account from an on-campus computer and then use RefWorks from anywhere.
RefWorks YouTube Channel
Mendeley
Mendeley is a free reference manager and academic social network that can help you organize your research, collaborate with others online, and discover the latest research. Zotero
Zotero is a free, easy-to-use, standalone software program that works with Firefox, Chrome and Safari. It allows users to collect, manage, and cite your research sources (similar to RefWorks).
Provides examples of formatting papers, in-text citations, footnotes and endnotes, and reference lists in APA style. Updated according to the 6th edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.
MLA Formatting and Style Guide from OWL at Purdue
MLA (Modern Language Association) style is most commonly used to write papers and cite sources within the liberal arts and humanities, including English. This resource offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the Works Cited page.
Manage your research and create bibliographies with a click of a button. Set up your account from an on-campus computer and then use RefWorks from anywhere.
RefWorks YouTube Channel
Mendeley
Mendeley is a free reference manager and academic social network that can help you organize your research, collaborate with others online, and discover the latest research. Zotero
Zotero is a free, easy-to-use, standalone software program that works with Firefox, Chrome and Safari. It allows users to collect, manage, and cite your research sources (similar to RefWorks).
- When searching the databases for articles, look for the one of these links to access full text:
- If you don't see full text links, click on the Find It! button to view the easiest way to access the article:
