Academic Search Premier (all topics) from EBSCO 
Full-text articles in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
America: History & Life
Search 2,000 scholarly journals on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present (the rest of the world is covered in Historical Abstracts).
American Memory: Historical Collections for the National Digital Library
The gateway to the Library of Congress’s digitized American primary source materials including photographs, posters, maps, letters, diaries, sound recordings, films, books, pamphlets, and sheet music.
ERIC (Education)
ERIC is the primary database supporting research in all areas of education, including psychology, administration, and library science.
Note: 1966 - present
Historical Abstracts
Search over 2,000 scholarly journals covering the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).
JSTOR
Provides access to scholarly journals in anthropology, ecology, economics, education, general science, history, literature, mathematics, political science, philosophy, and more. Some journals have "moving wall" access that does not include the most recent 2-5 years.
Making of America (Cornell)
This database includes "a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology." (From Website)
Teacher Reference Center
Provides indexing and abstracts for over 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals to assist professional educators.
WorldCat
Search for materials beyond SCSU, from thousands of libraries and institutions around the world. Click on the FindIt! button and sign in to and request items through Interlibrary Loan.
Full-text articles in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
America: History & Life
Search 2,000 scholarly journals on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present (the rest of the world is covered in Historical Abstracts).
American Memory: Historical Collections for the National Digital Library
The gateway to the Library of Congress’s digitized American primary source materials including photographs, posters, maps, letters, diaries, sound recordings, films, books, pamphlets, and sheet music.
ERIC (Education)
ERIC is the primary database supporting research in all areas of education, including psychology, administration, and library science.
Note: 1966 - present
Historical Abstracts
Search over 2,000 scholarly journals covering the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).
JSTOR
Provides access to scholarly journals in anthropology, ecology, economics, education, general science, history, literature, mathematics, political science, philosophy, and more. Some journals have "moving wall" access that does not include the most recent 2-5 years.
Making of America (Cornell)
This database includes "a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology." (From Website)
Teacher Reference Center
Provides indexing and abstracts for over 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals to assist professional educators.
WorldCat
Search for materials beyond SCSU, from thousands of libraries and institutions around the world. Click on the FindIt! button and sign in to and request items through Interlibrary Loan.
National History Education Clearinghouse
State-of-the-art practices and multimedia examples of classroom teaching using primary sources, historical thinking, and teaching with textbooks
Best of History Web Sites
An online directory offering links to more than 700 of the best history-related web sites. Also includes links to such reputable sites as PBS, National Geographic, CNN, BBC, Library of Congress and university-sponsored web sites. Provides a topical index with a ranking system. (Annotation excerpted from CHOICE, January 2003, P.M. Adams, Nova Southwestern University.)
efolio Minnesota
A multimedia electronic portfolio designed to help you create a living showcase of your education, career and personal achievements. All Minnesota residents, including students enrolled in Minnesota schools, educators and others can use eFolio Minnesota to reach their career and education goals.
Minnesota Alliance for Geography Education
An organization of educators and professionals who share a commitment to quality education and the expansion of geography education.
Minnesota Council for History Education
The Minnesota Council for History Education is a non-profit organization dedicated to the promotion of history. The MNCHE is a protector and defender of everything and anything related to historical education and history appreciation in Minnesota.
Minnesota Council for the Social Studies
MCSS is a professional advocacy group that encourages teachers to be proactive leaders who challenge and educate empowered students to promote human dignity in an increasingly global society through the study of all social sciences.
Minnesota State Academic Standards for Social Studies
Academic standards set by the Minnesota Department of Education.
Minnesota Social Studies Teacher Standards
From the Minnesota Administrative Rules
Education Minnesota
Education Minnesota includes 70,000 educators working together for excellence in education for all Minnesota students.
National Council for the Social Studies
Founded in 1921, National Council for the Social Studies has grown to be the largest association in the country devoted solely to social studies education. NCSS engages and supports educators in strengthening and advocating social studies.
Geography Lessons and Activities
Lessons, units, and activities designed by educator's to bring good geography into the classroom from the National Geographic Society’s Geography Education Program.
National Council for History Education
The National Council for History Education is a non-profit corporation dedicated to promoting the importance of history in schools and in society.
National Council for Geographic Education
The National Council for Geographic Education works to enhance the status and quality of geography teaching and learning.
National Archives and Records Administration
Provides access to federal and executive government documents. This site is searchable by keyword, title, or citation information (Diana Hacker, 2003).
Social Studies Resources from Indiana University
Contains information and topics that are useful to pre-service social studies instructors and students.
EcEdWeb: Economic Education Web
A portal to economic education resources in all forms and at all levels created by the University of Nebraska Omaha's Center for Economic Education.
Center for Economic Education
The St. Cloud State University Center for Economic Education's mission is to help develop a well informed and economically literate citizenry in Central Minnesota.
Center for Civic Education
The Center for Civic Education is a nonprofit, nonpartisan educational corporation dedicated to promoting an enlightened and responsible citizenry committed to democratic principles and actively engaged in the practice of democracy in the United States and other countries.
PBS for Teachers
Multimedia resources and professional development for America's pre-K-12 educators.
History Channel
Information and resources from the History Channel.
Minnesota Historical Society
"Connect with Minnesota's people and their stories -- past and present. We've been collecting, preserving and telling Minnesota stories for more than 150 years. Discover your links to Minnesota's past."
Techlearning
Free resources for history and social sciences.
National Student Mock Election
"The National Student/Parent Mock Election makes students and parents aware of the power of their ballot by actively involving them in a full-fledged campaign and national election. Over 40 million have participated since the project began. The National Student Mock Election is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization."
Historical Thinking Matters
A website focused on key topics in U.S. history, that is designed to teach students how to critically read primary sources and how to critique and construct historical narratives.
Gilder Lehrman Institute
The Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History promotes the study and love of American history. The Institute serves teachers, students, scholars, and the general public.
Bill of Rights Institute
Bill of Rights Institute is a not for profit charity focused on providing educational resources on America’s Founding documents and principles for teachers and students of American History and Civics.
CIA World Factbook
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.
State-of-the-art practices and multimedia examples of classroom teaching using primary sources, historical thinking, and teaching with textbooks
Best of History Web Sites
An online directory offering links to more than 700 of the best history-related web sites. Also includes links to such reputable sites as PBS, National Geographic, CNN, BBC, Library of Congress and university-sponsored web sites. Provides a topical index with a ranking system. (Annotation excerpted from CHOICE, January 2003, P.M. Adams, Nova Southwestern University.)
efolio Minnesota
A multimedia electronic portfolio designed to help you create a living showcase of your education, career and personal achievements. All Minnesota residents, including students enrolled in Minnesota schools, educators and others can use eFolio Minnesota to reach their career and education goals.
Minnesota Alliance for Geography Education
An organization of educators and professionals who share a commitment to quality education and the expansion of geography education.
Minnesota Council for History Education
The Minnesota Council for History Education is a non-profit organization dedicated to the promotion of history. The MNCHE is a protector and defender of everything and anything related to historical education and history appreciation in Minnesota.
Minnesota Council for the Social Studies
MCSS is a professional advocacy group that encourages teachers to be proactive leaders who challenge and educate empowered students to promote human dignity in an increasingly global society through the study of all social sciences.
Minnesota State Academic Standards for Social Studies
Academic standards set by the Minnesota Department of Education.
Minnesota Social Studies Teacher Standards
From the Minnesota Administrative Rules
Education Minnesota
Education Minnesota includes 70,000 educators working together for excellence in education for all Minnesota students.
National Council for the Social Studies
Founded in 1921, National Council for the Social Studies has grown to be the largest association in the country devoted solely to social studies education. NCSS engages and supports educators in strengthening and advocating social studies.
Geography Lessons and Activities
Lessons, units, and activities designed by educator's to bring good geography into the classroom from the National Geographic Society’s Geography Education Program.
National Council for History Education
The National Council for History Education is a non-profit corporation dedicated to promoting the importance of history in schools and in society.
National Council for Geographic Education
The National Council for Geographic Education works to enhance the status and quality of geography teaching and learning.
National Archives and Records Administration
Provides access to federal and executive government documents. This site is searchable by keyword, title, or citation information (Diana Hacker, 2003).
Social Studies Resources from Indiana University
Contains information and topics that are useful to pre-service social studies instructors and students.
EcEdWeb: Economic Education Web
A portal to economic education resources in all forms and at all levels created by the University of Nebraska Omaha's Center for Economic Education.
Center for Economic Education
The St. Cloud State University Center for Economic Education's mission is to help develop a well informed and economically literate citizenry in Central Minnesota.
Center for Civic Education
The Center for Civic Education is a nonprofit, nonpartisan educational corporation dedicated to promoting an enlightened and responsible citizenry committed to democratic principles and actively engaged in the practice of democracy in the United States and other countries.
PBS for Teachers
Multimedia resources and professional development for America's pre-K-12 educators.
History Channel
Information and resources from the History Channel.
Minnesota Historical Society
"Connect with Minnesota's people and their stories -- past and present. We've been collecting, preserving and telling Minnesota stories for more than 150 years. Discover your links to Minnesota's past."
- http://www.csun.edu/~hcedu013/plans.html
- https://www.teachtci.com/resources/onlSoc.aspx
- http://www.eduref.org/cgi-bin/lessons.cgi/Social_Studies
- http://www.education-world.com/a_tsl/archives/soc_sci.shtml
Social Studies Lesson Plans
Techlearning
Free resources for history and social sciences.
National Student Mock Election
"The National Student/Parent Mock Election makes students and parents aware of the power of their ballot by actively involving them in a full-fledged campaign and national election. Over 40 million have participated since the project began. The National Student Mock Election is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization."
Historical Thinking Matters
A website focused on key topics in U.S. history, that is designed to teach students how to critically read primary sources and how to critique and construct historical narratives.
Gilder Lehrman Institute
The Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History promotes the study and love of American history. The Institute serves teachers, students, scholars, and the general public.
Bill of Rights Institute
Bill of Rights Institute is a not for profit charity focused on providing educational resources on America’s Founding documents and principles for teachers and students of American History and Civics.
CIA World Factbook
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.
Michael Gorman
Associate Professor, Research Librarian
MC 140F
(320) 308-2028
msgorman@stcloudstate.edu
Reference Desk - Miller Center 1st Floor W
- Monday-Thursday: 10:00 am - 6:00 pm
- Friday: 10:00 am - 4:00 pm
Email: askref@stcloudstate.edu
Provides resources for citing sources, writing annotated bibliographies and literature reviews, and doing Social Science research.
Education (Elementary)
Education (Secondary)
Geography
History (Minnesota)
History (United States)
History (World)
Political Science
Sociology
Education (Elementary)
Education (Secondary)
Geography
History (Minnesota)
History (United States)
History (World)
Political Science
Sociology
