NURS 490: Pharmacology in Nursing

Dictionaries

Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary

An extensive medical dictionary with 1000+ photographs and illustrations

Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing, & Health Professions
"...a one stop reference to help you make sense of the complex world of health care. "
Mosby's Handbook of Herbs & Natural Supplements
"Presents herb and supplement profiles in a convenient, A-Z format for fast reference."

Encylopedias
 

Consumer Health Complete
CHC is a comprehensive reference resource covering topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition, etc. The emphasis is on consumer rather than scholarly information. Includes fulltext from journals and specialized encyclopedias, as well as images, videos, and animations.
Encyclopedia of Global Health
Covers all aspects of health, including physical and mental health entries, biographies of major doctors and researchers, profiles of medical institutions, organizations, and corporations, descriptions of drugs and operations, articles on national health policies, and thematic health topics in the humanities.
Global Library of Women's Medicine
A comprehensive reference to current clinical practice for clinicians and other medical professionals that is constantly updated, fully referenced and peer reviewed.

Additional Resources
​
MedlinePlus Medical Encyclopedia
Includes over 4,000 articles about diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries, and surgeries. Also contains an extensive library of medical photographs and illustrations. MedlinePlus: Directories
"...directories to help you find health professionals, services and facilities."
MerckEngage
Contains a medical dictionary and encyclopedia, and a wide variety of other resources such as: an interactive body guide, symptom checker, and an over-the-counter drug guide.
Natural Medicine Instructions for Patients
"Based on the extensively referenced Textbook of Natural Medicine, these instructions ensure that the information you give your patients is straightforward, safe and authoritative. In addition to helping patients to understand their conditions better, the sheets look at key options in patients' treatment and self-help."
SAGE Handbook of Healthcare
The SAGE Handbook of Healthcare provides an authoritative analysis of the current (and anticipated) developments in the global healthcare industries. Providing a unique perspective that interfaces between the science and business aspects, it combines information on the latest scientific developments with applied, commercial business data from the global marketplace.

Alt HealthWatch
Emphasis on holistic and integrated approaches to wellness and health care. Index with abstracts to articles back to 1984, full text for 180 journals and reports back to 1990.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text (Nursing)
Search 3,000+ journals in nursing and allied health back to 1937; covers nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, etc.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic
Index with fulltext for 550 scholarly journals covering many areas of medicine. Include the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide covering 1300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4700 brand names.
Medline
Indexes more than 19,000 journals, 1950 to present, in all areas of medicine, nursing, health services administration, nutrition, and other areas.
PubMed
"PubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books."
Virginia Henderson International Nursing Library (VHL)
A comprehensive source for reliable, up-to-date nursing information, includes the Registry of Nursing Research database. 

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
(Evidence-based Practice) Scientific research agency funded and supported by the U.S. government. Evidence-based practice guidelines are located under clinical information on the agency's main page.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
"...the CDC provides a system of health surveillance to monitor and prevent disease outbreaks (including bioterrorism), implement disease prevention strategies, and maintain national health statistics."
Department of Health and Human Services (HHS)
HHS is the United States government's principal agency for protecting the health of all Americans and providing essential human services.
Health Resources and Services Administration
An agency of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services that focuses on the availability of quality health care to low income, uninsured, isolated, vulnerable and special needs populations.
Minnesota Department of Health
The focus of the MDH is to improve the health of the citizens of Minnesota.  Information includes...consumer health information, disease reporting, birth/death certificates, and health reforms/initiatives.

FindZebra
"The search engine for difficult medical cases."
Mayo Clinic: Patient Care & Health Information
(Consumer Health) This site was created by the Mayo Clinic for people to have access to medical and health information and tools.
MedicineNet.com - Procedures & Tests A to Z List
"Find relevant and reliable medical information on a common procedure or test. Find your topic by using the A-Z list (select a letter - over 220 procedures and tests listed)"
State Public Health.org
Health directory web site with links to official state health sites and more.

Citation Styles (APA, MLA, etc.)
Consult examples of APA, MLA, Chicago/Turabian, and other citation styles, and use Mendeley or Zotero to manage your references and format your bibliography.
Designing Conference Posters
Useful guide for "Do's and Don't's" in designing and creating conference posters.