Public Administration

Credo Reference

CREDO provides online access to hundreds of reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) in all subject areas. This is a good place to look up a quick fact or to search for background information on a topic.

Academic Search Premier (all topics) from EBSCO
Academic Search Premier (ASP) covers all subject areas - the social sciences, humanities, and sciences, contains indexing for nearly 8,050 publications, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles.



Business Source Premier
Premium full-text content and peer-reviewed business journals covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more.

FindLaw
FindLaw provides legal researchers with a sophisticated search engine to locate Web-accessible legal code and case law. Topical sub-searches for foreign domains by country, federal laws and regulations, or individual states are also available.

JSTOR
Provides access to scholarly journals in anthropology, ecology, economics, education, general science, history, literature, mathematics, political science, philosophy, and more. Some journals have "moving wall" access that does not include the most recent 2-5 years.



Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
The premier source for finding scholarly articles and other informaiton related to political science topics.

Search Tips:

• Search by concepts, taking out common words like effect, affect, good, bad, etc.
• Using AND focuses or limits your search (you get fewer results). Using OR broadens or expands your search (you get more results).
• Use * to search for different word endings (child* searches child, child's, children, children's but also childbirth) and plurals.
• Use quotation marks around phrases.
• Try the Advanced Search. Change the "field" you are search using the pull down menu (for example, search for keywords only in the "Title" of an article).

The Miller Center Library's collection of books, videos, and more can be searched using MnPALS . 

Public Administration books are located in Basement West of the Miller Center at the call number JF 1351.  

Related topics can be found at:

Reference Desk - Miller Center 1st Floor W

• Monday-Thursday: 10:00 am - 6:00 pm
• Friday: 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Phone: 320-308-4755
Email: askref@stcloudstate.edu

Political Science

Government Publications
The Government Publication page includes federal, state, and local government webpages and information sources. 

Social Studies
The Social Studies guide provides resources for citing sources, writing annotated bibliographies and literature reviews, and doing Social Science research.

APA Formatting and Style Guide from OWL at Purdue
Provides examples of formatting papers, in-text citations, footnotes and endnotes, and reference lists in APA style. Updated according to the 6th edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.

Chicago Manual of Style (OWL at Purdue)
Provides examples of formatting papers, in-text citations, footnotes and endnotes, and reference lists according to the Chicago Manual of Style.