Political Science

Credo Reference

CREDO provides online access to hundreds of reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) in all subject areas. This is a good place to look up a quick fact or to search for background information on a topic.

Start With:
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
The premier source for finding scholarly articles and other informaiton related to political science topics.

Also try: 
Academic Search Premier (all topics) from EBSCO
Academic Search Premier (ASP) covers all subject areas - the social sciences, humanities, and sciences, contains indexing for nearly 8,050 publications, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles.

JSTOR
Provides access to scholarly journals in anthropology, ecology, economics, education, general science, history, literature, mathematics, political science, philosophy, and more. Some journals have "moving wall" access that does not include the most recent 2-5 years.





Social Science Research Network (SSRN)
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research 

Search Tips:

• Search by concepts, taking out common words like effect, affect, good, bad, etc.
• Using AND focuses or limits your search (you get fewer results). Using OR broadens or expands your search (you get more results).
• Use * to search for different word endings (child* searches child, child's, children, children's but also childbirth) and plurals.
• Use quotation marks around phrases.
• Try the Advanced Search. Change the "field" you are search using the pull down menu (for example, search for keywords only in the "Title" of an article).

The Miller Center Library's collection of books, videos, and more can be searched using MnPALS . 

WorldCat
Search for materials beyond SCSU, from thousands of libraries and institutions around the world. Click on the FindIt! button and sign in to and request items through Interlibrary Loan.

Political Science books are located in the Basement West of the Miller Center at the call number J.  

JA       Political science (General)
JC       Political theory
JK       Political institutions (United States)
JZ       International relations

FindLaw
FindLaw provides legal researchers with a sophisticated search engine to locate Web-accessible legal code and case law. Topical sub-searches for foreign domains by country, federal laws and regulations, or individual states are also available.

Legal Research and Information Web Sites (University of Minnesota)
A subject index to legal resources on the internet, courtesy of the University of Minnesota Law Library.

Reference Desk - Miller Center 1st Floor W

• Monday-Thursday: 10:00 am - 6:00 pm
• Friday: 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Phone: 320-308-4755
Email: askref@stcloudstate.edu

Social Studies 

Provides resources for citing sources, writing annotated bibliographies and literature reviews, and doing Social Science research.

International Relations
Government Publications

Style Manual for Political Science
From the American Political Science Associaton, based on the Chicago Style Manual.  

APA Formatting and Style Guide from OWL at Purdue
Provides examples of formatting papers, in-text citations, footnotes and endnotes, and reference lists in APA style. Updated according to the 6th edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.

Chicago Manual of Style (OWL at Purdue)
Provides examples of formatting papers, in-text citations, footnotes and endnotes, and reference lists according to the Chicago Manual of Style.


 

21st Century Political Science: A Reference Handbook

Almanac of American Politics
REF JK1012 .A44 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability

Blackwell Dictionary of Political Science

Dictionary of Diplomacy

Dictionary of Politics and Government

Encyclopedia of Libertarianism

Encyclopedia of Political Theory

Encyclopedia of Power

Encyclopedia of U.S. Campaigns, Elections, and Electoral Behavior

Handbook of Global Environmental Politics

International Encyclopedia of Political Science

Key Concepts in Governance

Key Concepts in Political Communication

Palgrave Macmillan Dictionary of Political Thought

Political and Civic Leadership: A Reference Handbook

Political Corruption in America: An Encyclopedia of Scandals, Power & Greed

SAGE Encyclopedia of Terrorism