JSTOR
Provides access to scholarly journals in anthropology, ecology, economics, education, general science, history, literature, mathematics, political science, philosophy, and more. Some journals have "moving wall" access that does not include the most recent 2-5 years.
Academic Search Premier
Full-text articles in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
PhilPapers
PhilPapers is a free comprehensive index of online philosophy articles and books by academic philosophers--the index is free, but access to fulltext may be dependent upon SCSU subscriptions. Access to fulltext is limited to on-campus at this time.
Books and More (Library Catalog)
Search for books, ebooks, video, government publications, recordings, music scores, and other materials available through the library.
WorldCat
Search for materials beyond SCSU, from thousands of libraries and institutions around the world. Click on the FindIt! button and sign in to and request items through Interlibrary Loan.
Some Texts from Early Modern Philosophy
Modernized texts of standard philosophical writings from the 16th, 17th, and 18th centuries. Philosopher Jonathan Bennett makes these versions available to students who have difficulty understanding the original texts due to language barriers.
Films on Demand: Philosophy & Religion 
Streaming video on topics in ethics, social and political philosophy, history of philosophy, religion and sprirituality, world religions, and more.
Search for books, ebooks, video, government publications, recordings, music scores, and other materials available through the library.
WorldCat
Search for materials beyond SCSU, from thousands of libraries and institutions around the world. Click on the FindIt! button and sign in to and request items through Interlibrary Loan.
Some Texts from Early Modern Philosophy
Modernized texts of standard philosophical writings from the 16th, 17th, and 18th centuries. Philosopher Jonathan Bennett makes these versions available to students who have difficulty understanding the original texts due to language barriers.
Films on Demand: Philosophy & Religion
Streaming video on topics in ethics, social and political philosophy, history of philosophy, religion and sprirituality, world religions, and more.
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
An online peer-reviewed encyclopedia that provides detailed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
A "dynamic" reference work, with each entry maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field.
Green Ethics and Philosophy: An A-to-Z Guide 
Covers the moral relationship between humans and their natural environment, specifically targeting the contemporary green movement. Since the 1960s, green ethics and philosophies have helped give birth to the civil rights, feminist, and gay rights movements, as well as contemporary environmentalism.
Noesis: Philosophical Research On-Line
A focused search engine for open access, academic philosophy information on the Internet.
Guide to Philosophy on the Internet
A comprehensive, peer-reviewed resource of links to scholarly works and web sites. Searchable, with links to other guides in English and foreign languages. Produced by Peter Suber, Earlham College.
Note: current
Ancient History Encyclopedia
An open-access source for information on historical topics and narratives. Includes written articles, video, maps, timelines, and interactive features.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
REF B51 .R68 1998
A comprehensive encyclopedia of philosophy, with signed articles and bibliographies. This resource is suitable for advanced research as well as introductions.
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas
REF CB9 .N49 2005
Articles on some of the most important concepts in philosophy. Follows the historical development of an idea through various philosophers and thinkers.
Oxford Companion to Philosophy
REF B51 .094 2005
Dictionary-style entries on persons, institutions, and ideas in philosophy. Includes a very detailed listing of terminology, conceptual maps of philosophy, a chronology, and an index.
An online peer-reviewed encyclopedia that provides detailed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
A "dynamic" reference work, with each entry maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field.
Green Ethics and Philosophy: An A-to-Z Guide
Covers the moral relationship between humans and their natural environment, specifically targeting the contemporary green movement. Since the 1960s, green ethics and philosophies have helped give birth to the civil rights, feminist, and gay rights movements, as well as contemporary environmentalism.
Noesis: Philosophical Research On-Line
A focused search engine for open access, academic philosophy information on the Internet.
Guide to Philosophy on the Internet
A comprehensive, peer-reviewed resource of links to scholarly works and web sites. Searchable, with links to other guides in English and foreign languages. Produced by Peter Suber, Earlham College.
Note: current
Ancient History Encyclopedia
An open-access source for information on historical topics and narratives. Includes written articles, video, maps, timelines, and interactive features.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
REF B51 .R68 1998
A comprehensive encyclopedia of philosophy, with signed articles and bibliographies. This resource is suitable for advanced research as well as introductions.
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas
REF CB9 .N49 2005
Articles on some of the most important concepts in philosophy. Follows the historical development of an idea through various philosophers and thinkers.
Oxford Companion to Philosophy
REF B51 .094 2005
Dictionary-style entries on persons, institutions, and ideas in philosophy. Includes a very detailed listing of terminology, conceptual maps of philosophy, a chronology, and an index.
Melissa Prescott
Professor, Diversity and Inclusion Librarian
MC 204E
(320) 308-4751
mkprescott@stcloudstate.edu
- Search by concepts, taking out common words like effect, affect, good, bad, etc.
- Using AND focuses or limits your search (you get fewer results). Using OR broadens or expands your search (you get more results).
- Use * to search for different word endings (child* searches child, child's, children, children's but also childbirth) and plurals.
- Use quotation marks around phrases.
- Try the Advanced Search. Change the "field" you are search using the pull down menu (for example, search for keywords only in the "Title" of an article).
Miller Center 2nd Floor
B = Philosophy (general)BC = Logic
BD = Speculative Philosophy
BH = Aesthetics
BJ = Ethics
Citation Styles Old
Choose a citation style (APA, MLA, Chicago/Turabian, etc.) and follow the guidelines for formatting your paper and references.
Choose a citation style (APA, MLA, Chicago/Turabian, etc.) and follow the guidelines for formatting your paper and references.
