arXiv 
"An open archive for scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics."
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) 
"DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals." (from DOAJ homepage)
Hindawi
"Hindawi publishes peer-reviewed, Open Access journals across many areas of science, technology, and medicine, as well as several areas of social science" ("Journals", Hindawi). Hindawi's journals are indexed in Web of Science, Scopus, PubMed, INSPEC, Mathematical Reviews, and Chemical Abstracts.
Scientific Research: An Academic Publisher 
Open access journals and books in the sciences, business and economics, medicine and healthcare, and social sciences and the humanities.
Unpaywall
"Skip the paywall on millions of peer-reviewed journal articles. It's fast, free, and legal." (from homepage) Available as an add-on to any browser or as an app for any operating system of any mobile device.
"An open archive for scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics."
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
"DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals." (from DOAJ homepage)
Hindawi
"Hindawi publishes peer-reviewed, Open Access journals across many areas of science, technology, and medicine, as well as several areas of social science" ("Journals", Hindawi). Hindawi's journals are indexed in Web of Science, Scopus, PubMed, INSPEC, Mathematical Reviews, and Chemical Abstracts.
Scientific Research: An Academic Publisher
Open access journals and books in the sciences, business and economics, medicine and healthcare, and social sciences and the humanities.
Unpaywall
"Skip the paywall on millions of peer-reviewed journal articles. It's fast, free, and legal." (from homepage) Available as an add-on to any browser or as an app for any operating system of any mobile device.
Elsevier Open Access Journals
"All articles in open access journals which are published by Elsevier have undergone peer review and upon acceptance are immediately and permanently free for everyone to read and download" (from homepage). Individual published articles are also accessible and downloadable from ScienceDirect.
ScienceDirect Open Access Journals
Open access, peer reviewed journals accessible through ScienceDirect in physical sciences, engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and the humanities.
SpringerOpen Journals
Over 200 peer-reviewed fully open access journals across all areas of science.
"All articles in open access journals which are published by Elsevier have undergone peer review and upon acceptance are immediately and permanently free for everyone to read and download" (from homepage). Individual published articles are also accessible and downloadable from ScienceDirect.
ScienceDirect Open Access Journals
Open access, peer reviewed journals accessible through ScienceDirect in physical sciences, engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and the humanities.
SpringerOpen Journals
Over 200 peer-reviewed fully open access journals across all areas of science.
Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)
"The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books" (from "About DOAB"). EBooks in all major subject areas are available here; the collection is growing.
InTech Open Access Books
The world's largest publisher of open access science, technology, and medicine books. Includes titles in engineering, health sciences, social sciences, and humanities.
OAPEN Library
OPAEN stands for "Open Access Publishing in European Networks". Its library contains freely accessible academic titles primarily in the humanities and social sciences.
The WAC Clearinghouse
"Supporting scholarly exchange about communication across the disciplines" (Home page). Includes open access titles from the following series: Perspectives on Writing, International Exchanges on the Study of Writing, Across the Disciplines, Reference Guides to Rhetoric and Composition, Practice & Pedagogy, Excellence in K-12 WAC, #writing, NCTE on WAC, Landmark Publications in Writing Studies, Writing Spaces: Readings on Writing, and RhetNet Books.
"The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books" (from "About DOAB"). EBooks in all major subject areas are available here; the collection is growing.
InTech Open Access Books
The world's largest publisher of open access science, technology, and medicine books. Includes titles in engineering, health sciences, social sciences, and humanities.
OAPEN Library
OPAEN stands for "Open Access Publishing in European Networks". Its library contains freely accessible academic titles primarily in the humanities and social sciences.
The WAC Clearinghouse
"Supporting scholarly exchange about communication across the disciplines" (Home page). Includes open access titles from the following series: Perspectives on Writing, International Exchanges on the Study of Writing, Across the Disciplines, Reference Guides to Rhetoric and Composition, Practice & Pedagogy, Excellence in K-12 WAC, #writing, NCTE on WAC, Landmark Publications in Writing Studies, Writing Spaces: Readings on Writing, and RhetNet Books.
Open access publlishing is the process of making online research outputs free of access restrictions and free of many restrictions on use (e.g. copyright and license restrictions). Open access publishing applies to all forms of published research output including peer reviewed and non-peer reviewed academic journals, books, conference papers, theses and dissertations.
There are two main types of open access publishing:
Gold (or "gratis"): The public has free, immediate access to the article but the author has to pay to publish or the institution pays an annual membership to waive publishing fees;
Green (or "libre") Authors can post their work for free, and the publisher will allow the author to share the pre-printed version of their work for free in their institutional repository. No one pays fees; repositories are supported through institutional funding.
There are two main types of open access publishing:
Gold (or "gratis"): The public has free, immediate access to the article but the author has to pay to publish or the institution pays an annual membership to waive publishing fees;
Green (or "libre") Authors can post their work for free, and the publisher will allow the author to share the pre-printed version of their work for free in their institutional repository. No one pays fees; repositories are supported through institutional funding.
Open Access Journal Quality Indicators 
Grand Valley State University published these guidelines for scholars and librarians to evaluate open access journals.
Peter Suber, Director of the Harvard Office for Scholarly Publication, debunks the six myths of open access publishing here.
Grand Valley State University published these guidelines for scholars and librarians to evaluate open access journals.
Peter Suber, Director of the Harvard Office for Scholarly Publication, debunks the six myths of open access publishing here.
More academic book publishers are making certain titles available in open access format. Google "[your book publisher of interest]" and "open access".
Academic journal publishers are also moving toward open access publications. Google "[your journal publisher of interest]" and "open access".
Academic journal publishers are also moving toward open access publications. Google "[your journal publisher of interest]" and "open access".
Jennifer Quinlan
Associate Professor, Student Success Librarian
MC 140G
(320) 308-5626
jmquinlan@stcloudstate.edu
