Music

Oxford Music Online
Includes the complete full text of The Oxford Dictionary of Music, The Oxford Companion to Music, and Grove Music Online.

LibSearch
Search the library's physical collection (books, movies, music, government publications, etc.) along with online journals and e-books to which the Library subscribes -- all in a single search.


Start by typing keywords into the search box. When you view the list of search results, you can limit by Resource Type (articles, audio (sound recordings), books, scores, etc.).

If you need to find scholarly, peer-reviewed articles, be sure to select the Peer-Reviewed (Scholarly) checkbox.
 

•  Tips for finding scores and/or sound recordings: Search for composer's name and an important keyword from the title of the work
  
  Example: Arnold Schoenberg's Verklarte Nacht
  Actual search: schoenberg nacht

 

• Tips for finding books: For books about a specific composer or criticism of his/her work (secondary resources), use the Advanced Search to search the composer's last name by "Subject"
  
  For writings by the person, him/herself (primary resources), add one of the following words: interviews, correspondence, personal narratives, or diaries

WorldCat
Search for materials beyond SCSU, from thousands of libraries and institutions around the world. Click on the FindIt! button and sign in to and request items through Interlibrary Loan.

Films on Demand: Music & Dance
Streaming video on topics in music appreciation, music history, and world music as well as ballet, choreography, world dance, and more.

Music Literature (RILM)
Covers all areas of music scholarship, including, concert reviews, recording notes, dance, anthropology, ethnomusicology, music theory, music therapy, instruments and voice.

JSTOR
Provides access to scholarly journals in anthropology, ecology, economics, education, general science, history, literature, mathematics, political science, philosophy, and more. Some journals have "moving wall" access that does not include the most recent 2-5 years.

Academic Search Premier (all topics) from EBSCO
Full-text articles in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.

Naxos Music Library
Listen to tracks and create your own playlists from the largest online classical music collection (see Using the Playlists for instructions).

Naxos Music Library: Jazz
Listen to or create your own playlists from a comprehensive collection of over 20,000 jazz tracks (see Using the Playlists for instructions).

The following databases search current and historical newspapers and periodicals. Search by composer, composition, or performer and limit by date.

MUSM 353: Music Since 1900

Miller Center 3rd Floor

All music books and scores are on the 3rd floor of the Miller Center Library. Call numbers starting with:

M = the music itself (both scores and sound recordings)
ML = music literature (materials about music, composers, or music history)
MT = music theory or music instruction and study

All sound recordings are kept behind the Circulation Desk on 1st floor; ask for them by call number.

Citation Styles
Choose a citation style (APA, MLA, Chicago/Turabian...) and follow the guidelines for formatting your paper and references.

Loading ...