Business Source Complete 
Premium full-text content and peer-reviewed business journals covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more.
Emerald FullText
Full text access to over 100 management, marketing, engineering, and information services journals.
Premium full-text content and peer-reviewed business journals covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more.
Emerald FullText
Full text access to over 100 management, marketing, engineering, and information services journals.
Export.gov 
This web site includes links to Country Commercial Guides, articles, reports, other supportive information prepared by U.S. Embassy staff to assist U.S. businesses in doing business in other countries. Register (it's free) for access to the International Market Research Library. The registration link is at the top of the screen; you MUST register with your SCSU e-mail account to be recognized as a student/faculty researcher entitled to free access.
International Trade Administration
"Publishes statistical reports on exports and imports by country, commodity trade, and trade data by state. Some detailed and specific data is accessible for a fee only."
United States International Trade Commission
From the "About" section: "The mission of the Commission is to (1) administer U.S. trade remedy laws within its mandate in a fair and objective manner; (2) provide the President, USTR, and Congress with independent analysis, information, and support on matters of tariffs, international trade, and U.S. competitiveness; and (3) maintain the Harmonized Tariff Schedule of the United States (HTS)."
Foreign Trade from the US Census
From the web page: "FOREIGN TRADE is the official source for U.S. export and import statistics and responsible for issuing regulations governing the reporting of all export shipments from the United States. If you're searching for import or export statistics, information on export regulations, commodity classifications, or a host of other trade related topics, this is the place to get the information you need."
World Trade Organization
An international organization dedicated to providing a forum for discussing and creating trade agreements between sovereign nations, settling trade disputes, and writing trade rules and regulations. The website provides access to trade statistics, the text of trade agreements and regulations, research and data, white papers, and other useful resources.
World Economic Forum
The World Economic Forum is the new name of the International Organization for Public-Private Cooperation. It's a non-profit foundation that coordinates cooperative ventures between public and private agencies for the betterment of international business, trade and industry. The "Reports" section offers white papers on numerous topics, including alternative investments, food security, technology, public-private partnerships, and other issues. Also available: The annual Global Competitiveness Report, with analyses and statistics by country and region. When the option is available, choose "Report Reader" for interactive reports.
FITA - Federation of International Trade Organizations
From the website: "FITA, founded in 1984, fosters international trade by strengthening the role of local, regional, national and global associations that have an international mission. FITA provides resources, benefits and services to the international trade community and useful tools to help you do business globally." The website features a database of country profiles, along with hundreds of links to useful international business resources.
Market Share Reporter
REF HF5415.M37x Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
A compilation of market share statistics on companies, products and services, drawn from periodical sources providing a unique source of data for competitive analysis and marketing research. Indexed by SIC code, brand name, product category or company name. Most recent five years are in Reference; older editions are located in the Main Collection.
Business Source Complete
Premium full-text content and peer-reviewed business journals covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more.
Finding market reports by country in Business Source Complete:
Once you've done so, look to the left side of the page showing your search results. Look for "Source Types," then click "Show More." From the resulting menu, choose "Country Reports" and or "Market Research Reports."
This web site includes links to Country Commercial Guides, articles, reports, other supportive information prepared by U.S. Embassy staff to assist U.S. businesses in doing business in other countries. Register (it's free) for access to the International Market Research Library. The registration link is at the top of the screen; you MUST register with your SCSU e-mail account to be recognized as a student/faculty researcher entitled to free access.
International Trade Administration
"Publishes statistical reports on exports and imports by country, commodity trade, and trade data by state. Some detailed and specific data is accessible for a fee only."
United States International Trade Commission
From the "About" section: "The mission of the Commission is to (1) administer U.S. trade remedy laws within its mandate in a fair and objective manner; (2) provide the President, USTR, and Congress with independent analysis, information, and support on matters of tariffs, international trade, and U.S. competitiveness; and (3) maintain the Harmonized Tariff Schedule of the United States (HTS)."
Foreign Trade from the US Census
From the web page: "FOREIGN TRADE is the official source for U.S. export and import statistics and responsible for issuing regulations governing the reporting of all export shipments from the United States. If you're searching for import or export statistics, information on export regulations, commodity classifications, or a host of other trade related topics, this is the place to get the information you need."
World Trade Organization
An international organization dedicated to providing a forum for discussing and creating trade agreements between sovereign nations, settling trade disputes, and writing trade rules and regulations. The website provides access to trade statistics, the text of trade agreements and regulations, research and data, white papers, and other useful resources.
World Economic Forum
The World Economic Forum is the new name of the International Organization for Public-Private Cooperation. It's a non-profit foundation that coordinates cooperative ventures between public and private agencies for the betterment of international business, trade and industry. The "Reports" section offers white papers on numerous topics, including alternative investments, food security, technology, public-private partnerships, and other issues. Also available: The annual Global Competitiveness Report, with analyses and statistics by country and region. When the option is available, choose "Report Reader" for interactive reports.
FITA - Federation of International Trade Organizations
From the website: "FITA, founded in 1984, fosters international trade by strengthening the role of local, regional, national and global associations that have an international mission. FITA provides resources, benefits and services to the international trade community and useful tools to help you do business globally." The website features a database of country profiles, along with hundreds of links to useful international business resources.
Market Share Reporter
REF HF5415.M37x
Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability A compilation of market share statistics on companies, products and services, drawn from periodical sources providing a unique source of data for competitive analysis and marketing research. Indexed by SIC code, brand name, product category or company name. Most recent five years are in Reference; older editions are located in the Main Collection.
Business Source Complete
Premium full-text content and peer-reviewed business journals covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more.
Finding market reports by country in Business Source Complete:
Search for a country by name, and specify that you're looking for a geographic entity by clicking on the pulldown menu in the search interface and choosing "GE Geographic Term."
Once you've done so, look to the left side of the page showing your search results. Look for "Source Types," then click "Show More." From the resulting menu, choose "Country Reports" and or "Market Research Reports."
On the Reference Desk:
Wednesday, 10:00 am - noon
Thursday, 4:00 - 6:00 pm
Office Hours:
Monday, 2:00 - 4:00 pm
Thursday, 2:00 - 4:00 pm
If the above times are not convenient, please call or e-mail to set up an appointment.
Wednesday, 10:00 am - noon
Thursday, 4:00 - 6:00 pm
Office Hours:
Monday, 2:00 - 4:00 pm
Thursday, 2:00 - 4:00 pm
If the above times are not convenient, please call or e-mail to set up an appointment.
International Directory of Company Histories
REF HD2721 .D36x Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
This directory includes the historical development of companies that exceed US$25 million in annual sales and are leading influences in their industries or geographic area. Each volume contains a cumulative, industry and geographic indexes
D & B Principal International Businesses
REF HF54.U5 P74 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Note: Information on over 50,000 international businesses, with information on total sales, employment, and whether the firm imports or exports to the United States. In-library use only.
Business Source Complete
Premium full-text content and peer-reviewed business journals covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more.
REF HD2721 .D36x Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
This directory includes the historical development of companies that exceed US$25 million in annual sales and are leading influences in their industries or geographic area. Each volume contains a cumulative, industry and geographic indexes
D & B Principal International Businesses
REF HF54.U5 P74 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Note: Information on over 50,000 international businesses, with information on total sales, employment, and whether the firm imports or exports to the United States. In-library use only.
Business Source Complete
Premium full-text content and peer-reviewed business journals covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more.
Business - International
This guide includes links to the International Trade
Business - Marketing
Business - General
This guide includes links to the International Trade
Business - Marketing
Business - General
World Bank DataBank
Statistics, demographics and charts on a number of economic and business metrics. Searchable by country.
CIA World Factbook
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.
Statistics, demographics and charts on a number of economic and business metrics. Searchable by country.
CIA World Factbook
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.
