University Library at St. Cloud State University

MKTG 220 - Intro to Marketing (Liu)

Basic Company Research
Business Source Complete Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Premium full-text content and peer-reviewed business journals covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more.
 
Finding company profiles and news in Business Source Complete:
At the top of the BSP web page, you'll see a blue bar with links to various items; one of these is "More." Position your cursor over "More," and a pulldown menu will appear. Click "Company Profiles" to get company profiles from MarketLine, a well-known and reputable business intelligence company. Key information presented in MarketLine profiles includes company sales, revenue, SWOT analyses and primary competitors.

A good way to locate product information is to do a search for news of the company. To find news about the company, enter the correct name of the company (for example, "Ford Motor Co." not "Ford") in the search interface. You'll find the correct name by looking in the Company Profiles listing. Make sure to specify in the drop-down menu in the search interface that you're searching by "CO Company Entity." You could also try a combined company/marketing strategy search by specifying a company name and "marketing", or company name and "marketing" or "marketing strategy."

 

Mergent Intellect Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Provides access to private and public U.S. and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, the ability to access industry profiles, and much more.

Using Mergent Intellect to find company profiles:
To find company profiles, enter the name of the company in the search box on the main website:

The next page will take you to a list of companies with the name of 
Market Research
Market Share Reporter
REF HF5415.M37x Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
A compilation of market share statistics on companies, products and services, drawn from periodical sources providing a unique source of data for competitive analysis and marketing research. Indexed by SIC code, brand name, product category or company name. Most recent five years are in Reference; older editions are located in the Main Collection.

SRDS Media Solutions Advertising Sources Restricted Resource database
The Standard Rate and Data Service (SRDS) is a collection of databases offering information of interest to advertising and marketing students, including the Business Media Advertising Source and Consumer Media Advertising Source. Most importantly, SRDS offers access to Claritas Segmentation and Market Solutions, the online replacement for the print resource, Lifestyle Market Analyst.  
Subject Specialist
Picture: Olivia Olivares

Olivia Olivares
Associate Professor, Business Librarian
ON SABBATICAL 2019-20
(320) 308-4822
oolivares@stcloudstate.edu

Olivia's contact hours, Spring 2019
OFFICE HOURS:
Mondays, 2:00 - 4:00 pm
Thursdays, 2:00 - 4:00 pm

AT THE REFERENCE DESK:
Mondays, 2:00 - 4:00 pm
Thursdays, 2:00 - 4:00 pm

Please call or e-mail to set up an appointment if these hours are not convenient.
Industry Research
NetAdvantage (Standard & Poor's) Restricted Resource database
A comprehensive source of business and investment information including industry surveys, stock reports, company descriptions and financials, and mutual fund research.

Business Source Complete Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Premium full-text content and peer-reviewed business journals covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more.
Plagiarism and Academic Dishonesty
Academic Dishonesty and SCSU
From the SCSU Student Handbook - Prohibited Student Conduct:  

Any student who attempts or assists others to commit prohibited conduct as defined below may be held accountable as committing the prohibited act ... Academic dishonesty [is] including but not limited to: cheating, plagiarism, falsification, and collusion. This includes any violation of the Academic Integrity Policy: 
http://www.stcloudstate.edu/policies/categories/documents/AcademicIntegrityPolicy.pdf

University of Texas at Austin - Plagiarism Tutorial
An interactive tutorial on avoiding plagiarism, complete with videos and mini-quizzes.

University of Southern Mississippi Plagiarism Tutorial
A tutorial with examples of incorrect and correct paraphrases and advice of acceptable use of resources. 




 


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University