Business Source Complete 
Premium full-text content and peer-reviewed business journals covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more.
Regional Business News
A supplemental database for customers of Business Source Premier. With daily updates, Regional Business News provides comprehensive full text for regional business publications (including titles from Crain Communications). Regional Business News has full text for more than 60 sources.
Premium full-text content and peer-reviewed business journals covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more.
Regional Business News
A supplemental database for customers of Business Source Premier. With daily updates, Regional Business News provides comprehensive full text for regional business publications (including titles from Crain Communications). Regional Business News has full text for more than 60 sources.
Business Source Complete
Premium full-text content and peer-reviewed business journals covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more.
Finding company information in Mergent Intellect:
Enter the name of the company you're researching in the search box near the top of Mergent Intellect's webpage (the box will say, "Search by Company name, Ticker or URL"). On the following page, scroll down to see a list of companies, and choose the company you're researching by clicking its name. This will take you to a page with information about the company: financial and industry details, executives, competitors, SEC filings, and more.
Premium full-text content and peer-reviewed business journals covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more.
Finding company information in BSC:
At the top of the BSC web page, you'll see a blue bar with links to various items; one of these is "More." Place your cursor over "More" to bring up a pulldown menu. One of the menu options is "Company Profiles." Here, you'll find downloadable company profiles from MarketLine, a well-known and reputable purveyor of company and business data. Key information presented in MarketLine reports includes sales, employees, SWOT analyses, and primary competitors. Profiles of medical supply companies comes from MedTrack, another business intelligence company.
To find news about the company in major publications, enter the name of the company in the search interface. Specify in the drop-down menu in the search interface that you're searching by "CO Company Entity."
At the top of the BSC web page, you'll see a blue bar with links to various items; one of these is "More." Place your cursor over "More" to bring up a pulldown menu. One of the menu options is "Company Profiles." Here, you'll find downloadable company profiles from MarketLine, a well-known and reputable purveyor of company and business data. Key information presented in MarketLine reports includes sales, employees, SWOT analyses, and primary competitors. Profiles of medical supply companies comes from MedTrack, another business intelligence company.
To find news about the company in major publications, enter the name of the company in the search interface. Specify in the drop-down menu in the search interface that you're searching by "CO Company Entity."
Finding company information in Mergent Intellect:
Enter the name of the company you're researching in the search box near the top of Mergent Intellect's webpage (the box will say, "Search by Company name, Ticker or URL"). On the following page, scroll down to see a list of companies, and choose the company you're researching by clicking its name. This will take you to a page with information about the company: financial and industry details, executives, competitors, SEC filings, and more.
NetAdvantage (Standard & Poor's)
A comprehensive source of business and investment information including industry surveys, stock reports, company descriptions and financials, and mutual fund research.
Finding Industry Profiles in Mergent Intellect's First Research
Mergent Intellect includes a sub-database called First Research, which includes industry profiles for over 500 industries and 1000 sub-industries. To search First Research, scroll down Mergent Intellect's webpage to find the link for First Research. The database will require a secondary login with your SCSU e-mail address. Do not use a gmail or other external e-mail address, as this will effectively block you from the database.
Business Source Complete
Premium full-text content and peer-reviewed business journals covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more.
Finding Information on Markets and Economic Conditions in BSC
BSP includes in-depth analyses of the economies, markets and financial environments of almost all nations. These analyses are compiled and written by reputable companies like the Economist Intelligence Unit and Business Monitor (EIU publications have a six-month embargo). To limit your search to economic reports for a particular country, enter the industry you're researching in the first box in the search interface, then the name of the country in which the industry operates in the second box in the search interface. Specify "GE Geographic Terms" in the pull-down menu for the country.
Value Line Investment Survey (print)
REF HG4501 .V26 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Value Line covers more than 1,700 companies listed on the major U.S. stock exchanges. The "Weekly summary and index" gives ratios, rankings, and price data in an alphabetical list. Detailed listings for each company are arranged in "Ratings and reports" sections, grouped by industry sectors, each introduced with an industry overview. Each also includes Value Line ratings, projections, and betas. The "Weekly selection and opinion" contains predictions about economic conditions and outlook, with profiles on recommended investments.
A comprehensive source of business and investment information including industry surveys, stock reports, company descriptions and financials, and mutual fund research.
Finding Industry Profiles in Mergent Intellect's First Research
Mergent Intellect includes a sub-database called First Research, which includes industry profiles for over 500 industries and 1000 sub-industries. To search First Research, scroll down Mergent Intellect's webpage to find the link for First Research. The database will require a secondary login with your SCSU e-mail address. Do not use a gmail or other external e-mail address, as this will effectively block you from the database.
Business Source Complete
Premium full-text content and peer-reviewed business journals covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more.
Finding Information on Markets and Economic Conditions in BSC
BSP includes in-depth analyses of the economies, markets and financial environments of almost all nations. These analyses are compiled and written by reputable companies like the Economist Intelligence Unit and Business Monitor (EIU publications have a six-month embargo). To limit your search to economic reports for a particular country, enter the industry you're researching in the first box in the search interface, then the name of the country in which the industry operates in the second box in the search interface. Specify "GE Geographic Terms" in the pull-down menu for the country.
Value Line Investment Survey (print)
REF HG4501 .V26
Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability Value Line covers more than 1,700 companies listed on the major U.S. stock exchanges. The "Weekly summary and index" gives ratios, rankings, and price data in an alphabetical list. Detailed listings for each company are arranged in "Ratings and reports" sections, grouped by industry sectors, each introduced with an industry overview. Each also includes Value Line ratings, projections, and betas. The "Weekly selection and opinion" contains predictions about economic conditions and outlook, with profiles on recommended investments.
Michael Gorman
Associate Professor, Research Librarian
MC 140F
(320) 308-2028
msgorman@stcloudstate.edu
FRED - Federal Reserve Bank of St Louis Data Library
Employment, unemployment, etc., from the US Bureau of Labor Statistics
CIA World Factbook
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.
Doing Business 2019
A publication of the World Bank. Data, research and information on the economies of all nations, as well as regional information. Includes rankings and scores on the ease of doing business in nations and regions: ease of starting a business, construction permits, regulatory environment, and so forth.
Employment, unemployment, etc., from the US Bureau of Labor Statistics
CIA World Factbook
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.
Doing Business 2019
A publication of the World Bank. Data, research and information on the economies of all nations, as well as regional information. Includes rankings and scores on the ease of doing business in nations and regions: ease of starting a business, construction permits, regulatory environment, and so forth.
