For LGBTQ+ professional associations in every discipline, visit Harrington Park Press' directory of professional societies, special interest groups (SIGs), and causes.
Accredited Schools Online: LGBTQ Student Resources and Support
Great resources here for LGBTQ students, particularly first year undergraduates. Includes links to scholarships and relevant non-profit organizations.
Campus Pride
"Campus Pride serves LGBT and ally student leaders and campus organizations in the areas of leadership development, support programs and services to create safer, more inclusive LGBT-friendly colleges and universities. It exists to develop, support and give “voice and action” in building future LGBT and ally student leaders" [from website]. Website includes resources for leadership and organizing, activism and advocacy, event planning and fundraising, trans advocacy, bias and hate crime prevention, fraternity and sorority life, athletics, HBCUs, religion and faith, and health and wellness.
Consortium of Higher Education LGBT Resource Professionals
"The combined vision and mission of the Consortium is to achieve higher education environments in which lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender students, faculty, staff, administrators, and alumni have equity in every respect. Our goals are to support colleagues and develop curriculum to professionally enhance this work; to seek climate improvement on campuses; and to advocate for policy change, program development, and establishment of LGBT Office/Centers." (from website)
GLAAD: Gay and Lesbian Alliance Against Defamation
"GLAAD is dedicated to ensuring recognizable and inclusive representation of gay people and events in the media as a means of eliminating homophobia and discrimination on grounds of sexual orientation and gender identity."
GLSEN: Gay, Lesbian, and Straight Education Network
"The Gay, Lesbian and Straight Education Network strives to assure that each member of every school community is valued and respected regardless of sexual orientation or gender identity/expression."
International Gay and Lesbian Rights Commission (IGLHRC)
A US-based non-profit, non-governmental organization whose mission is "to secure the full enjoyment of the human rights of all people and communities subject to discrimination or abuse on the basis of sexual orientation or expression, gender identity or expression, and/or HIV status."
Lesbian and Gay Archives Roundtable of the Society of American Archivists
This archival guide to Lesbian and Gay resources in North America provides a geographical index of repositories by state and province as well as a cross-index by repository name. Each entry provides contact information as well as web site, if available.
National Center for Transgender Equality
"Dedicated to advancing the equality of transgender people through advocacy, collaboration, and empowerment" (from home page). Includes government documents, statistics, news, reports, and authoritative websites regarding the legal status of transgender people in the United States and their rights as transgender people.
PFLAG: Parents, Families and Friends of Lesbians and Gays
PFLAG is a national organization head quartered in Washington, D.C. that promotes the health and well-being of gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgendered persons, their families and friends. Their web site provides information pertaining to education regarding issues of important to this community, publications and other resources, links to advocacy and legislative information, and contact information and web sites for local chapters.
Transgender Law and Policy Institute
State legislation, court cases, college policies, school policies, and employment policies that affect transpeople. Includes resources for transpeople who need legal information or other services.
Accredited Schools Online: LGBTQ Student Resources and Support
Great resources here for LGBTQ students, particularly first year undergraduates. Includes links to scholarships and relevant non-profit organizations.
Campus Pride
"Campus Pride serves LGBT and ally student leaders and campus organizations in the areas of leadership development, support programs and services to create safer, more inclusive LGBT-friendly colleges and universities. It exists to develop, support and give “voice and action” in building future LGBT and ally student leaders" [from website]. Website includes resources for leadership and organizing, activism and advocacy, event planning and fundraising, trans advocacy, bias and hate crime prevention, fraternity and sorority life, athletics, HBCUs, religion and faith, and health and wellness.
Consortium of Higher Education LGBT Resource Professionals
"The combined vision and mission of the Consortium is to achieve higher education environments in which lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender students, faculty, staff, administrators, and alumni have equity in every respect. Our goals are to support colleagues and develop curriculum to professionally enhance this work; to seek climate improvement on campuses; and to advocate for policy change, program development, and establishment of LGBT Office/Centers." (from website)
GLAAD: Gay and Lesbian Alliance Against Defamation
"GLAAD is dedicated to ensuring recognizable and inclusive representation of gay people and events in the media as a means of eliminating homophobia and discrimination on grounds of sexual orientation and gender identity."
GLSEN: Gay, Lesbian, and Straight Education Network
"The Gay, Lesbian and Straight Education Network strives to assure that each member of every school community is valued and respected regardless of sexual orientation or gender identity/expression."
International Gay and Lesbian Rights Commission (IGLHRC)
A US-based non-profit, non-governmental organization whose mission is "to secure the full enjoyment of the human rights of all people and communities subject to discrimination or abuse on the basis of sexual orientation or expression, gender identity or expression, and/or HIV status."
Lesbian and Gay Archives Roundtable of the Society of American Archivists
This archival guide to Lesbian and Gay resources in North America provides a geographical index of repositories by state and province as well as a cross-index by repository name. Each entry provides contact information as well as web site, if available.
National Center for Transgender Equality
"Dedicated to advancing the equality of transgender people through advocacy, collaboration, and empowerment" (from home page). Includes government documents, statistics, news, reports, and authoritative websites regarding the legal status of transgender people in the United States and their rights as transgender people.
PFLAG: Parents, Families and Friends of Lesbians and Gays
PFLAG is a national organization head quartered in Washington, D.C. that promotes the health and well-being of gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgendered persons, their families and friends. Their web site provides information pertaining to education regarding issues of important to this community, publications and other resources, links to advocacy and legislative information, and contact information and web sites for local chapters.
Transgender Law and Policy Institute
State legislation, court cases, college policies, school policies, and employment policies that affect transpeople. Includes resources for transpeople who need legal information or other services.
