HIST 423-523: Civil War and Reconstruction, 1848-1877

Books are an excellent source of research for Minnesota history.  The Library's Books and More Search will help you find books, videos, government documents, and more. Books related to Minnesota History are located in the Basement West at these call numbers: 

E 83.86     Dakota Conflict of 1862
E 99.C6     Ojibwa Indians
E 99.D1     Dakota Indians
F 601-615  Minnesota history
F353         Mississippi River Valley. History. 1803-1865
E 456-655  Minnesota History Civil War, 1861-1865
E 491-586  United States. Army. Minnesota Infantry Regiment E 668        Reconstruction (U.S. History, 1865-1877)

Dr. Glade has reserved some books on Minnesota's First Regiment for students in this class. Search the library's Course Reserves to find these titles.

Minnesota Historical Society Library Catalog
Search the library and archival collections of the Minnesota Historical Society.

WorldCat
Search for materials beyond SCSU, from thousands of libraries and institutions around the world. Click on the FindIt! button and sign in to and request items through Interlibrary Loan.

Books and Special Collections

Primary sources can also be located in print in the Miller Center Library can be located using the Books and More Advanced Search (MnPALS Plus) by combining keywords about your topic with these keywords: personal narratives, diaries, letters, reminiscences, correspondence, sources, speeches, notebooks, anecdotes, interviews, oral histories.

The Minnesota Digital Library and the Minnesota Historical Society have extensive online collections of primary sources related to Minnesota history.
 

• Minnesota Digital Library: Minnesota Reflections
  The collection brings you more than 210,000 images, maps and documents from more than 155 of the state's cultural heritage organizations. This site offers resources on Minnesota's history and geography for researchers, educators, students, and the public.
   
• Minnesota Historical Society Collections Online
  Collections from the Minnesota Historical Society visually represent Minnesotans, their lives, landscapes, leisure and occupations from the pre-territorial period to the present.  Collections Online includes records for three-dimensional objects, photographs, art, maps, some manuscripts, and the KSTP-TV Archive.
  • First Minnesota Volunteer Infantry -- Civil War
    An MHS topic guide.
  • First Regiment, Minnesota Volunteer Infantry
    List of MHS manuscript collections organized by military unit and alphabetized by the last name of soldier.
  • Richard Moe: First Minnesota Infantry Regiment Letters and Research Files
    Finding aid for primary sources, published materials, and background information that Moe gathered from a variety of sources for his Civil War history of the men of the First Minnesoa Infantry Regiment.
     

Civil War: Antebellum to Reconstruction, 1843-1877
This collection of primary materials features more than 150 newspapers from all regions of the United States—plus approximately 50,000 government documents and 4,000 rare broadsides and pieces of ephemera. It provides unprecedented local and national coverage of American culture, politics and society from 1840 through 1877.

American Memory from the Library of Congress
Includes the Abraham Lincoln Papers, the Pioneering the Upper Midwest collection, and the An American Time Capsule: Broadsides and Printed Ephemera collection (browseable by state).

Freedmen's Bureau, 1865-1872
Information from the National Archives' African American Heritage collection.
 

Historical Newspapers and Journals

Minnesota Digital Newspaper Hub
A searchable website of online geographically and culturally diverse Minnesota newspapers published between 1856 and today.

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Use the "Advanced Search" option to search 35 Minnesota newspapers from 1856-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about newspapers published between 1690-present.

Nineteenth Century US Newspapers
Full-text content and images from about 500 U.S. newspapers published during the 19th Century. Includes The Penny Press (Minneapolis) (1893-1896), The Evening Penny Press (1896-1896), and The St. Paul Daily News (1889-1894). 

African American Newspapers
Searchable database of approximately 270 U.S. newspapers from more than 35 states chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. Includes eight Minnesota newspapers spanning the years 1869-1903.  Click on the "Places of Publication" tab to browse or search the Minnesota papers.

HarpWeek: The Civil War Era
Electronic access to Harper's Weekly, 1857-1912, America's leading 19th-century illustrated newspaper.

JSTOR
Provides access to scholarly journals in anthropology, ecology, economics, education, general science, history, literature, mathematics, political science, philosophy, and more. Some journals have "moving wall" access that does not include the most recent 2-5 years.

America: History & Life
This database searches 2,000 scholarly journals on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present, and is another good source to look for articles related to Minnesota History.

MInnesota History
A lively, richly illustrated magazine published by the Minnesota Historical Society.  The magazine covers a variety of topics drawn from more than 150 years of state and regional history and is searchable at the MHS website.  Issues from 1948-present are available in print in the Miller Center Library and older issues are available in microform.  Full-text available online from MHS for 2005 and older.

First Minnesota Volunteer Infantry Regiment
Check the Regimental Roster locate soldiers by company or by last name. Be sure to verify the sources of the information provided on this website.

Encyclopedia of The American Civil War: A Political, Social, And Military History
"An award-winning and highly recommended comprehensive set on the political, social, and military aspects of the American Civil War."

Encyclopedia of American Historical Documents
REF E173 .E54 2004 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Volume II covers the Civil War and Reconstruction periods. Includes selected laws, speeches, treaties, political party platforms, song lyrics, amendments to the U.S. Constitution, presidential statements, and court decisions.

Gettysburg: An American Story (Films on Demand)
Follows the journey of the 1st Minnesota from 1861-1865.

Chicago Manual of Style (OWL at Purdue)
Provides examples of formatting papers, in-text citations, footnotes and endnotes, and reference lists according to the Chicago Manual of Style.

Chicago/Turabian Documentation from the University of Wisconsin
Provides examples on formatting your paper and creating your works cited list in Chicago/Turabian style.

History (Minnesota)
Minnesota
History (United States)