Books and More Catalog (MnPALS Plus)
The online catalog of books, government publications, video and audio resources, links to online resources, and other materials available through the SCSU Library in the Miller Center.
MnPALS Classic: Browse
The "Browse" function is available only from MnPALS Classic (the previous version of the online library catalog). The link above will take you directly there; otherwise, you can find the Browse function by clicking "Classic MnPALS" in the upper right corner of the Books and More Catalog page, then surfing to it: Classic MnPALS > Browse.
Credo Reference
Provides online access to over 500 reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) in all subject areas. This is the premier place to look up a quick fact or to search for background information on a research topic.
The online catalog of books, government publications, video and audio resources, links to online resources, and other materials available through the SCSU Library in the Miller Center.
MnPALS Classic: Browse
The "Browse" function is available only from MnPALS Classic (the previous version of the online library catalog). The link above will take you directly there; otherwise, you can find the Browse function by clicking "Classic MnPALS" in the upper right corner of the Books and More Catalog page, then surfing to it: Classic MnPALS > Browse.
- Using "Browse" to find appropriate subject headings:
When you choose "Subject begins with ..." from the pulldown menu, "Browse" will give you the various subheadings in the Library of Congress classification system. For example, if you were to browse by subject for "latin america history" (just like that, without the quotation marks), you'd get a list of subject headings beginning with "Latin America -- History." You can also use this to find subject headings for specific countries: "mexico history," "cuba history," "venezuela history," and so forth.
- Examples of searches in "Browse:"
- Argentina history = Argentina - History - 1860-1910; Argentina - History - Dirty War, 1976-1983
- brazil history = Brazil - History - Empire, 1822-1889; Brazil - History - Naval Revolt, 1910
Credo Reference
Provides online access to over 500 reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) in all subject areas. This is the premier place to look up a quick fact or to search for background information on a research topic.
- A partial list of Latin America-related encyclopedias in Credo:
Companion to Latin American Studies
Provides a brief and accessible overview of the whole of Latin American Studies. Covering all the possible topics, from colonial cultures and identity to US Latino culture and issues of race, gender and sexuality, this book situates Latin America in its historical, linguistic and cultural context.
Companion to Hispanic Studies
Provides a concise and accessible overview of the discipline as taught today and suggests new directions for future developments. 'Hispanic Studies' is broadly concerned with the languages and cultures of the vast 'Hispanic' world, extending chronologically from Roman Hispania to today, and geographically from Roman Hispania to today, and geographically from California in the North to Patagonia in the South, and from Majorca in the East to the Andes in the West.
Encyclopedia of Mexico: History, Society and Culture
Women's Roles in History: Women's Roles in Latin America and the Caribbean
Iberia and the Americas: Culture, Politics and History
Historical Abstracts 
Search over 2,000 scholarly journals covering the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).
Handbook of Latin American Studies
From the Handbook's webpage: "The Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Each year, more than 130 academics from around the world choose over 5,000 works for inclusion in the Handbook. Continuously published since 1936, the Handbook offers Latin Americanists an essential guide to available resources."
JSTOR
Provides access to scholarly journals in anthropology, ecology, economics, education, general science, history, literature, mathematics, political science, philosophy, and more. Some journals have "moving wall" access that does not include the most recent 2-5 years.
AnthroSource
AnthroSource is a service of the American Anthropological Association that offers a searchable database of more than 250,000 articles from AAA journals, newsletters, bulletins and monographs.
Sociological Abstracts
The primary database for scholarly articles in sociology, anthropology, social work, and related topics of study.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
The premier source for finding scholarly articles and other informaiton related to political science topics.
Search over 2,000 scholarly journals covering the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).
Handbook of Latin American Studies
From the Handbook's webpage: "The Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Each year, more than 130 academics from around the world choose over 5,000 works for inclusion in the Handbook. Continuously published since 1936, the Handbook offers Latin Americanists an essential guide to available resources."
JSTOR
Provides access to scholarly journals in anthropology, ecology, economics, education, general science, history, literature, mathematics, political science, philosophy, and more. Some journals have "moving wall" access that does not include the most recent 2-5 years.
AnthroSource
AnthroSource is a service of the American Anthropological Association that offers a searchable database of more than 250,000 articles from AAA journals, newsletters, bulletins and monographs.
Sociological Abstracts
The primary database for scholarly articles in sociology, anthropology, social work, and related topics of study.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
The premier source for finding scholarly articles and other informaiton related to political science topics.
Michael Gorman
Associate Professor, Research Librarian
MC 140F
(320) 308-2028
msgorman@stcloudstate.edu
ON THE REFERENCE DESK:
Monday, 5:00 - 6:00 pm
Wednesday, 2:00 - 4:00 pm
Thursday, 1:00 - 2:00 pm
OFFICE HOURS:
Monday, 4:00 - 5:00 pm
Thursday, 1:00 - 2:00 pm
Please call or e-mail to set up an appointment if the above hours are not convenient
Monday, 5:00 - 6:00 pm
Wednesday, 2:00 - 4:00 pm
Thursday, 1:00 - 2:00 pm
OFFICE HOURS:
Monday, 4:00 - 5:00 pm
Thursday, 1:00 - 2:00 pm
Please call or e-mail to set up an appointment if the above hours are not convenient
While SCSU's library is the largest library in central Minnesota, and the second-largest in the state, we will not have all the materials you need for this course's research assignments. This may cause some frustration for the SCSU researcher. SCSU's Library has a free inter-library loan service that will get books and copies of journal articles from other university libraries at no charge.
Interlibrary Loan (also available from the SCSU Library's main web page): http://lrts.stcloudstate.edu/library/services/illrequest.asp
Interlibrary Loan - Request a Book: https://scsu.mplus.mnpals.net/vufind/MyResearch/ILLRequest/?mylocn=SCS
Interlibrary Loan - Request an Article: https://scsu.mplus.mnpals.net/vufind/MyResearch/ILLRequest?illForm=SE&mylocn=SCS
Login with your StarID and password to access the service. You'll receive an e-mail when your item arrives.
Interlibrary Loan (also available from the SCSU Library's main web page): http://lrts.stcloudstate.edu/library/services/illrequest.asp
Interlibrary Loan - Request a Book: https://scsu.mplus.mnpals.net/vufind/MyResearch/ILLRequest/?mylocn=SCS
Interlibrary Loan - Request an Article: https://scsu.mplus.mnpals.net/vufind/MyResearch/ILLRequest?illForm=SE&mylocn=SCS
Login with your StarID and password to access the service. You'll receive an e-mail when your item arrives.
Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC) 
A site sponsored by the University of Texas Institute of Latin American Studies that provides information on Latin America. The site contains country-specific links, links by topic, and assorted links to libraries, and conferences. Unfortunately, the site has not been maintained and updated since 2015; however, most of the links and information are still current.
Latin Americanist Research Resource Project (LAARP)
From the webpage: LAARP is "a consortium of research libraries that seeks to increase free and open access to information in support of learning and scholarship in Latin American Studies. It mobilizes collaborative activities among individuals and organizations on a global scale but focuses on relationships within the academic community."
History: Latin America: Primary Sources
An excellent collection of links to Latin American history primary material available on the internet, organized by region. Items with images of padlocks are available by subscription only.
A site sponsored by the University of Texas Institute of Latin American Studies that provides information on Latin America. The site contains country-specific links, links by topic, and assorted links to libraries, and conferences. Unfortunately, the site has not been maintained and updated since 2015; however, most of the links and information are still current.
Latin Americanist Research Resource Project (LAARP)
From the webpage: LAARP is "a consortium of research libraries that seeks to increase free and open access to information in support of learning and scholarship in Latin American Studies. It mobilizes collaborative activities among individuals and organizations on a global scale but focuses on relationships within the academic community."
History: Latin America: Primary Sources
An excellent collection of links to Latin American history primary material available on the internet, organized by region. Items with images of padlocks are available by subscription only.
