Start With:
AgeLine
AgeLine focuses exclusively on the population aged 50+ abd issues of aging. The premier source for social gerontology literature, it includes aging-related content from the health sciences, psychology, sociology, social work, economics and public policy.
Other Databases:
Dimensions
"Dimensions is a modern and innovative, linked research data infrastructure and tool, re-imagining discovery and access to research: grants, publications, citations, clinical trials, and patents in one place"
PsycINFO 
PsycINFO is the premier source for finding scholarly articles and other information relating to all aspects of psychology and related fields.
PubMed
"PubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books."
Social Services Abstracts
The premier source for finding scholarly articles and other informaiton focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,300 journals as well as dissertations, and citations to book reviews.
Sociological Abstracts
The primary database for scholarly articles in sociology, anthropology, social work, and related topics of study.
Gerontology
Geriatrics
AgeLine
AgeLine focuses exclusively on the population aged 50+ abd issues of aging. The premier source for social gerontology literature, it includes aging-related content from the health sciences, psychology, sociology, social work, economics and public policy.
Other Databases:
Dimensions
"Dimensions is a modern and innovative, linked research data infrastructure and tool, re-imagining discovery and access to research: grants, publications, citations, clinical trials, and patents in one place"
PsycINFO
PsycINFO is the premier source for finding scholarly articles and other information relating to all aspects of psychology and related fields.
PubMed
"PubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books."
Social Services Abstracts
The premier source for finding scholarly articles and other informaiton focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,300 journals as well as dissertations, and citations to book reviews.
Sociological Abstracts
The primary database for scholarly articles in sociology, anthropology, social work, and related topics of study.
Journal Lists:
GerontologyGeriatrics
Cambridge Handbook of Age and Ageing
The Cambridge Handbook of Age and Ageing is a state-of-the-art guide to the current body of knowledge, theory, policy and practice relevant to age researchers and gerontologists around the world. The broad focus of the book is on the behavioural and social sciences but it also includes important contributions from the biological and medical sciences.
Handbook of Aging and the Social Sciences
Provides a comprehensive summary and evaluation of recent research on the social aspects of aging.
Association for Gerontology in Higher Education
The Association for Gerontology in Higher Education (aka AGHE) is the international leader in advancing education on aging and is the only institutional membership organization devoted primarily to gerontology and geriatrics education since 1974.
ElderWeb
"Award-winning online eldercare sourcebook."
Gerontological Society of America
GSA's goal is "to promote the scientific study of aging...and to foster growth and diffusion of knowledge relating to problems of aging and of the sciences contributing to [their] understanding...."
Institute of Gerontology - Wayne State University
The mission of the IOG is to increase knowledge about aging, improve the practice of gerontology, and influence public policy. A useful site for advanced gerontology research information.
National Center on Elder Abuse
"The NCEA is the place to turn to for up-to-date information regarding research, training, best practices, news and resources on elder abuse, neglect and exploitation. "
National Institute on Aging (NIA)
NIA, one of the National Institutes of Health, promotes healthy aging by conducting and supporting biomedical, social, and behavioral research and public education.
The Association for Gerontology in Higher Education (aka AGHE) is the international leader in advancing education on aging and is the only institutional membership organization devoted primarily to gerontology and geriatrics education since 1974.
ElderWeb
"Award-winning online eldercare sourcebook."
Gerontological Society of America
GSA's goal is "to promote the scientific study of aging...and to foster growth and diffusion of knowledge relating to problems of aging and of the sciences contributing to [their] understanding...."
Institute of Gerontology - Wayne State University
The mission of the IOG is to increase knowledge about aging, improve the practice of gerontology, and influence public policy. A useful site for advanced gerontology research information.
National Center on Elder Abuse
"The NCEA is the place to turn to for up-to-date information regarding research, training, best practices, news and resources on elder abuse, neglect and exploitation. "
National Institute on Aging (NIA)
NIA, one of the National Institutes of Health, promotes healthy aging by conducting and supporting biomedical, social, and behavioral research and public education.
Melissa Prescott
Professor, Diversity and Inclusion Librarian
MC 204E
(320) 308-4751
mkprescott@stcloudstate.edu
Anatomy of a Scholarly Article
An interactive guide that describes the features of a scholarly research article (NCSU Libraries).
How to Read a Scholarly Article
Popular Magazines vs. Trade Magazines vs. Scholarly Journals (CSU)
Provides general criteria that can be used to distinguish between popular magazines, trade magazines, and scholarly journals.
An interactive guide that describes the features of a scholarly research article (NCSU Libraries).
How to Read a Scholarly Article
Popular Magazines vs. Trade Magazines vs. Scholarly Journals (CSU)
Provides general criteria that can be used to distinguish between popular magazines, trade magazines, and scholarly journals.
Age Data
Statistical data from the U.S. Census Bureau.
FASTSTATS: Older Person's Health
Statistics concerning health status, risk and utilization for the elderly
National Archive of Computerized Data on Aging (NACDA)
NACDA, located within ICPSR, is U.S.'s largest library of electronic data on aging.
Statistical data from the U.S. Census Bureau.
FASTSTATS: Older Person's Health
Statistics concerning health status, risk and utilization for the elderly
National Archive of Computerized Data on Aging (NACDA)
NACDA, located within ICPSR, is U.S.'s largest library of electronic data on aging.
Citation Styles (APA, MLA, etc.)
Consult examples of APA, MLA, Chicago/Turabian, and other citation styles, and use Mendeley or Zotero to manage your references and format your bibliography.
Consult examples of APA, MLA, Chicago/Turabian, and other citation styles, and use Mendeley or Zotero to manage your references and format your bibliography.
