ETHS 111: Race in America

American FactFinder
Tables and maps of most recent demographic and economic data for all geographies including the U.S., states, counties, cities, towns, American Indian reservations, metropolitan areas, zip codes, census tracts, blocks, and more. Produced by the US Census Bureau.



SAGE Reference Online
Provides access to 90 full-text specialized encyclopedias that offer excellent background information on a topic.

• Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity, and Society
• Encyclopedia of Race and Crime

From Idea to Library
Video tutorial on how scholarly articles are written, published, and made accessible to researchers and students. From the NCSU Libraries.

Scholarly vs. Popular Materials Guide (NCSU)
Guide to distinguishing between scholarly journals, popular magazines, and trade journals/magazines.

Compare and contrast the following articles. What makes one popular and the other scholarly?


Puchner, Laurel, and Donyell L. Roseboro. "Speaking Of Whiteness: Compromise As A Purposeful Pedagogical Strategy Toward White Students' Learning About Race." Teaching In Higher Education 16.4 (2011): 377-387. Academic Search Premier. Web. 7 Feb. 2014.

Schlumpf, Heidi. "Owning Unearned White Privilege." National Catholic Reporter 42.30 (2006): 12-13. Academic Search Premier. Web. 7 Feb. 2014.

• Identify the main concepts of your topic
• Think of synonyms to describe each concept, where appropriate
• Combine synonyms with OR and enclose in parentheses
• Combine the different concepts with AND
• Use truncation (*) to find multiple endings of words

Examples:

(racis* OR discriminat*) AND (institutional OR systemic) AND "white privilege"

(racis* OR discriminat*) AND institutional AND (native american* or american indian*) AND education*

(racis* OR discriminat*) AND (latin* OR hispanic american*) AND politic*

(racis* OR discriminat*) AND (african american* OR black american*) AND (law OR legal)

(racis* OR discriminat*) AND (asian american* OR pacific islander*) AND (economic OR income)

LibSearch
Search the library's physical collection (books, movies, music, government publications, etc.) along with online journals and e-books to which the Library subscribes -- all in a single search.

Ethnic NewsWatch
Articles from over 200 newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Provides in-depth coverage of a wide range of current and historical topics. Limit the Source Type to "Scholarly Journals" for peer-reviewed articles.

Google Scholar
Searches academic papers and other scholarly literature. Go to Settings and set SCSU as your "Library link" to get full text available through the library.

Once you have searched for and located information, you must evaluate your results to determine which resources to use for your research assignments. One method for evaluating information is the CRAAP Test (from Meriam Library at California State University Chico). CRAAP stands for:

Currency: The timeliness of the information.
Relevance: The importance of the information for your needs.
Authority: The source of the information.
Accuracy: The reliability, truthfulness, objectivity, and correctness of the informational content.
Purpose: The reason the information exists.
 

Digital Media Studio
A green screen and video camera, film editing programs on a souped-up Mac, and audio recording and editing equipment are available in MC B42. Hours are Monday through Thursday 4-8 p.m. and Fridays 4-7 p.m. Email trhergert@stcloudstate.edu to set up an appointment.

Student Study Rooms
Reserve student study rooms for group work, available on the second and third floors of the Library.

Technology Lending
VIsit the Circulation Desk to borrow digital cameras, camcorders, projectors, and other equipment.

The Library has an extensive collection of films and movies that are streaming online or available for check out.

All FieldsTitleAuthorSubjectCall NumberISBN/ISSNTag  

Films on Demand: Racism
Streaming video on issues related to Ethnic Studies, Gender and Women's Studies, Social Inequality, and general Sociology.

The Multicultural Resource Center (MRC) is an academic center that supports those who are learning, researching or teaching about the experiences of people of color in the United States. Books in the MRC collection are on Miller Center 1st floor, near MC 137.
 

Search for materials in the Multicultural Resource Center

All FieldsTitleAuthorSubjectCall NumberISBN/ISSNTag  

Citation Styles Old
Choose a citation style (APA, MLA, Chicago/ Turabian...) and follow the guidelines for formatting your paper and references.