Expand/Collapse All
Articles, journals, magazines and newspapers
Academic Search Premier 
Full-text articles in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
Full-text articles in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
America: History and Life
Search 2,000 scholarly journals on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present (the rest of the world is covered in Historical Abstracts).
Search 2,000 scholarly journals on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present (the rest of the world is covered in Historical Abstracts).
Ethnic NewsWatch
Articles from over 200 newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Provides in-depth coverage of a wide range of current and historical topics. Limit the Source Type to "Scholarly Journals" for peer-reviewed articles.
Articles from over 200 newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Provides in-depth coverage of a wide range of current and historical topics. Limit the Source Type to "Scholarly Journals" for peer-reviewed articles.
JSTOR
Provides access to scholarly journals in anthropology, ecology, economics, education, general science, history, literature, mathematics, political science, philosophy, and more. Some journals have "moving wall" access that does not include the most recent 2-5 years.
Provides access to scholarly journals in anthropology, ecology, economics, education, general science, history, literature, mathematics, political science, philosophy, and more. Some journals have "moving wall" access that does not include the most recent 2-5 years.
Project MUSE
Full-text access to more than 150 scholarly journals and eBooks in all disciplines published by Johns Hopkins University and several other university presses.
Full-text access to more than 150 scholarly journals and eBooks in all disciplines published by Johns Hopkins University and several other university presses.
Sociological Abstracts
The primary database for scholarly articles in sociology, anthropology, social work, and related topics of study.
The primary database for scholarly articles in sociology, anthropology, social work, and related topics of study.
Facts, definitions, and overviews
American Jewish Desk Reference
Print Location: Ref E 184.35 .A44 1999
Nearly 900 entries on all aspects of Ameri8can Jewish history and culture, arranged in thematic chapters: History of Jews in America; Judaism and Community in America; Rituals, Celebrations, Holidays, and Family Life; Law, Government, and Politics; American Zionism and U.S. Relations with Israel; Business, Labor, and Finance; Education and Intellectual Life; Sports and Games; Art, Archiecture, and Photography; Music, Dance, and Theater; Radio, Television, and Film; Books, Newspapers, and Magazines; Language and Literature; Science, Medicine, and Social Science.
Print Location: Ref E 184.35 .A44 1999
Nearly 900 entries on all aspects of Ameri8can Jewish history and culture, arranged in thematic chapters: History of Jews in America; Judaism and Community in America; Rituals, Celebrations, Holidays, and Family Life; Law, Government, and Politics; American Zionism and U.S. Relations with Israel; Business, Labor, and Finance; Education and Intellectual Life; Sports and Games; Art, Archiecture, and Photography; Music, Dance, and Theater; Radio, Television, and Film; Books, Newspapers, and Magazines; Language and Literature; Science, Medicine, and Social Science.
Blackwell Companion to Jewish Culture from the Eighteenth Century to the Present
Print Location: REF DS102.8 .B46 1989
Check availability
Includes bibliographical references and index.
Print Location: REF DS102.8 .B46 1989
Check availability
Includes bibliographical references and index.
Encyclopaedia Judaica 
Print Location: REF DS102.8 .E496
Check availability
SCSU owns both the original print and the updated online editions of this title. The updated online edition of this classic work includes more than 21,000 entries on all aspects of Jewish life, culture, history, and religion.
Print Location: REF DS102.8 .E496
Check availability
SCSU owns both the original print and the updated online editions of this title. The updated online edition of this classic work includes more than 21,000 entries on all aspects of Jewish life, culture, history, and religion.
Encyclopedia of German Resistance to the Nazi Movement
Print Location: REF DD256.5 .L51313 1997
Check availability
Despite the encyclopedia title, this book is more a collection of essays (about 5 pgs. in length) on resistance to the Nazi movement. Consists of a general overview, encyclopedia of resistance groups, and biographical sketches.
Print Location: REF DD256.5 .L51313 1997
Check availability
Despite the encyclopedia title, this book is more a collection of essays (about 5 pgs. in length) on resistance to the Nazi movement. Consists of a general overview, encyclopedia of resistance groups, and biographical sketches.
Encyclopedia of Modern Jewish Culture
Print Location: REF DS 102.8 .E56 2005x
Two volumes, A-Z, most of the articles have Further Reading suggestions. Includes biogrphies, essays on topics relating to Jewish culture, and survey articles on related topics
Print Location: REF DS 102.8 .E56 2005x
Two volumes, A-Z, most of the articles have Further Reading suggestions. Includes biogrphies, essays on topics relating to Jewish culture, and survey articles on related topics
Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity, and Society
The Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity, and Society offers informative coverage of intergroup relations in the United States and the comparative examination of race and ethnicity worldwide. Containing nearly 600 entries, this resource provides a foundation to understanding as well as researching racial and ethnic diversity from a multidisciplinary perspective.
The Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity, and Society offers informative coverage of intergroup relations in the United States and the comparative examination of race and ethnicity worldwide. Containing nearly 600 entries, this resource provides a foundation to understanding as well as researching racial and ethnic diversity from a multidisciplinary perspective.
Encyclopedia of the Holocaust
Print Location: REF D804.3 .E53 1990
Check availability
The first place to start research on the Holocaust. Longer entries which include bibliography 4 vols. - arranged alphabetically
Print Location: REF D804.3 .E53 1990
Check availability
The first place to start research on the Holocaust. Longer entries which include bibliography 4 vols. - arranged alphabetically
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America
Print Location: REF E184.A1 G15
Check availability
4 vols. Medium to lengthy entries for American ethnic groups. Organized by ethnic groups. Each entry includes information on history, geography, immigration, culture, religion, family structures, and more. Bibliographies are included with each entry.
Print Location: REF E184.A1 G15
Check availability
4 vols. Medium to lengthy entries for American ethnic groups. Organized by ethnic groups. Each entry includes information on history, geography, immigration, culture, religion, family structures, and more. Bibliographies are included with each entry.
Jewish Encyclopedia
This is the online version of the Jewish Encyclopedia which was originally published between 1901-1906. Because of this works publication date, it does not include events of the 20th century. However, it contains important information that is relevant today.
This is the online version of the Jewish Encyclopedia which was originally published between 1901-1906. Because of this works publication date, it does not include events of the 20th century. However, it contains important information that is relevant today.
Jewish Women in America: An Historical Encyclopedia
Print Location: Ref DS 115.2 .J49 1998
Two volumes, A-Z, with more than 1,000 biographies and topical essays with bibliogrphies. Includes Jewish American women's participation in literature, art, scholarly disciplines, popular culture, sports, entertainment, politics, and more.
Print Location: Ref DS 115.2 .J49 1998
Two volumes, A-Z, with more than 1,000 biographies and topical essays with bibliogrphies. Includes Jewish American women's participation in literature, art, scholarly disciplines, popular culture, sports, entertainment, politics, and more.
Jewish-American History and Culture: An Encyclopedia
Print Location: Ref E 184 .J5 J48 1992
A-Z signed articles with bibliography for further study. Topics include historical events and figures, literature and the arts, the range of Jewish religious life and communal organizations, contributions Jewish Americans have mde to public life, and other topics.
Print Location: Ref E 184 .J5 J48 1992
A-Z signed articles with bibliography for further study. Topics include historical events and figures, literature and the arts, the range of Jewish religious life and communal organizations, contributions Jewish Americans have mde to public life, and other topics.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
The gateway to the Library of Congress’s digitized American primary source materials including photographs, posters, maps, letters, diaries, sound recordings, films, books, pamphlets, and sheet music.
The gateway to the Library of Congress’s digitized American primary source materials including photographs, posters, maps, letters, diaries, sound recordings, films, books, pamphlets, and sheet music.
Jewish Virtual Library
Website for information and links to History, Biography, Statistics, Maps, Religion and News for Judism and the Jewish People.
Website for information and links to History, Biography, Statistics, Maps, Religion and News for Judism and the Jewish People.
Judaism 101
(Taken from website)"Judaism 101 is an online encyclopedia of Judaism, covering Jewish beliefs, people, places, things, language, scripture, holidays, practices and customs. My goal is to make freely available a wide variety of basic, general information about Judaism, written from a traditional perspective in plain English. This web site has grown continually for more than 10 years and continues to be updated periodically."
(Taken from website)"Judaism 101 is an online encyclopedia of Judaism, covering Jewish beliefs, people, places, things, language, scripture, holidays, practices and customs. My goal is to make freely available a wide variety of basic, general information about Judaism, written from a traditional perspective in plain English. This web site has grown continually for more than 10 years and continues to be updated periodically."
What Jews Believe
Website devoted to Jewish beliefs concerning life, death, sin, forgiveness, and atonement. Also includes a bibliography.
Website devoted to Jewish beliefs concerning life, death, sin, forgiveness, and atonement. Also includes a bibliography.
Making of America (Cornell)
This database includes "a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology." (From Website)
This database includes "a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology." (From Website)
Melissa Prescott
Professor, Diversity and Inclusion Librarian
MC 204E
(320) 308-4751
mkprescott@stcloudstate.edu
