University Library at St. Cloud State University

Ethnic Studies

Library Resources for Research
mural image
"Mural" by gympumpkin is licensed under CC BY-NC-ND 2.0
Find background and topic ideas
Background Information (Pre-Research)
Credo Reference
Provides online access to over 500 reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) in all subject areas. This is the premier place to look up a quick fact or to search for background information on a research topic.
SAGE Reference Online
Provides access to 90 full-text specialized encyclopedias that offer excellent background information on a topic.
Topic Ideas
Southern Poverty Law Center
A legal advocacy organization specializing in civil rights and public interest litigation. Look under Our Issues for topic ideas.

Colorlines
A daily news site published by Race Forward, a national organization that advances racial justice through research, media and practice.

Zinn Education Project
Based on the work of Howard Zinn, this site emphasizes the role of working people, women, people of color, and organized social movements in shaping history. The News and Why sections of the site include articles of current interest that look critically at historical topics and how they relate to today's society. You can also Explore by Theme.

Organizations
Minnesota Racial Equity Resource Directory
A listing of racial equity programs and training providers serving faith communities, civic organizations, educational institutions, and anyone working to combat racism and increase cultural competence.
Find scholarly articles
To find scholarly articles on your topic, you need to search library databases. The main database for Ethnic Studies is Ethnic NewsWatch which allows you to search for articles in publications that aren't always available in mainstream sources and that reflect the viewpoints of traditionally marginalized groups. Because Ethnic Studies topics often intersect with other subjects/disciplines, you should try searching another database that focuses on the sector of society you are interested in (e.g. education, health, criminal justice, etc.). See Research Databases for a full list of search options.

Ethnic NewsWatch Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
Articles from over 200 newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Provides in-depth coverage of a wide range of current and historical topics. Limit the Source Type to "Scholarly Journals" for peer-reviewed articles.

Sociological Abstracts Restricted Resource findit database
The primary database for scholarly articles in sociology, anthropology, social work, and related topics of study.

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Full-text articles in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
Find alternative press articles
Search for articles in non-mainstream newspapers, magazines, zines, and other publications that feature the voices of underrepresented groups and report and analyze the practices and theories of cultural, economic, political, and social change.

Alternative Press Index Restricted Resource findit database
Index to articles published from 1991-present in over 250 alternative, radical, and liberal publications that report and analyze the practices and theories of cultural, economic, political, and social change.

Alternative Press Index Archive Restricted Resource findit database
Index to articles published from 1969-1990 in over 250 alternative, radical, and liberal publications that report and analyze the practices and theories of cultural, economic, political, and social change.

Independent Voices: An Open Access Collection of an Alternative Press Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
An open access collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines, and journals produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Latinx, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press, and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
Find demographic data
United States
American Community Survey
Provides up-to-date statistical summaries based on US Census data for states, selected cities(with populations greater than 65,000) and counties.

U.S. Census Bureau
The Census Bureau's mission is to serve as the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy.
  • Browse by Topic > Race

Minnesota
Age, Race, & Ethnicity (MN)
Statistics from the Minnesota State Demographic Center.

Populations of Color and American Indians (MN)
Statistics and other information on racial groups from the Minnesota Department of Health.
Search for streaming video
Films on Demand: Ethnic and Gender Studies Restricted Resource Resource contains video
Streaming video on issues related to Ethnic Studies, Gender and Women's Studies, Social Inequality, and general Sociology.
Tip: To focus your results, type "race and racism" into the search box.

Media Education Foundation Collection (Kanopy) Restricted Resource Resource contains video
Online videos that encourage critical thinking about the social, political, and cultural impact of American mass media, with a special focus on representations of gender and race.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Melissa Prescott

Melissa Prescott
Professor, Diversity and Inclusion Librarian
MC 204E
(320) 308-4751
mkprescott@stcloudstate.edu


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University