ENGL 331: Advanced Academic Writing (Cogdill)

Many of the articles you locate will likely be in an online full-text format. Determining the periodical type of these can be difficult, as you do not have the entire periodical to look through for hints. This guide can help you determine whether a periodical is a popular magazine, trade publication, or scholarly journal: 

http://web.stcloudstate.edu/jmquinlan/ENGL331guideSpring2014.pdf

A useful online guide pointing out elements of a scholarly research article:

http://libguides.greenriver.edu/content.php?pid=327894&sid=2682657

Full text resources (useful for most topics):

Academic Search Premier (all topics) from EBSCO
Full-text articles in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.

Project Muse
Full-text access to more than 150 scholarly journals and eBooks in all disciplines published by Johns Hopkins University and several other university presses.

JSTOR
Provides access to scholarly journals in anthropology, ecology, economics, education, general science, history, literature, mathematics, political science, philosophy, and more. Some journals have "moving wall" access that does not include the most recent 2-5 years.
 

Databases for Mass Communication:

Communication & Mass Media Complete
The main database for Communication Studies and Mass Communications. Searches over 600 journal titles that support research in communication, mass media, linguistics, language learning and related fields of study.

ComAbstracts
The most comprehensive database for the discipline of Communications. Provides 26,000 abstracts of articles drawn from the professional literature on Communications. 
 

Databases for English:

MLA International Bibliography (Languages & Literature)
Comprehensive current index to articles and chapters in scholarly collections for literature, linguistics, and folklore. Covers all the world's languages and literatures, both contemporary and historical.
 

Databases for Education:

ERIC (Education)
ERIC is the primary database supporting research in all areas of education, including psychology, administration, and library science.
Note: 1966 - present

PsycINFO
PsycINFO is the premier source for finding scholarly articles and other information relating to all aspects of psychology and related fields.

Professional Collection (Education)
The Professional Collection is a selection of more than 300 full-text journals for educators. It offers balanced coverage for any professional educator in the following areas: arts and humanities; child and adolescent psychology and development; drug and alcohol abuse; health/nutrition/fitness; learning disabilities; literature; school law; science and technology; social sciences; and sports/athletic training
 

Databases for Film Studies:

 

Databases for BioMed Science:

CINAHL Plus with Full Text (Nursing)
Search 3,000+ journals in nursing and allied health back to 1937; covers nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, etc.

Medline
Indexes more than 19,000 journals, 1950 to present, in all areas of medicine, nursing, health services administration, nutrition, and other areas.

ScienceDirect
Search over 1,200 scholarly journals published by Elsevier. ScienceDirect is multisubject, but specializes in science. Note: We do not have full text access to all journals. 1993 to present for Academic Press journals; 1996 to present for Elsevier journals

Databases for Business and Economics:

Business Source Premier
Premium full-text content and peer-reviewed business journals covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more.

EconLit
Index to scholarly articles and dissertations in economics and related fields. Updated monthly. Corresponds to the print index published as part of the Journal of Economic Literature.
Note: 1969 to present

Databases for the history of the United States and Canada:

America: History & Life
Search 2,000 scholarly journals on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present (the rest of the world is covered in Historical Abstracts).
 

Databases for Library Science:

 

Mass Communications and Journalism

English

Education (Secondary)

Film Studies

Community Health

Research Guides (By Subject or Course Number)
Guides for doing research in a particular subject area (Art, Education, Social Work, etc.) or for a specific course.

http://web.stcloudstate.edu/scogdill/331/

I would be happy to meet with you for an an individualized research consultation.  A research consultation is intended to give you in-depth assistance in identifying and locating the resources most useful for your project. My student contact hours are below. 

Monday:      9 am-noon (reference desk)
                   3 pm - 4 pm (office)  
     
Tuesday:      3 pm - 4 pm (office)
                   4 pm - 6 pm (reference desk)

Wednesday: 9 am - noon (office)

Please email me if you intend to stop by during these times. If the above times are inconvenient, we can set up an appointment at another time.

Reference Desk: (320) 308-4755
Miller Center 1st Floor W

• Monday-Wednesday: 9:00 am - 9:00 pm
• Thursday: 9:00 am - 6:00 pm
• Friday: 9:00 am - 4:00 pm
• Saturday: 10:00 am - 6:00 pm
• Sunday: 1:00 pm - 9:00 pm

askref@stcloudstate.edu
Chat (24/7)

On Library homepage, select Interlibrary Loan (ILL) link: http://lrts.stcloudstate.edu/library/services/illrequest.asp

To request a book, select Request a book link: https://mplus.mnpals.net/vufind/MyResearch/ILLRequest/?mylocn=SCS

To request an article, select Request an Article link:  https://mplus.mnpals.net/vufind/MyResearch/ILLRequest?illForm=SE&mylocn=SCS 

Login using 14-digit barcode from back of CampusCard; password is your last name.



Fill out the required fields of the form. 

Be sure to check the copyright agreement box.

Select Submit Request. Watch your HuskyNet email for information about your request.

Google Scholar
Searches academic papers and other scholarly literature. Go to Settings and set SCSU as your "Library link" to get full text available through the library.

Some tips for searching Google Scholar:

http://www.umuc.edu/library/libhow/googlescholar.cfm
 

Information from Google about Google Scholar:

http://scholar.google.com/intl/en-US/scholar/help.html
 

Information about the "Cited by" function in Google Scholar:
http://academicguides.waldenu.edu/content.php?pid=225643&sid=1870041