CIA World Factbook
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.
Education at a Glance 2016
An authoritative source for accurate and relevant information on the state of education around the world. It provides data on the structure, finances, and performance of the education systems in the OECD's 34 member countries.
Education statistics from the World Bank.
International Data Table Library - International Activities Program
From U.S. Dept of Education, National Center for Education Statistics. Data is from a range of sources and compare different facets of education in the United States with those of other countries.
UNESCO (United Nations Educational, Scientific & Cultural Organization) Institute for Statistics
Source for cross-nationally comparable statistics on education, science and technology, culture, and communication for more than 200 countries and territories
World Bank Education Strategy 2020
From Idea to Library
Video tutorial on how scholarly articles are written, published, and made accessible to researchers and students. From the NCSU Libraries.
Scholarly vs. Popular Materials Guide (NCSU)
Guide to distinguishing between scholarly journals, popular magazines, and trade journals/magazines.
Peer Review in 3 Minutes (video)
How do articles get peer reviewed? What role does peer review play in scholarly research and publication? This video from NCSU Libraries explains.
Articles used in Scholarly vs. Popular activity
Hispanic versus African American Girls: Body Image, Nutrition, and Puberty
Bloomberg v. Pop Culture: NYC's Campaign to Boost Girls' Self Esteem
2. Sort Order: Note how your search results are displayed -- many databases sort by relevance rather than by date.
3. Subject Terms: Pay attention to the subject terms because they can lead to other relevant articles on your topic.
4. Get an Article: If the full text of the article is not available in the database you're searching, use
5. Not Satisfied? If you are not finding relevant results about your topic, try different combinations of search terms, or select another database to search.
For more tips, watch "How Can I Develop an Effective Search Strategy?"
ERIC is the primary database supporting research in all areas of education, including psychology, administration, and library science.
Academic Search Premier (all topics) from EBSCO
Full-text articles in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
PsycINFO is the premier source for finding scholarly articles and other information relating to all aspects of psychology and related fields.
Teacher Reference Center
Provides indexing and abstracts for over 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals to assist professional educators.
Searches academic papers and other scholarly literature. Go to Settings and set SCSU as your "Library link" to get full text available through the library.
Library Access for Distance Students
Provides online access to over 500 reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) in all subject areas. This is the premier place to look up a quick fact or to search for background information on a research topic.
21st Century Education: A Reference Handbook
Highlights the most important topics, issues, questions, and debates facing educators today.
Nation's Report Card
The National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP) is the largest nationally representative and continuing assessment of what America's students know and can do in various subject areas.
U.S. Department of Education
The Department of Education website includes valuable information on all levels of education, including statistical and financial information sources. The site provides a useful search engine.
National Center for Education Statistics
This official agency site includes: Education Statistics at a Glance which is comprised of The Condition of Education, The Digest of Education Statistics, and Projections of Education Statistics. In addition, there is a searchable database of NCES tables and figures. This search tool lets the user locate all tables/figures published in the inventory of NCES' "Education Statistics Quarterly"; the NEDRC (National Education Data Resource Center) Postsecondary Table Library; and many NCES publications.
Minnesota Department of Education
Horizon Report 2017 K-12 Edition from the New Media Consortium
Sustainable School Design Topic Hub
A guide to resources for making school buildings more environmentally friendly.
Professor, Research Librarian
Click to access email (answered usually within an hour during regular Reference Desk hours), chat (available 24 / 7), phone numbers for SCSU Reference Desk, and online form to set up a one-on-one (in person or via telephone) research consultation with a librarian.
As you work on your project, schedule an in-person or online meeting with me for in-depth guidance on finding the best resources for your topic.
Provides examples of formatting papers, in-text citations, footnotes and endnotes, and reference lists in APA style. Updated according to the 6th edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.
APA Citation Style from Long Island University
Color-coded examples of how to document your sources (i.e. books, journal articles, newspaper articles, etc.) in your works cited page.
You should see this login screen:
If you see a different screen or have other problems, Ask a Librarian -- old or contact HuskyTech (320) 308-7000.
ELM provides access to the following databases for use in K-12 environments: From Gale: InfoTrac Junior Edition for junior high and middle school students InfoTrac Student Edition for high school students Kids InfoBits for elementary school students Junior Reference Collection for junior high and middle school students Student Resources in Context for high school students From EBSCO: MAS Ultra-School Edition for high school students Middle Search Plus for junior high and middle school students Primary Search for elementary school students
Association for Middle Level Education
National Association of Secondary School Principals
National Council for History Education
National Council for the Social Studies
National Council of Teachers of English
National Council of Teachers of Mathematics
National Science Teachers Association
- When searching the databases for articles, look for the one of these links to access full text:
- If you don't see full text links, click on the Find It! button to view the easiest way to access the article: