"St. Cloud State University (SCSU) expects each student to fulfill his/her academic obligations honestly
and fairly without engaging in cheating, plagiarism, falsification, collusion, or other forms of academic dishonesty. "
St. Cloud State University Academic Integrity Policy
Citation: A (Very) Brief Introduction - a video from NCSU Libraries
- Effectively integrating source material from the experts with your own ideas and accurately referencing that source material can lend support to the argument in your paper and credibility to your reputation as a maturing professional in your field
- Providing complete references enables readers who are interested in your topic to find out more about your research
- Just as you expect to receive credit for your work, other authors expect and deserve credit for theirs
If you do not cite your sources you are being academically dishonest and guilty of plagiarism, a violation of SCSU's Student Code of Conduct:
"Academic dishonesty, including but not limited to: cheating, plagiarism, misrepresentation of student status, and resume, transcript or diploma falsification. Plagiarism includes, but is not limited to, the use by paraphrase or direct quotation, the published or unpublished work of another person without full and clear acknowledgment; unacknowledged use of materials prepared by another person or agency engaged in selling or otherwise providing term papers or other academic materials; and commercialization, sale or distribution of class notes without the instructors’ permission."
Plagiarism can result in a failing grade for the assignment or the class as well as other disciplinary actions.
Multiple scholarly organizations and publications have developed systems for documenting and citing sources. The American Psychological Association (APA) and Modern Language Association (MLA) are two of the most common. Many good online guides are available to help you properly cite sources:
American Psychological Association (APA)
Modern Language Association (MLA)
Multiple scholarly organizations and publications have developed systems for documenting and citing sources. The American Psychological Association (APA) and Modern Language Association (MLA) are two of the most common. Many good online guides are available to help you properly cite sources:
American Psychological Association (APA)
- MLA Citation Style from Long Island University
Color-coded examples of how to document your sources (i.e. books, journal articles, newspaper articles, etc.) in your works cited page. - MLA Documentation from the University of Wisconsin
Provides examples for parenthetical citations and works cited lists in MLA style. - MLA Formatting and Style Guide (2009 Update) (OWL at Purdue)
MLA (Modern Language Association) style is most commonly used to write papers and cite sources within the liberal arts and humanities, including English. This resource offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the Works Cited page.
For additional tools and resouces, consult the library's Citation Styles guide.
chat | email | phone | meet
Library Access from Off Campus
View instructions and get help with troubleshooting.
Student Study Rooms
Reserve student study rooms for group work, available on the second and third floors of the Library.
Equipment Check Out
VIsit the Circulation Desk to borrow digital cameras, camcorders, projectors, and other equipment.
Husky Fetch
Place a hold on the books you want using the Library’s Books and More catalog, and Husky Fetch will fetch them for you.
Write Place
Make an appointment with a writing tutor.
Library Search 
Search the library's physical collection (books, movies, music, government publications, etc.) along with online journals and e-books to which the Library subscribes -- all in a single search.
Academic Search Premier (all topics) from EBSCO
Full-text articles in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
ERIC (EBSCO)
ERIC is the primary database supporting research in all areas of education, including psychology, administration, and library science.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Articles from over 200 newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Provides in-depth coverage of a wide range of current and historical topics. Limit the Source Type to "Scholarly Journals" for peer-reviewed articles.
Search the library's physical collection (books, movies, music, government publications, etc.) along with online journals and e-books to which the Library subscribes -- all in a single search.
Academic Search Premier (all topics) from EBSCO
Full-text articles in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
ERIC (EBSCO)
ERIC is the primary database supporting research in all areas of education, including psychology, administration, and library science.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Articles from over 200 newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Provides in-depth coverage of a wide range of current and historical topics. Limit the Source Type to "Scholarly Journals" for peer-reviewed articles.
Building Maps
- First Floor (Reference Books, Research Help Desk, Circulation Desk, Write Place)
- Second Floor (Books with A-D call numbers, computer lab)
- Third Floor (Books with M-N call numbers, children's books)
- Basement (Books with E-H, L, and P-Z call numbers)
Robin Ewing
Professor, Research Librarian
MC 204F
(320) 308-2093
rlewing@stcloudstate.edu
