University Library at St. Cloud State University

Expanded Access During COVID-19

What Is Expanded Access?
Several publishers and database vendors have made more content temporarily available to users for free during COVID-19.  Most of this expanded content will only be available for use for a limited time (the end of April, the end of May, or in June).  As information about availability changes frequently, we will do our best to keep this guide updated.  Please contact Collection Management Librarian Rachel Wexelbaum for the most up to date information on these resources.
EBooks and Journals
Access Engineering
Engineering ebooks, spreadsheets, videos, and more! 
Trial expires May 31, 2020.  Log in using the following information:
Username: stcloud
Password: Engineering1

Harvard Business Review EBook Collection
TRIAL ACCESS to the Harvard Business Review EBook Collection.  Trial expires June 18, 2020. Log in using the following information:
User Id: stcloud
Password:  *st19Cloud

JSTOR
Unlimited access to archive and all primary source collections.  26 journal archives in Public Health will be made available until June 30th, 2020. 

Project MUSE
Publishers are expanding free unlimited access to their EBooks and journals here.  Click here for the frequently updated list of publishers. 

National Emergency Library
The Internet Archive has curated a collection of ebooks and journals to support remote teaching, research activities, independent scholarship, and intellectual stimulation while educational institutions and libraries are closed.  Waitlists for titles have been suspended through June 30, 2020.
Sign up for access here.  Browse or search for authors or titles here, using the "Search the Collection" box on the left to begin.  Users may check out up to 10 books at a time.  Please direct all questions to info@archive.org

Public Books Database
"...Many academic presses have made hundreds of their titles freely accessible online. The Public Books Database aims to catalog such resources in a single location and to highlight titles of particular interest. We’ll be updating the list regularly as additional materials are made available." (Public Books Database)
Textbooks and Instructional Materials
Free: Individual Account Needed:

RedShelf
  • Visit RedShelf's login page for RedShelf Responds. Students must create an account with their institutional (richmond.edu) email address.
  • Once they confirm their email, they can sign in and search for books by title, ISBN, author through the borrow your text search box.
  • Once you find a title, click on details for the title you want and look for the ADD TO MY SHELF option. That will open a read now option – and also put the book on your “shelf” to return to again.

Vital Source Access

  • Visit Vitalsource’s Bookshelf login page and follow the instructions to create an account. Students must create an account with their institutional (richmond.edu) email address.
  • Once they confirm their email, they can sign in and search for books by title, ISBN, author.
  • When they find the title, just hover over it and click ‘borrow’. Users can borrow up to 7 titles.

Free Temporary Access: Individual Account Needed

Cengage
  • Free Access to Unlimited: Cengage will be providing free access to its entire catalog - all of our online learning platforms and eBooks - through Cengage Unlimited, through end of term, to any student in any class at any US college that has been impacted by COVID-19.
Wiley zyBooks
  • Instructors can search the catalog of STEM ETextbooks, request a free demo and a free ETextbook for their students for the remainder of the Spring 2020 semester.
Apps
Films on Demand App
Access Films on Demand content for free, from your phone!  Before using the app, create your own individual account on a computer through the Films on Demand website.  In the upper right hand corner of the screen, you will see "Your Profile".  Click on "Your Profile" to sign up for your free accont prior to downloading and using the app.  App available for download for iOS and Android. 
Questions?
Contact Rachel Wexelbaum and Tina Gross with requests for instructional or other materials.

Email askref@stcloudstate.edu with any reference / research questions.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Rachel Wexelbaum

Rachel Wexelbaum
Associate Professor, Collection Management Librarian
MC 135D
(320) 308-4756
rswexelbaum@stcloudstate.edu


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University