The following online encyclopedias provide authoritative background information on the cultural groups you are studying.
Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity, and Society
Search for African Americans, Native Americans, Asian Americans, or Muslim Americans.
Encyclopedia of Gender and Society
Search for a variety of women's and LGBT issues.
Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity, and Society
Search for African Americans, Native Americans, Asian Americans, or Muslim Americans.
Encyclopedia of Gender and Society
Search for a variety of women's and LGBT issues.
Select at least two different databases to search for resources on your topic, depending on the subject matter.
Magazine, Trade, and Scholarly Articles:
Ethnic NewsWatch 
Articles from over 200 newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Provides in-depth coverage of a wide range of current and historical topics. Limit the Source Type to "Scholarly Journals" for peer-reviewed articles.
GenderWatch
Articles on topics like sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, eating disorders, day care, and the workplace that support LGBT studies, family studies, gender studies, and women's studies with a unique interdisciplinary approach. Click the check box to limit results to "Peer-reviewed" for scholarly articles.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
The main database for Communication Studies and Mass Communications. Searches over 600 journal titles that support research in communication, mass media, linguistics, language learning and related fields of study.
ERIC (Education) 
ERIC is the primary database supporting research in all areas of education, including psychology, administration, and library science.
Academic Search Premier (all topics)
Full-text articles in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
Google Scholar
Searches academic papers and other scholarly literature. Go to Settings and set SCSU as your "Library link" to get full text available through the library.
Newspapers:
Books:
Books and More Search (MnPALS Plus)
Search for books, ebooks, video, government publications, recordings, music scores, and other materials available through the library.
Magazine, Trade, and Scholarly Articles:
Ethnic NewsWatch
Articles from over 200 newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Provides in-depth coverage of a wide range of current and historical topics. Limit the Source Type to "Scholarly Journals" for peer-reviewed articles.
GenderWatch
Articles on topics like sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, eating disorders, day care, and the workplace that support LGBT studies, family studies, gender studies, and women's studies with a unique interdisciplinary approach. Click the check box to limit results to "Peer-reviewed" for scholarly articles.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
The main database for Communication Studies and Mass Communications. Searches over 600 journal titles that support research in communication, mass media, linguistics, language learning and related fields of study.
ERIC (Education)
ERIC is the primary database supporting research in all areas of education, including psychology, administration, and library science.
Academic Search Premier (all topics)
Full-text articles in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
Google Scholar
Searches academic papers and other scholarly literature. Go to Settings and set SCSU as your "Library link" to get full text available through the library.
Newspapers:
Books:
Books and More Search (MnPALS Plus)
Search for books, ebooks, video, government publications, recordings, music scores, and other materials available through the library.
The Problem With Fake News (and how our students can solve it)
YouTube link: https://youtu.be/xf8mjbVRqao
YouTube link: https://youtu.be/xf8mjbVRqao
Library Access from Off Campus
View instructions and get help with troubleshooting.
Student Study Rooms
Reserve student study rooms for group work, available on the second and third floors of the Library.
Equipment Check Out
VIsit the Circulation Desk to borrow digital cameras, camcorders, projectors, and other equipment.
Write Place
The Write Place offers one-on-one tutoring at any stage in the writing process. Make an online appointment or visit Webster Hall 117 or University Library 135E.
View instructions and get help with troubleshooting.
Student Study Rooms
Reserve student study rooms for group work, available on the second and third floors of the Library.
Equipment Check Out
VIsit the Circulation Desk to borrow digital cameras, camcorders, projectors, and other equipment.
Write Place
The Write Place offers one-on-one tutoring at any stage in the writing process. Make an online appointment or visit Webster Hall 117 or University Library 135E.
Tools for using APA Style:
APA Formatting and Style Guide from OWL at Purdue
Frequently Asked Questions About APA Style
In-text citation information:
An in-text citation allows your reader to track down a specific source you use in your paper. The in-text citation should provide enough information to point your reader to the full citation in your reference list. An in-text citation must be included when you quote or paraphrase information from one of your sources.
In APA Style, an in-text citation typically includes the author's last name and the date of publication, in parenthesis. If you use a direct quote, include the page number for the reference.
In-text examples from OWL at Purdue and APA Style Blog:
After the intervention, children increased in the number of books read per week (Smith & Wexwood, 2010).
Smith and Wexwood (2010) reported that after the intervention, children increased in the number of books read per week.
According to Jones (1998), "Students often had difficulty using APA style, especially when it was their first time" (p. 199).
Johnson argued that...(as cited in Smith, 2003, p. 102).
APA Formatting and Style Guide from OWL at Purdue
Frequently Asked Questions About APA Style
____________________________
In-text citation information:
An in-text citation allows your reader to track down a specific source you use in your paper. The in-text citation should provide enough information to point your reader to the full citation in your reference list. An in-text citation must be included when you quote or paraphrase information from one of your sources.
In APA Style, an in-text citation typically includes the author's last name and the date of publication, in parenthesis. If you use a direct quote, include the page number for the reference.
In-text examples from OWL at Purdue and APA Style Blog:
After the intervention, children increased in the number of books read per week (Smith & Wexwood, 2010).
Smith and Wexwood (2010) reported that after the intervention, children increased in the number of books read per week.
According to Jones (1998), "Students often had difficulty using APA style, especially when it was their first time" (p. 199).
Johnson argued that...(as cited in Smith, 2003, p. 102).
From Idea to Library
Video tutorial on how scholarly articles are written, published, and made accessible to researchers and students. From the NCSU Libraries.
Scholarly vs. Popular Materials Guide (NCSU)
Guide to distinguishing between scholarly journals, popular magazines, and trade journals/magazines.
Anatomy of a Scholarly Article
An interactive guide that describes the features of a scholarly research article (NCSU Libraries).
Popular vs. Scholarly tutorial
A guide, tutorial, and quiz that helps you determine if an article is scholarly or popular (University of Arizona).
Compare and contrast the following articles. What makes one popular and the other scholarly?
- Morrissey, M. E., & Sims, C. L. (2015). Playing the race card: Antiracial bordering and rhetorical practices of new racism. Review Of Communication, 15(2), 81-101. doi:10.1080/15358593.2015.1009851
- Morrissey, M. E., & Sims, C. L. (2015). The writing on the wall: (New) racism in U.S. public conversations about race. Communication Currents 10(6). Retrieved from https://www.natcom.org/communication-currents/writing-wall-new-racism-us-public-conversations-about-race
Melissa Prescott
Professor, Diversity and Inclusion Librarian
MC 204E
(320) 308-4751
mkprescott@stcloudstate.edu
