University Library at St. Cloud State University

Children's and Young Adult Literature

Children's & Young Adult Literature
University Library has a Children’s and Young Adult Literature collection of more than 20,000 books located on the first floor of the Miller Center.
 
Books in this collection are arranged by Library of Congress classification numbers, just like the rest of the University Library. Most picture books, chapter books, and novels are located in the PZ7 section. It's often easiest to find the PZ7 section and then look alphabetically by the author's last name.
 
Children’s and Young Adult Literature collection are displayed in the search results along with the other books in the library. You can limit your search results to this collection by selecting Juvenile from the list of collections on the left-hand side of the results page.
Article Databases
Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Full-text articles in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.

Educator's Reference Complete Restricted Resource Some full text availableelm database
This database complements ERIC by providing fulltext to about 1100 journals indexed in ERIC, as well as about a dozen standard reference titles related to Education--such as the encyclopedias of Education, Educational Leadership and Administration, Sociology, and Psychology. Covers all levels and areas of Education.

ERIC (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
ERIC is the primary database supporting research in all areas of education, including psychology, administration, and library science.

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts,(LISTA) indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Limited fulltext is available.
Note: 1966 - present

Teacher Reference Center Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
Provides indexing and abstracts for over 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals to assist professional educators.
 
Children's Literature Journals
You will need to use your StarID and password to access most of these journals.

Bookbird

Peer-reviewed articles on children's literature with an international perspective.
 
The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
Provides concise summaries and critical evaluations of current children's books.
 
Children and Libraries
Peer-reviewed articles focused on scholarly research and practice in library service to children.
 
Children's Literature Association Quarterly
Peer-reviewed articles about research and scholarship in children's literature and book reviews.
 
Horn Book
Articles, book reviews, and editorials about children’s and young adult literature.
 
The Journal of Research on Libraries and Young Adults
An open-access, peer-reviewed online research journal published by YALSA.
 
The Lion and the Unicorn
Peer-reviewed articles that examine children’s literature within the wider concepts of children’s and adolescent culture.
 
School Library Journal
Book reviews as well as articles and news coverage on literacy, best practices, technology, education policy and other issues of interest to educators working with children and teens.
 
VOYA (Voice of Youth Advocates)
Book reviews as well as articles and news coverage on young adult advocacy and literature
Children's Book Awards
Alex Awards 
Given to ten books written for adults that have special appeal to young adults, ages 12 through 18. Awarded annually by the Young Adult Library Services Association, a division of the American Library Association.
 
American Indian Youth Literature Award 
Awarded biennially by the American Indian Library Association (AILA) to honor the very best writing and illustrations by and about American Indians.
 
Batchelder Award 
Given to a children’s book originally published in a language other than English in a country other than the United States, and subsequently translated into English for publication in the US. Awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association. Honors Mildred Batchelder, a former children's librarian at St. Cloud State Teachers College.
 
Caldecott Medal & Honor Books 
Given to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children. Awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association.
 
Children's Literature Legacy Award 
Honors an author or illustrator whose books, published in the United States, have made a substantial and lasting contribution to literature for children. Awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association. Formerly known as the Laura Ingalls Wilder Award.
 
Coretta Scott King Award Books 
Given annually to outstanding African American authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults that demonstrate an appreciation of African American culture and universal human values. Awarded by the American Library Association.
 
Geisel Award 
Given to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished American book for beginning readers published in English in the United States. Named for children’s author Theodor Geisel a.k.a. Dr. Seuss. Awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association.
 
Michael L. Printz Award 
Given to a book that exemplifies literary excellence in young adult literature. Awarded annually by the Young Adult Library Services Association, a division of the American Library Association.
 
Morris Award 
Honors a debut book published by a first-time author writing for teens. Awarded annually by the Young Adult Library Services Association, a division of the American Library Association.
 
MYRA (Minnesota Youth Reading Awards) 
Annually gives the Maud Hart Lovelace and Star of the North awards. Minnesota children choose the winners.
 
Newbery Medal and Honor Books 
Given to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children. Awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association.
 
Orbis PIctus Award 
Recognizes excellence in the writing of nonfiction for children. Awarded annually by the National Council of Teachers of English.
 
Odyssey Award   
Given to the producer of the best audiobook produced for children and/or young adults, available in English in the United States. Awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association.
 
Pura Belpre Award 
Given to a Latino/Latina writer and illustrator whose work best portrays, affirms, and celebrates the Latino cultural experience in an outstanding work of literature for children and youth. Awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association.
 
Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Medal 
Given to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished informational book published in the United States in English. Awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association.
 
Schneider Family Book Award 
Honors an author or illustrator for a book that embodies an artistic expression of the disability experience for child and adolescent audiences. Awarded annually by the American Library Association.
 
Stonewall Mike Morgan & Larry Romans Children’s & Young Adult Literature Award 
Given to English-language works of exceptional merit for children or teens relating to the gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender experience. Awarded annually by the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Round Table of the American Library Association.

Database of Award-Winning Children's Literature 
Free searchable database of over 125 awards from 6 English-speaking countries.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Robin Ewing

Robin Ewing
Professor, Research Librarian
MC 130B
(320) 308-2093
rlewing@stcloudstate.edu

Book Lists
1000 Black Girl Books Resource Guide
This resource guide was created from the #1000blackgirlbooks campaign led by Marley Dias.
 
Amelia Bloomer Project 
Identifies recommend feminist literature for birth through 18. Presented by the Feminist Task Force of the Social Responsibilities Round Table of the American Library Association.
 
Best Fiction for Young Adults 
Presented annually by the Young Adult Library Services Association, a division of the American Library Association.
 
Best Books from American Indians in Children's Literature 
American Indians in Children's Literature (AICL) provides critical perspectives and analysis of indigenous peoples in children's and young adult books, the school curriculum, popular culture, and society.
 
Children's Notable Lists 
Each year the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) identifies the best of the best in children's books, recordings, and videos.
 
Diverse BookFinder 
Collection of more than 2,000 children's picture books featuring people of color and Indigenous people (IPOC)
 
Outstanding International Books Lists 
An honor list of international books for young people from the United States Board on Books for Young People (USBBY).
 
Rainbow List 
An annual bibliography of quality books with significant and authentic GLBTQ content, which are recommended for people from birth through eighteen years of age. Created by the Rainbow Book List Committee of the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Round Table of the American Library Association.
 
Teen Book Finder Database 
One-stop shop for finding selected lists and award winners. Developed by the Young Adult Library Services Association, a division of the American Library Association.
Websites
Curriculum Resource Center: Coretta Scott King Book Award 
Teaching resources for incorporating Coretta Scott King Books into the curriculum.
 
Hints on How to Read Aloud to a Group 
Tips from Reading Rockets on how to make the most your read aloud time.

Storyline Online 
The Screen Actors Guild Foundation records well-known actors reading children’s books and makes graphically dynamic videos so that children around the world can be read to with just the click of a Storyline Online video book image.
 
We Need Diverse Books 
A grassroots organization of children’s book lovers that advocates essential changes in the publishing industry to produce and promote literature that reflects and honors the lives of all young people.


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University