Academic Search Premier (all topics) from EBSCO 
Full-text articles in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
ERIC (EBSCO)
ERIC is the primary database supporting research in all areas of education, including psychology, administration, and library science.
PsycINFO
PsycINFO is the premier source for finding scholarly articles and other information relating to all aspects of psychology and related fields.
Professional Collection (Education)
The Professional Collection is a selection of more than 300 full-text journals for educators. It offers balanced coverage for any professional educator in the following areas: arts and humanities; child and adolescent psychology and development; drug and alcohol abuse; health/nutrition/fitness; learning disabilities; literature; school law; science and technology; social sciences; and sports/athletic training
Full-text articles in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
ERIC (EBSCO)
ERIC is the primary database supporting research in all areas of education, including psychology, administration, and library science.
PsycINFO
PsycINFO is the premier source for finding scholarly articles and other information relating to all aspects of psychology and related fields.
Professional Collection (Education)
The Professional Collection is a selection of more than 300 full-text journals for educators. It offers balanced coverage for any professional educator in the following areas: arts and humanities; child and adolescent psychology and development; drug and alcohol abuse; health/nutrition/fitness; learning disabilities; literature; school law; science and technology; social sciences; and sports/athletic training
Online sources
Cambridge Encyclopedia of Child Development 
An authoritative, accessible and up-to-date account of all aspects of child development. Search by topic or use Contents or Headings to locate information. Part of Credo Reference.
Credo Reference
Provides online access to over 500 reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) in all subject areas. This is the premier place to look up a quick fact or to search for background information on a research topic.
SAGE Reference Online
Provides access to 90 full-text specialized encyclopedias that offer excellent background information on a topic.
Available in the Reference Collection on 1st West
Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood: In History and Society
REF HQ767.84 .E53 2004 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
3 vol. Focusing on critical insights into the human past and contemporary social experience of children and childhood, article topics range from Abandonment to Zoos. Most articles are signed and include bibliographies for further reading.
Gale Encyclopedia of Childhood & Adolescence
REF HQ772 .G27 1998 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Brief but comprehensive articles on topics related to human development from birth through adolescence. Many entries were written by leading experts in child development. Most entries offer suggestions for further study.
Encyclopedia of Early Childhood Education
REF LB1139.25 .E53 1992 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Offers articles on historical, political, economic, sociocultural, intellectual, and educational influences on early childhood education
Family in America: An Encyclopedia
REF HQ536 .H365 2001 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Parenthood in America: An Encyclopedia
REF HQ755.8 .P3783 2000 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
A-Z entries on wide variety of topics related to parenthood. Many articles are signed and suggest sources for further reading. Companion volumes include Adolescence in America (REF HQ796 .A33247), Boyhood in America (REF HQ775 .B635), Girlhood in America (REF HQ777 .G5745), The Family in America (REF HQ536 .H365) and Infancy in America (REF HQ 774 .I528)
World Education Encyclopedia
REF LB15 .W87 2002 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
3 vol. Comparative, in-depth articles on education system of 233 countries. Includes history and background, legal issues, overview of educational system, pre-primary through higher education, non-formal education, and teaching profession. Most articles include a bibliography. Index and statistical appendices are included in vol. 3.
Cambridge Encyclopedia of Child Development
An authoritative, accessible and up-to-date account of all aspects of child development. Search by topic or use Contents or Headings to locate information. Part of Credo Reference.
Credo Reference
Provides online access to over 500 reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) in all subject areas. This is the premier place to look up a quick fact or to search for background information on a research topic.
SAGE Reference Online
Provides access to 90 full-text specialized encyclopedias that offer excellent background information on a topic.
Available in the Reference Collection on 1st West
Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood: In History and Society
REF HQ767.84 .E53 2004
Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability 3 vol. Focusing on critical insights into the human past and contemporary social experience of children and childhood, article topics range from Abandonment to Zoos. Most articles are signed and include bibliographies for further reading.
Gale Encyclopedia of Childhood & Adolescence
REF HQ772 .G27 1998
Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability Brief but comprehensive articles on topics related to human development from birth through adolescence. Many entries were written by leading experts in child development. Most entries offer suggestions for further study.
Encyclopedia of Early Childhood Education
REF LB1139.25 .E53 1992
Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability Offers articles on historical, political, economic, sociocultural, intellectual, and educational influences on early childhood education
Family in America: An Encyclopedia
REF HQ536 .H365 2001
Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability Parenthood in America: An Encyclopedia
REF HQ755.8 .P3783 2000
Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability A-Z entries on wide variety of topics related to parenthood. Many articles are signed and suggest sources for further reading. Companion volumes include Adolescence in America (REF HQ796 .A33247), Boyhood in America (REF HQ775 .B635), Girlhood in America (REF HQ777 .G5745), The Family in America (REF HQ536 .H365) and Infancy in America (REF HQ 774 .I528)
World Education Encyclopedia
REF LB15 .W87 2002
Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability 3 vol. Comparative, in-depth articles on education system of 233 countries. Includes history and background, legal issues, overview of educational system, pre-primary through higher education, non-formal education, and teaching profession. Most articles include a bibliography. Index and statistical appendices are included in vol. 3.
After you receive your degree, you can still access scholarly journal articles through ELM (Electronic Library of Minnesota). You will need a barcode or identification number from your public library to sign into these databases.
ELM: Electronic Library for Minnesota
ELM (eLibraryMN) gives Minnesota residents online access to magazine, journal, newspaper and encyclopedia articles; media including images, videos, audio files; and other information resources via a selection of databases.
On the ELM homepage, click Minnesota Community. Click Databases for You, then A to Z, then use Choose a Database pulldown menu to select Academic Search Premier. Use the Advanced Search to locate journal articles.
You will then have access to any full-text articles on the database. You may be able to work with your public library to get copies of articles not available through ELM.
ELM: Electronic Library for Minnesota
ELM (eLibraryMN) gives Minnesota residents online access to magazine, journal, newspaper and encyclopedia articles; media including images, videos, audio files; and other information resources via a selection of databases.
On the ELM homepage, click Minnesota Community. Click Databases for You, then A to Z, then use Choose a Database pulldown menu to select Academic Search Premier. Use the Advanced Search to locate journal articles.
You will then have access to any full-text articles on the database. You may be able to work with your public library to get copies of articles not available through ELM.
Click red box above to access help through:
- email (answered usually within an hour during regular Reference Desk hours)
- chat (available 24 / 7)
- phone numbers for SCSU Reference Desk
- online form to set up a one-on-one (in person or via telephone) research consultation with a librarian
LB1139.23 .F56 2012
Government resources:
USA.gov
The U.S. government's official web portal to all federal, state, and local government web resources and services.
Child Welfare Information Gateway
Provides access to information and resources to help protect children and strengthen families. The Library search includes links to over 22,300 bibliographic citations and abstracts. Includes links to full text of 70+ NCCAN publications, including "user manuals" and information on state statutes.
U.S. Department of Education
The Department of Education website includes valuable information on all levels of education, including statistical and financial information sources. The site provides a useful search engine.
NNCC - National Network for Child Care
This website is hosted by Iowa State University Extension. The Information Station section provides links to a wide variety of recent information and research on child development.
Early Childhood Family Education
Statistics:
USA.gov
The U.S. government's official web portal to all federal, state, and local government web resources and services.
Child Welfare Information Gateway
Provides access to information and resources to help protect children and strengthen families. The Library search includes links to over 22,300 bibliographic citations and abstracts. Includes links to full text of 70+ NCCAN publications, including "user manuals" and information on state statutes.
U.S. Department of Education
The Department of Education website includes valuable information on all levels of education, including statistical and financial information sources. The site provides a useful search engine.
NNCC - National Network for Child Care
This website is hosted by Iowa State University Extension. The Information Station section provides links to a wide variety of recent information and research on child development.
Early Childhood Family Education
Statistics:
