University Library at St. Cloud State University

College Counseling & Student Development

Keep Current
Chronicle of Higher Education Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
The Chronicle of Higher Education is the premier source of news and statistics about higher education. In addition to an online weekly newspaper, the Chronicle provides valuable in-depth articles on aspects of higher education and is a source of useful statistics on faculty and administrative compensation, admissions, graduation rates, tuition and fees, gender equity, etc. 1998 to present.

Diverse Issues in Higher Education
News, information, and commentary on all issues of diversity in higher education in the United States.

Inside Higher Ed Unrestricted Resource
"Inside Higher Ed is the online source for news, opinion and jobs for all of higher education." You can subscribe to free newsletters including the daily update.  
Find Articles
Start here:
ERIC (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
ERIC is the primary database supporting research in all areas of education, including psychology, administration, and library science.


Other databases:
Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Full-text articles in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
Google Scholar Restricted Resource database
Searches academic papers and other scholarly literature. Go to Settings and set SCSU as your "Library link" to get full text available through the library.
PsycINFO Restricted Resource findit database
PsycINFO is the premier source for finding scholarly articles and other information relating to all aspects of psychology and related fields.
SAGE Journals Online Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Full text of over 500 journals in business, humanities, social sciences, and science, technology and medicine.
Social Services Abstracts Restricted Resource findit database
The premier source for finding scholarly articles and other informaiton focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,300  journals as well as dissertations, and citations to book reviews.
Empirical and Review Articles
An empirical article is a research article that reports the results of a study that uses data derived from actual observation or experimentation.

Format of Article:
  • Abstract – summary of the study
  • Introduction – literature review
  • Methods – methodology used
  • Results – data results/analysis
  • Discussion – significance of study
  • References – works used/cited
For empirical articles in ERIC, select Reports -- Research as the Publication Type.
ERIC and PsycINFO databases have limiter tools to narrow results by methodology type (empirical). Few databases have this limiter tool. However, you can use keywords to locate empirical research articles by using the following terms: empirical, methods, methodology, research design, survey, data, results.
Find Books and Dissertations

Search for Books in the Library

WorldCat Restricted Resource database
Search for materials beyond SCSU, from thousands of libraries and institutions around the world. Click on the FindIt! button and sign in to and request items through Interlibrary Loan.

Dissertation Abstracts - PQDT Open Unrestricted Resource findit database
Selective index to open access masters theses and dissertations from U.S., Canada, Great Britain, and Europe. Note: This is an open access subset of Dissertation Abstracts International (DAI).

Dissertations and Theses Restricted Resource elm database
Catalog of all dissertations and thesis cataloged by member libraries in OCLC WorldCat.

Library Access for Distance Students
Guidance for distance students on how to request library materials.

Professional Organizations
American College Personnel Association
“Founded to enhance the student affairs profession and to generate and disseminate knowledge of college students at all levels within higher education"

Association for the Study of Higher Education
Scholarly society focused on higher education as a field of study.

NASPA, Student Affairs Administrators in Higher Education
Association for student affairs professionals working in higher education.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Robin Ewing

Robin Ewing
Professor, Research Librarian
MC 130B
(320) 308-2093
rlewing@stcloudstate.edu

Ask a Librarian

Click to access email (answered usually within an hour during regular Reference Desk hours), chat (available 24 / 7), phone numbers for SCSU Reference Desk, and online form to set up a one-on-one research consultation with a librarian.

As you work on your culminating project, schedule a meeting with me for in-depth guidance on finding the best resources for your topic. I can meet in-person, by phone, and via Skype/Zoom/Google Hangout.
Write Place
Write Place
The Write Place offers one-on-one tutoring at any stage in the writing process. Make an online appointment or visit Webster Hall 117 or University Library 135E. 
The Write Place also consults online by appointment during office hours. Click Make an Appointment and after the login, click Online Appointment box to schedule.
Finding Scholarly Articles on the Job
After you graduate from SCSU, you can still access scholarly journal articles through ELM (eLibraryMN). You may need a barcode or identification number from your local public library to sign into these databases.

ELM: Electronic Library for Minnesota Unrestricted Resource elm database
ELM (eLibraryMN) gives Minnesota residents online access to magazine, journal, newspaper and encyclopedia articles; media including images, videos, audio files; and other information resources via a selection of databases.

On the eLibraryMN homepage, click  All Databases. Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier, and several other databases are available for you to search.

If you find an article that isn't available in full text, you may be able to order it through interlibrary loan at your public library.


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University