University Library at St. Cloud State University

Library Resources for Art Research

 
Frankenthaler, Helen. Chairman of the Board. 1971. The Museum of Modern Art, New York. ARTstor. Web. 4 June 2014.
Explore your topic
Search for background and overview information on your topic. Search includes Grove Art Online, the foremost scholarly art encyclopedia:

Oxford Art Online Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
More than 41,000 scholarly articles covering all aspects of the visual arts from prehistory to the 1990s. Includes numerous links to other Web resources including images.
Find images
Bridgeman Art Library Archive Restricted Resource Resource contains imageseref
The Bridgeman Art Library Archives is an outstanding archive of images drawn from collections throughout the world. It includes paintings, drawings, statues, ceramics, historical maps, etc. Available here from our Credo subscription.                    
The Getty Open Content Program Unrestricted Resource
The Getty Museum makes available, without charge, all available digital images of art to which the Getty holds the rights or that are in the public domain to be used for any purpose. No permission is required. All of the images can be found on Getty Search Gateway, and the J. Paul Getty Museum images can also be accessed on the Museum's Collection webpages.

LACMA Collections Online: Gives access to The Los Angeles County Museum of Art's (LACMA) encyclopedic collection. Visitors can download nearly 20,000 high-quality images of public domain artworks from LACMA’s permanent collection without restriction on use.

The Met Collection: Open Access Artworks: More than 406,000 hi-res images of public-domain works from the collection that can be downloaded, shared, and remixed without restriction from The Metropolitan Museum of Art

The National Gallery of Art: NGA Images: More than 51,000 open access digital images up to 4000 pixels each are available free of charge for download and use.
Find scholarly journal articles
Art Full Text Restricted Resource findit database
A comprehensive resource for art information featuring full-text articles from more than 300 art periodicals plus high-quality indexing of over 600 periodicals and art dissertations.

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Provides access to scholarly journals in anthropology, ecology, economics, education, general science, history, literature, mathematics, political science, philosophy, and more. Some journals have "moving wall" access that does not include the most recent 2-5 years.

Project Muse Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Full-text access to more than 150 scholarly journals and eBooks in all disciplines published by Johns Hopkins University and several other university presses.

Academic Search Premier (all topics) from EBSCO Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Full-text articles in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
Search for Books
Find Books, Videos, etc. ....
LibSearch Unrestricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Search the library's physical collection (books, movies, music, government publications, etc.) along with online journals and e-books to which the Library subscribes -- all in a single search.
 
  • For books about an artist (or art work or period), try a keyword search:
    Example: Keyword: dali and paint*
     
  • For books with criticism of an artist (or art work or art period), try a subject search:
    Example: Subject Keyword: lautrec and criticism
    Example: Subject Keyword: lautrec and interpretation
     
  • For books about an artist's life, try a keyword search:
    Example: Keyword: Stieglitz and biography
     
  • For books written by an artist (letters, autobiography, notebook, diary, or books with many illustrations by an artist, etc.), try an author search:
    Example: Author (last name first): picasso, pablo paul
    Example: Author (last name first): matisse

Films on Demand: Art & Architecture Restricted Resource Resource contains videodatabase
Streaming video on topics in applied art, art history, photography, and more.
Cite Your Sources
Citation Styles
Choose a citation style (APA, MLA, Chicago/Turabian ...) and follow the guidelines for formatting your paper and references.
Need help with you research?
Subject Specialist
Picture: Jennifer Quinlan

Jennifer Quinlan
Associate Professor, Research Librarian
MC 140G
(320) 308-5626
jmquinlan@stcloudstate.edu

New York Times Art & Design News

Loading ...

Useful books to consider:
  A Short Guide to Writing About Art.
by Sylvan Barnet
Miller Center Main Collection,
3rd floor,
Call Number: N7476 .B37 2015
More information here.

 
Writing About Art
by Henry M. Sayre
Miller Center Main Collection,
3rd floor,
Call number: N7476 .S29 2009
More information here.
Art books in the Miller Center
Miller Center 3rd Floor:

map
 
Most art books are on the 3rd floor of the Miller Center Library.

Art book call numbers start with:
N = visual arts
NA = architecture
NB = sculpture
NC = drawing, design, illustration
ND = painting
NE = print media
NK = decorative arts
NX = arts in general

Oversized art books are located on the far west end of the Ns near the NXs.
 
Miller Center west Basement:

 

Photography books are in the west basement of the Miller Center Library. Photography book call numbers start with:

TR1-1050 Photography
TR250-265 Cameras
TR287-500 Photographic processing. Darkroom technique
TR504-508 Transparencies. Diapositives
TR510-545 Color photography
TR550-581 Studio and laboratory
TR590-620 Lighting
TR624-835 Applied photography (artistic, commercial, medical photography, photocopying processes)
TR845-899 Cinematography. Motion pictures
TR925-1050 Photomechanical processes


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University