.png)
General Science Collection 
Index with full text for more than 200 journals in biology, mathematics, physics, geology, and basic checmistry. Designed primarily for use in introductory courses.
Meteorological and Geoastrophysical Abstracts 
Comprehensive index with abstracts to literature on meteorology, climatology, atmospheric chemistry and physics, astrophysics, hydrology, glaciology, physical oceanography and environmental sciences. Indexes over 600 journal titles in several languages.
Note: 1974 - present
ScienceDirect
Search over 1,200 scholarly journals published by Elsevier. ScienceDirect is multisubject, but specializes in science. Note: We do not have full text access to all journals. 1993 to present for Academic Press journals; 1996 to present for Elsevier journals
Index with full text for more than 200 journals in biology, mathematics, physics, geology, and basic checmistry. Designed primarily for use in introductory courses.
Meteorological and Geoastrophysical Abstracts
Comprehensive index with abstracts to literature on meteorology, climatology, atmospheric chemistry and physics, astrophysics, hydrology, glaciology, physical oceanography and environmental sciences. Indexes over 600 journal titles in several languages.
Note: 1974 - present
ScienceDirect
Search over 1,200 scholarly journals published by Elsevier. ScienceDirect is multisubject, but specializes in science. Note: We do not have full text access to all journals. 1993 to present for Academic Press journals; 1996 to present for Elsevier journals
Academic Press Dictionary of Science and Technology
Contains complete, up-to-date definitions for all areas of science and technology. The Dictionary is designed for use by practising scientists and professionals in all scientific fields - consultants and technical personnel; high school, college, and graduate students; writers, researchers, or educators working with a scientific vocabulary; and general readers interested in science.
Glossary of Meteorology
Authoritative source for definitions of more than 12,000 meteorological terms.
Atlas of the Universe
A comprehensive guide to astronomy and space exploration
Credo Reference
Provides online access to over 500 reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) in all subject areas. This is the premier place to look up a quick fact or to search for background information on a research topic.
Encyclopedia of Earth
A free encyclopedia, authored by a diverse group of scientists, experts, and educators, about the Earth, its natural environments, and their interactions with society. The scope includes the hydrosphere, lithosphere, atmosphere, magnetosphere, cryosphere, and biosphere, and their interactions, especially in regards to how these systems support life and underpin human existence.
Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change
The Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change helps readers learn about the astonishingly intricate processes that make ours the only planet known to be habitable. These three volumes include more than 750 articles that explore major topics related to global warming and climate change—ranging geographically from the North Pole to the South Pole, and thematically from social effects to scientific causes.
21st Century Geography: A Reference Handbook
Highlights the most important topics, issues, questions, and debates any student obtaining a degree in this field ought to have mastered for effectiveness in the 21st century. The purpose is to provide undergraduate majors with an authoritative reference source that will serve their research needs with more detailed information than encyclopedia entries but not so much jargon, detail, or density as a journal article or a research handbook chapter.
SAGE Reference Online
Provides access to 90 full-text specialized encyclopedias that offer excellent background information on a topic.
Science Reference Center
Full-text reference resource compiled from nearly 640 specialized encyclopedias, reference books, and periodicals. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, earth sciences, environmental sciences, physics, medicine, science & society, and technology.
Sanborn Digital Maps 1867-1970
Historic large scale maps (50 feet to the inch) of cities and towns in Minnesota; maps include buildings and streets with original names. Most maps for Minnesota cities available from about 1880.
Climate TimeLine Information Tool
Allows users to examine climate change and variability at different time scales.
Climatic Extremes (NCDC)
Find information about weather and climate extremes.
Earth Observing System
Part of NASA, the Earth Observing System coordinates satellite observation "for long-term global observation of the land surface, biosphere, solid Earth, atmosphere, and oceans."
Global Hydrology & Climate Center
Research center working to "understand and predict the Earth's global water cycle, its connections to climate variability and weather."
National Climatic Data Center
The National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) host the NCDC (National Climatic Data Center). NOAA’s National Climatic Data Center (NCDC) maintains the world's largest climate data archive and provides climatological services and data to every sector of the United States economy and to users worldwide. Records in the archive range from paleoclimatic data to centuries-old journals to data less than an hour old. The Center's mission is to preserve these data and make them available to the public, business, industry, government, and researchers. (from NOAA website
National Snow and Ice Data Center
NSIDC supports research into the world's frozen realms: the snow, ice, glacier, frozen ground, and climate interactions that make up Earth's cryosphere. They manage and distribute scientific data, create tools for data access, support data users, perform scientific research, and educate the public about the cryosphere.
National Weather Service Central Region Headquarters
Find weather warnings, radar and satellite observations, forecast and models and more.
Earthquake Hazards Program (USGS)
Maps and statistics on earthquakes, information on reducing earthquake hazards, seismographic studies, and more.
Minnesota Department of Natural Resources
Links to Minnesota natural resources ranging from legislation to state park information.
Minnesota Geological Survey
"The Minnesota Geological Survey is a research and service arm of the Newton Horace Winchell School of Earth Sciences at the University of Minnesota. It investigates the geology of Minnesota and provides basic public information on the geology of the state. "
National Geophysical Data Center
From NOAA, web site for geophysical data such as hazards, marine geology, earth observations from space, and much more.
National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency
Provides imagery and geospatial intelligence in support of national security.
Science.gov (FirstGov for Science)
A gateway to authoritative, selected science information provided by U.S Government agencies, including research and development results.
U.S. Geologic Survey
The USGS serves the Nation as an independent fact-finding agency that collects, monitors, analyzes, and provides scientific understanding about natural resource conditions, issues, and problems. Wisconsin Geological and Natural History Survey
"The Survey conducts earth-science surveys, field studies, and research. We provide objective scientific information about the geology, mineral resources, water resources, soil, and biology of Wisconsin. We collect, interpret, disseminate, and archive natural resource information. We communicate the results of our activities through publications, technical talks, and responses to inquiries from the public. These activities support informed decision making by government, industry, business, and individual citizens of Wisconsin."
Allows users to examine climate change and variability at different time scales.
Climatic Extremes (NCDC)
Find information about weather and climate extremes.
Earth Observing System
Part of NASA, the Earth Observing System coordinates satellite observation "for long-term global observation of the land surface, biosphere, solid Earth, atmosphere, and oceans."
Global Hydrology & Climate Center
Research center working to "understand and predict the Earth's global water cycle, its connections to climate variability and weather."
National Climatic Data Center
The National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) host the NCDC (National Climatic Data Center). NOAA’s National Climatic Data Center (NCDC) maintains the world's largest climate data archive and provides climatological services and data to every sector of the United States economy and to users worldwide. Records in the archive range from paleoclimatic data to centuries-old journals to data less than an hour old. The Center's mission is to preserve these data and make them available to the public, business, industry, government, and researchers. (from NOAA website
National Snow and Ice Data Center
NSIDC supports research into the world's frozen realms: the snow, ice, glacier, frozen ground, and climate interactions that make up Earth's cryosphere. They manage and distribute scientific data, create tools for data access, support data users, perform scientific research, and educate the public about the cryosphere.
National Weather Service Central Region Headquarters
Find weather warnings, radar and satellite observations, forecast and models and more.
Earthquake Hazards Program (USGS)
Maps and statistics on earthquakes, information on reducing earthquake hazards, seismographic studies, and more.
Minnesota Department of Natural Resources
Links to Minnesota natural resources ranging from legislation to state park information.
Minnesota Geological Survey
"The Minnesota Geological Survey is a research and service arm of the Newton Horace Winchell School of Earth Sciences at the University of Minnesota. It investigates the geology of Minnesota and provides basic public information on the geology of the state. "
National Geophysical Data Center
From NOAA, web site for geophysical data such as hazards, marine geology, earth observations from space, and much more.
National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency
Provides imagery and geospatial intelligence in support of national security.
Science.gov (FirstGov for Science)
A gateway to authoritative, selected science information provided by U.S Government agencies, including research and development results.
U.S. Geologic Survey
The USGS serves the Nation as an independent fact-finding agency that collects, monitors, analyzes, and provides scientific understanding about natural resource conditions, issues, and problems. Wisconsin Geological and Natural History Survey
"The Survey conducts earth-science surveys, field studies, and research. We provide objective scientific information about the geology, mineral resources, water resources, soil, and biology of Wisconsin. We collect, interpret, disseminate, and archive natural resource information. We communicate the results of our activities through publications, technical talks, and responses to inquiries from the public. These activities support informed decision making by government, industry, business, and individual citizens of Wisconsin."
American Meterorological Society
"The American Meterological Society promotes the development and dissemination of information and education on the atmospheric and related oceanic and hydrolic sciences and the advancement of their professional applications."
Atmospheric Optics
Learn about optical phenomena.
Climatological Database for the World's Oceans
Find data from 1750-1850 from historic naval logbooks.
Meteorology Online Guide
Instructional modules using multimedia technology including light and optics, clouds, winds, weather forecasting, storms and more.
Minnesota Climatology
Data available in several categories: Climate Monitor, Historical Data; Weather Summaries and Publications; Agricultural Climate Information; and other climate data resources (lightning strikes; sunrise & sunset times; and daily, weekly, and annual stream flow maps).
NOAA/NWS Storm Prediction Center
"Provide weather, water, and climate data, forecasts and warnings for the protection of life and property and enhancement of the national economy."
American Institute of Hydrology
"The American Institute of Hydrology (AIH) was founded in 1981 to promote hydrology as a science and a profession and to help protect public interest and the profession from non-professional practices."
Association of American State Geologists
"The Association of American State Geologists (AASG) represents the State Geologists of the 50 United States and Puerto Rico. Founded in 1908, AASG seeks to advance the science and practical application of geology and related earth sciences in the UNited States and its territories, commonwealths, and possessions."
Geosource
Directory of Web links to sources of information on geography, geology, and environmental science. Maintained by a librarian at Utrecht University in the Netherlands.
Volcano World
Website from the University of North Dakota with link to current eruptions, interviews, volcano listings by name, descriptions, country and more.
"The American Meterological Society promotes the development and dissemination of information and education on the atmospheric and related oceanic and hydrolic sciences and the advancement of their professional applications."
Atmospheric Optics
Learn about optical phenomena.
Climatological Database for the World's Oceans
Find data from 1750-1850 from historic naval logbooks.
Meteorology Online Guide
Instructional modules using multimedia technology including light and optics, clouds, winds, weather forecasting, storms and more.
Minnesota Climatology
Data available in several categories: Climate Monitor, Historical Data; Weather Summaries and Publications; Agricultural Climate Information; and other climate data resources (lightning strikes; sunrise & sunset times; and daily, weekly, and annual stream flow maps).
NOAA/NWS Storm Prediction Center
"Provide weather, water, and climate data, forecasts and warnings for the protection of life and property and enhancement of the national economy."
American Institute of Hydrology
"The American Institute of Hydrology (AIH) was founded in 1981 to promote hydrology as a science and a profession and to help protect public interest and the profession from non-professional practices."
Association of American State Geologists
"The Association of American State Geologists (AASG) represents the State Geologists of the 50 United States and Puerto Rico. Founded in 1908, AASG seeks to advance the science and practical application of geology and related earth sciences in the UNited States and its territories, commonwealths, and possessions."
Geosource
Directory of Web links to sources of information on geography, geology, and environmental science. Maintained by a librarian at Utrecht University in the Netherlands.
Volcano World
Website from the University of North Dakota with link to current eruptions, interviews, volcano listings by name, descriptions, country and more.
Susan Hubbs
Professor, Research Librarian
MC 130C
(320) 308-4996
shubbs@stcloudstate.edu
Films on Demand 
Search for online educational videos from multiple disciplines and subject areas.
Mineralogy Database
"This mineral database contains 4,300+ individual mineral species descriptions with links and a comprehensive image library."
USGS: Landsat Missions - Image Gallery
"Landsat represents the world's longest continuously acquired collection of space-based moderate-resolution land remote sensing data. Nearly four decades of imagery provides a unique resource for those who work in agriculture, geology, forestry, regional planning, education, mapping, and global change research. Landsat images are also invaluable for emergency response and disaster relief."
NASA Scientific Visualization Studio
"... the SVS works closely with scientists in the creation of visualization products, systems, and processes in order to promote a greater understanding of Earth and Space Science research activities at Goddard Space Flight Center and within the NASA research community."
Note: http://svs.gsfc.nasa.gov/index.html
Visible Earth
A catalog of NASA images and animations of our home planet
Search for online educational videos from multiple disciplines and subject areas.
Mineralogy Database
"This mineral database contains 4,300+ individual mineral species descriptions with links and a comprehensive image library."
USGS: Landsat Missions - Image Gallery
"Landsat represents the world's longest continuously acquired collection of space-based moderate-resolution land remote sensing data. Nearly four decades of imagery provides a unique resource for those who work in agriculture, geology, forestry, regional planning, education, mapping, and global change research. Landsat images are also invaluable for emergency response and disaster relief."
NASA Scientific Visualization Studio
"... the SVS works closely with scientists in the creation of visualization products, systems, and processes in order to promote a greater understanding of Earth and Space Science research activities at Goddard Space Flight Center and within the NASA research community."
Note: http://svs.gsfc.nasa.gov/index.html
Visible Earth
A catalog of NASA images and animations of our home planet
Citation Styles (APA, MLA, etc.)
Consult examples of APA, MLA, Chicago/Turabian, and other citation styles, and use Mendeley or Zotero to manage your references and format your bibliography.
Writing Guidelines for Engineering and Science Students
"These writing guidelines are designed to help engineers and scientists communicate their work. To that end, these guidelines contain advice and models for writing and speaking situations in engineering and science" -- Pennsylvania State University
Consult examples of APA, MLA, Chicago/Turabian, and other citation styles, and use Mendeley or Zotero to manage your references and format your bibliography.
Writing Guidelines for Engineering and Science Students
"These writing guidelines are designed to help engineers and scientists communicate their work. To that end, these guidelines contain advice and models for writing and speaking situations in engineering and science" -- Pennsylvania State University
