Databases beginning with S

Provides access to 90 full-text specialized encyclopedias that offer excellent background information on a topic.

Full-text reference resource compiled from nearly 640 specialized encyclopedias, reference books, and periodicals. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, earth sciences, environmental sciences, physics, medicine, science & society, and technology.

SciFinder Scholar is the preeminent source of scholarly research in all aspects of Chemistry, searching over 23 million scholarly articles from Chemical Abstracts and Medline.

Access is limited to students and faculty at St. Cloud State University. From an on-campus computer, users must complete individual user registration using your SCSU email address.

The premier source for finding scholarly articles and other informaiton focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,300  journals as well as dissertations, and citations to book reviews.

Biographical and bibliographical information on children's authors and illustrators. Often includes interviews and personal information. For the print version (in the library), use most recent cumulative index volume to determine volume of entries or look on the Web at http://www.galenet.com/servlet/LitIndex

The St. Cloud Geographic Information System provides detailed information about individual properties, private and public, within the city limits.

Offers a a powerful array of company, market, and financial data; analytics; and research. Includes functions designed to track performance, generate alpha, identify new trading and investment ideas, perform risk analysis and mitigation strategies, and more. 

To sign up for an account, use the New User link in the upper right on the Capital IQ homepage and your University email (@go.stcloudstate.edu OR @stcloudstate.edu).