Databases beginning with C

Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities

Each Directory helps professors, researchers, and students select journals that are most likely to publish a manuscript. The index in each Directory helps match the characteristics of a manuscript to the topic areas the journal emphasizes, the type of review process, acceptance rate and number of external reviewers. Separate directories are available for Accounting, Economics and Finance, Management, Marketing, Educational Curriculum and Methods, Educational Psychology and Administration, and Psychology.

Cambridge University Press Journals

The search allows you to search over 300 peer-reviewed academic journals and hundreds of books published by Cambridge University Press. SCSU subscribes to fulltext access to 30 Cambridge journal titles, of which 16 are current; an additional 7 current titles are available fulltext.

Campus Research (Westlaw)

A database for legal research that includes secondary and primary legal sources such as statutes, codes, and case law.

Capital IQ (Standard & Poor's)

Offers a a powerful array of company, market, and financial data; analytics; and research. Includes functions designed to track performance, generate alpha, identify new trading and investment ideas, perform risk analysis and mitigation strategies, and more.

To sign up for an account, use the New User link in the upper right on the Capital IQ homepage and your University email (@go.stcloudstate.edu OR @stcloudstate.edu).

Chemical Abstracts (SciFinder Scholar)

SciFinder Scholar is the preeminent source of scholarly research in all aspects of Chemistry, searching over 23 million scholarly articles from Chemical Abstracts and Medline.

Access is limited to students and faculty at St. Cloud State University. From an on-campus computer, users must complete individual user registration using your SCSU email address.

ChemWeb

The ChemWeb Chemistry Portal allows free searching of journal abstracts from chemistry publishers such as Bentham, Elsevier, Springer and others covering over 500 journals. Search by title and issue or use Journal Search for full-text search of abstracts across all journals. For access to specific articles, search the Library Web site using the Articles and databases tab.

Child Welfare Information Gateway

Provides access to information and resources to help protect children and strengthen families. The Library search includes links to over 22,300 bibliographic citations and abstracts. Includes links to full text of 70+ NCCAN publications, including "user manuals" and information on state statutes.

Chronicle of Higher Education

The Chronicle of Higher Education is the premier source of news and statistics about higher education. In addition to an online weekly newspaper, the Chronicle provides valuable in-depth articles on aspects of higher education and is a source of useful statistics on faculty and administrative compensation, admissions, graduation rates, tuition and fees, gender equity, etc. 1998 to present.

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers

Search America's historic newspapers pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text (Nursing)

Search 3,000+ journals in nursing and allied health back to 1937; covers nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, etc.

CIOS Journal System Index

Provides author and title index to citations from 31 core journals in communication studies (subset of Communication Abstracts).

CIOS: Communication Institute for Online Scholarship

CIOS is one of the primary resources for research in Communication, Speech, Journalism, and Rhetoric. In addition to producing ComAbstracts, CIOS provides the following resources for institutional affiliates (including St. Cloud State University).

The Civil War: Antebellum to Reconstruction, 1843-1877

This collection of primary materials features more than 150 newspapers from all regions of the United States—plus approximately 50,000 government documents and 4,000 rare broadsides and pieces of ephemera. It provides unprecedented local and national coverage of American culture, politics and society from 1840 through 1877.

Coaching Science Abstracts

A subject-oriented directory to lengthy abstracts of research articles for practicing coaches and others interested in applied sport science.

Cochrane Library

A collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.

College Center (LearningExpress)

Offers tools to strengthen your academic skills and prepare for placement tests and graduate school entrance exams. Create your own personal account to keep track of your progress.

ComAbstracts

The most comprehensive database for the discipline of Communications. Provides 26,000 abstracts of articles drawn from the professional literature on Communications.

Communication & Mass Media Complete

The main database for Communication Studies and Mass Communications. Searches over 600 journal titles that support research in communication, mass media, linguistics, language learning and related fields of study.

Computer Engineering Commons

Open access articles written by undergraduate and graduate students as well as faculty. Sub-topics include robotics, networking, systems architecture, data storage, digital circuits, and other computing areas.

Computer Skills Center (LearningExpress)

Video courses to learn popular software and computer basics. Create your own personal account to keep track of your progress.

ComWeb MegaSearch

Full text index to more than 20,000 communications-related web resources at hundreds of academic sites.

Consumer Health Complete

CHC is a comprehensive reference resource covering topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition, etc. The emphasis is on consumer rather than scholarly information. Includes fulltext from journals and specialized encyclopedias, as well as images, videos, and animations.

Credo Reference

Provides online access to over 500 reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) in all subject areas. This is the premier place to look up a quick fact or to search for background information on a research topic.

Criminal Justice Abstracts

The premier source for finding scholarly articles and other information related to criminal justice. Topics covered include: courts and the legal process; adult corrections; crime prevention and control strategies; crime, the offender, and the victim; juvenile justice and delinquency; and police.

	Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities Each Directory helps professors, researchers, and students select journals that are most likely to publish a manuscript. The index in each Directory helps match the characteristics of a manuscript to the topic areas the journal emphasizes, the type of review process, acceptance rate and number of external reviewers. Separate directories are available for Accounting, Economics and Finance, Management, Marketing, Educational Curriculum and Methods, Educational Psychology and Administration, and Psychology.
	Cambridge University Press Journals The search allows you to search over 300 peer-reviewed academic journals and hundreds of books published by Cambridge University Press. SCSU subscribes to fulltext access to 30 Cambridge journal titles, of which 16 are current; an additional 7 current titles are available fulltext.
	Campus Research (Westlaw) A database for legal research that includes secondary and primary legal sources such as statutes, codes, and case law.
	Capital IQ (Standard & Poor's) Offers a a powerful array of company, market, and financial data; analytics; and research. Includes functions designed to track performance, generate alpha, identify new trading and investment ideas, perform risk analysis and mitigation strategies, and more. To sign up for an account, use the New User link in the upper right on the Capital IQ homepage and your University email (@go.stcloudstate.edu OR @stcloudstate.edu).
	Chemical Abstracts (SciFinder Scholar) SciFinder Scholar is the preeminent source of scholarly research in all aspects of Chemistry, searching over 23 million scholarly articles from Chemical Abstracts and Medline. Access is limited to students and faculty at St. Cloud State University. From an on-campus computer, users must complete individual user registration using your SCSU email address.
	ChemWeb The ChemWeb Chemistry Portal allows free searching of journal abstracts from chemistry publishers such as Bentham, Elsevier, Springer and others covering over 500 journals. Search by title and issue or use Journal Search for full-text search of abstracts across all journals. For access to specific articles, search the Library Web site using the Articles and databases tab.
	Child Welfare Information Gateway Provides access to information and resources to help protect children and strengthen families. The Library search includes links to over 22,300 bibliographic citations and abstracts. Includes links to full text of 70+ NCCAN publications, including "user manuals" and information on state statutes.
	Chronicle of Higher Education The Chronicle of Higher Education is the premier source of news and statistics about higher education. In addition to an online weekly newspaper, the Chronicle provides valuable in-depth articles on aspects of higher education and is a source of useful statistics on faculty and administrative compensation, admissions, graduation rates, tuition and fees, gender equity, etc. 1998 to present.
	Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers Search America's historic newspapers pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
	CINAHL Plus with Full Text (Nursing) Search 3,000+ journals in nursing and allied health back to 1937; covers nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, etc.
	CIOS Journal System Index Provides author and title index to citations from 31 core journals in communication studies (subset of Communication Abstracts).
	CIOS: Communication Institute for Online Scholarship CIOS is one of the primary resources for research in Communication, Speech, Journalism, and Rhetoric. In addition to producing ComAbstracts, CIOS provides the following resources for institutional affiliates (including St. Cloud State University).
	The Civil War: Antebellum to Reconstruction, 1843-1877 This collection of primary materials features more than 150 newspapers from all regions of the United States—plus approximately 50,000 government documents and 4,000 rare broadsides and pieces of ephemera. It provides unprecedented local and national coverage of American culture, politics and society from 1840 through 1877.
	Coaching Science Abstracts A subject-oriented directory to lengthy abstracts of research articles for practicing coaches and others interested in applied sport science.
	Cochrane Library A collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
	College Center (LearningExpress) Offers tools to strengthen your academic skills and prepare for placement tests and graduate school entrance exams. Create your own personal account to keep track of your progress.
	ComAbstracts The most comprehensive database for the discipline of Communications. Provides 26,000 abstracts of articles drawn from the professional literature on Communications.
	Communication & Mass Media Complete The main database for Communication Studies and Mass Communications. Searches over 600 journal titles that support research in communication, mass media, linguistics, language learning and related fields of study.
	Computer Engineering Commons Open access articles written by undergraduate and graduate students as well as faculty. Sub-topics include robotics, networking, systems architecture, data storage, digital circuits, and other computing areas.
	Computer Skills Center (LearningExpress) Video courses to learn popular software and computer basics. Create your own personal account to keep track of your progress.
	ComWeb MegaSearch Full text index to more than 20,000 communications-related web resources at hundreds of academic sites.
	Consumer Health Complete CHC is a comprehensive reference resource covering topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition, etc. The emphasis is on consumer rather than scholarly information. Includes fulltext from journals and specialized encyclopedias, as well as images, videos, and animations.
	Credo Reference Provides online access to over 500 reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) in all subject areas. This is the premier place to look up a quick fact or to search for background information on a research topic.
	Criminal Justice Abstracts The premier source for finding scholarly articles and other information related to criminal justice. Topics covered include: courts and the legal process; adult corrections; crime prevention and control strategies; crime, the offender, and the victim; juvenile justice and delinquency; and police.

University Library at St. Cloud State University

Databases beginning with C