Databases A-Z

Full-text articles in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.

ACS Chemistry Journals

Full text access to a selection of chemisty journals published by the American Chemical Society.

African American Newspapers

Searchable database of approximately 270 U.S. newspapers from more than 35 states chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience.

AgeLine

AgeLine focuses exclusively on the population aged 50+ abd issues of aging. The premier source for social gerontology literature, it includes aging-related content from the health sciences, psychology, sociology, social work, economics and public policy.

Agricola (Agriculture)

Search for articles on agriculture topics, including plant and animal sciences, forestry, entomology, soil and water resources, agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, agricultural products, alternative farming practices, and food and nutrition.

AllSides

Examines current topics and issues through multiple news sources that represent different political viewpoints.

Alt HealthWatch

Emphasis on holistic and integrated approaches to wellness and health care. Index with abstracts to articles back to 1984, full text for 180 journals and reports back to 1990.

Alternative Press Index Archive

Index to articles published from 1969-1990 in over 250 alternative, radical, and liberal publications that report and analyze the practices and theories of cultural, economic, political, and social change.

America: History and Life

Search 2,000 scholarly journals on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present (the rest of the world is covered in Historical Abstracts).

American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals

Digitized images from the American Antiquarian Society of the pages of American magazines and journals published between 1684 and 1912.

American Memory (see Library of Congress Digital Collections)

The gateway to the Library of Congress’s digitized American primary source materials including photographs, posters, maps, letters, diaries, sound recordings, films, books, pamphlets, and sheet music.

AnthroSource

AnthroSource is a service of the American Anthropological Association that offers a searchable database of more than 250,000 articles from AAA journals, newsletters, bulletins and monographs.

AP Images (Associated Press)

A source of over 500,000 current and historic photo images, graphic images, audio files, and publicity. Content may be used for educational purposes.

APA PsycInfo

PsycINFO is the premier source for finding scholarly articles and other information relating to all aspects of psychology and related fields.

ArchiveGrid

An index to archives and special collections in thousands of libraries, museums, and archives around the world. Very little content from these collections is online.

Art Full Text

A comprehensive resource for art information featuring full-text articles from more than 300 art periodicals plus high-quality indexing of over 600 periodicals and art dissertations.

Artstor

Contains over 2 million images from the world's museums, archives, libraries, scholars, and artists. Available through June 30, 2021.

arXiv

"An open archive for scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics."

Books and More (Library Catalog)

Search for books, ebooks, video, government publications, recordings, music scores, and other materials available through the library.

Bridgeman Art Library Archive

The Bridgeman Art Library Archives is an outstanding archive of images drawn from collections throughout the world. It includes paintings, drawings, statues, ceramics, historical maps, etc. Available here from our Credo subscription.

Bullfrog Films (Docuseek)

A video streaming service for independent, social-issue, and environmental films.

Business Source Complete

Premium full-text content and peer-reviewed business journals covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more.

Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities

Each Directory helps professors, researchers, and students select journals that are most likely to publish a manuscript. The index in each Directory helps match the characteristics of a manuscript to the topic areas the journal emphasizes, the type of review process, acceptance rate and number of external reviewers. Separate directories are available for Accounting, Economics and Finance, Management, Marketing, Educational Curriculum and Methods, Educational Psychology and Administration, and Psychology.

Cambridge University Press Journals

The search allows you to search over 300 peer-reviewed academic journals and hundreds of books published by Cambridge University Press. SCSU subscribes to fulltext access to 30 Cambridge journal titles, of which 16 are current; an additional 7 current titles are available fulltext.

Campus Research (Westlaw)

A database for legal research that includes secondary and primary legal sources such as statutes, codes, and case law.

Capital IQ (Standard & Poor's)

Offers a a powerful array of company, market, and financial data; analytics; and research. Includes functions designed to track performance, generate alpha, identify new trading and investment ideas, perform risk analysis and mitigation strategies, and more.

To sign up for an account, use the New User link in the upper right on the Capital IQ homepage and your University email (@go.stcloudstate.edu OR @stcloudstate.edu).

Chemical Abstracts (SciFinder Scholar)

SciFinder Scholar is the preeminent source of scholarly research in all aspects of Chemistry, searching over 23 million scholarly articles from Chemical Abstracts and Medline.

Access is limited to students and faculty at St. Cloud State University. From an on-campus computer, users must complete individual user registration using your SCSU email address.

ChemWeb

The ChemWeb Chemistry Portal allows free searching of journal abstracts from chemistry publishers such as Bentham, Elsevier, Springer and others covering over 500 journals. Search by title and issue or use Journal Search for full-text search of abstracts across all journals. For access to specific articles, search the Library Web site using the Articles and databases tab.

Child Welfare Information Gateway

Provides access to information and resources to help protect children and strengthen families. The Library search includes links to over 22,300 bibliographic citations and abstracts. Includes links to full text of 70+ NCCAN publications, including "user manuals" and information on state statutes.

Chronicle of Higher Education

The Chronicle of Higher Education is the premier source of news and statistics about higher education. In addition to an online weekly newspaper, the Chronicle provides valuable in-depth articles on aspects of higher education and is a source of useful statistics on faculty and administrative compensation, admissions, graduation rates, tuition and fees, gender equity, etc. 1998 to present.

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers

Search America's historic newspapers pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text (Nursing)

Search 3,000+ journals in nursing and allied health back to 1937; covers nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, etc.

CIOS Journal System Index

Provides author and title index to citations from 31 core journals in communication studies (subset of Communication Abstracts).

CIOS: Communication Institute for Online Scholarship

CIOS is one of the primary resources for research in Communication, Speech, Journalism, and Rhetoric. In addition to producing ComAbstracts, CIOS provides the following resources for institutional affiliates (including St. Cloud State University).

The Civil War: Antebellum to Reconstruction, 1843-1877

This collection of primary materials features more than 150 newspapers from all regions of the United States—plus approximately 50,000 government documents and 4,000 rare broadsides and pieces of ephemera. It provides unprecedented local and national coverage of American culture, politics and society from 1840 through 1877.

Coaching Science Abstracts

A subject-oriented directory to lengthy abstracts of research articles for practicing coaches and others interested in applied sport science.

Cochrane Library

A collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.

College Center (LearningExpress)

Offers tools to strengthen your academic skills and prepare for placement tests and graduate school entrance exams. Create your own personal account to keep track of your progress.

ComAbstracts

The most comprehensive database for the discipline of Communications. Provides 26,000 abstracts of articles drawn from the professional literature on Communications.

Communication & Mass Media Complete

The main database for Communication Studies and Mass Communications. Searches over 600 journal titles that support research in communication, mass media, linguistics, language learning and related fields of study.

Computer Engineering Commons

Open access articles written by undergraduate and graduate students as well as faculty. Sub-topics include robotics, networking, systems architecture, data storage, digital circuits, and other computing areas.

Computer Skills Center (LearningExpress)

Video courses to learn popular software and computer basics. Create your own personal account to keep track of your progress.

ComWeb MegaSearch

Full text index to more than 20,000 communications-related web resources at hundreds of academic sites.

Consumer Health Complete

CHC is a comprehensive reference resource covering topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition, etc. The emphasis is on consumer rather than scholarly information. Includes fulltext from journals and specialized encyclopedias, as well as images, videos, and animations.

Credo Reference

Provides online access to over 500 reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) in all subject areas. This is the premier place to look up a quick fact or to search for background information on a research topic.

Criminal Justice Abstracts

The premier source for finding scholarly articles and other information related to criminal justice. Topics covered include: courts and the legal process; adult corrections; crime prevention and control strategies; crime, the offender, and the victim; juvenile justice and delinquency; and police.

Dimensions

"Dimensions is a modern and innovative, linked research data infrastructure and tool, re-imagining discovery and access to research: grants, publications, citations, clinical trials, and patents in one place"

Discovering Collection

A good resource for very basic information on virtually any topic. This comprehensive reference resource includes essays, critical analyses, biographies, and primary sources in both text and multimedia.

Dissertation Abstracts - PQDT Open

Selective index to open access masters theses and dissertations from U.S., Canada, Great Britain, and Europe. Note: This is an open access subset of Dissertation Abstracts International (DAI).

Dissertations and Theses

Catalog of all dissertations and thesis cataloged by member libraries in OCLC WorldCat.

Docuseek (Bullfrog Films)

A video streaming service for independent, social-issue, and environmental films.

Ebook Central (ProQuest)

A growing and changing collection of over 145,000 e-books in many different academic subject areas; includes mainly works from university presses and other academic publishers.

Ebooks Minnesota

"An online ebook collection for all Minnesotans. The collection covers a wide variety of subjects for readers of all ages, and features content from our state’s independent publishers, including some of our best literature and nonfiction.”

EBSCO eBook collection

This eBook collection contains full-text e-books covering a variety of topics. These are the digital versions of books and are available 24/7 from on or off campus. For instructions on how to download eBooks from this site, see https://www.ebscohost.com/ebooks/user-experience/downloading-ebooks

EBSCO MegaFILE

Thousands of popular and scholarly publications across all academic disciplines and subject areas. Includes Academic Search Premier, MasterFILE Premier, Business Source Premier, and Regional Business News databases.

EconLit

Index to scholarly articles and dissertations in economics and related fields. Updated monthly. Corresponds to the print index published as part of the Journal of Economic Literature.

Eigenfactor.org

Eigenfactor ranks scholarly journals in the natural and social sciences (and also newsprint, PhD theses, and popular magazines) using citation data and journal price.

ELM: Electronic Library for Minnesota (eLibraryMN)

ELM (eLibraryMN) gives Minnesota residents online access to magazine, journal, newspaper and encyclopedia articles; media including images, videos, audio files; and other information resources via a selection of databases.

ELM: Electronic Library for Minnesota (eLibraryMN) -- Resources for K-12

ELM provides access to the following databases for use in K-12 environments:
From Gale:
InfoTrac Junior Edition for junior high and middle school students
InfoTrac Student Edition for high school students
Kids InfoBits for elementary school students
Junior Reference Collection for junior high and middle school students
Student Resources in Context for high school students
From EBSCO:
MAS Ultra-School Edition for high school students
Middle Search Plus for junior high and middle school students
Primary Search for elementary school students

Emerald Insight

Full text access to over 100 management, marketing, engineering, and information services journals.

Encyclopedia Britannica (Academic)

Encyclopedia Britannica has been the most trusted and most academic encyclopedia, with articles by scholars and experts, since its founding in 1768. This online edition incorporates Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, as well as multimedia, current news, supporting articles, statistical data, and an atlas.

Energy Citations Database

Energy Citations includes bibliographic records of literature in disciplines of interest to DOE such as chemistry, physics, materials, environmental science, geology, engineering, mathematics, climatology, oceanography, computer science and related disciplines. It includes citations to report literature, conference papers, journal articles, books, dissertations, and patents.

Engineering Dictionary

This EngNet web dictionary provides short definitions for common engineering terms.

ERIC (EBSCO)

ERIC is the primary database supporting research in all areas of education, including psychology, administration, and library science.

ERIC (ProQuest)

ERIC is the primary database supporting research in all areas of education, including psychology, administration, and library science.

Ethnic NewsWatch

Articles from over 200 newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Provides in-depth coverage of a wide range of current and historical topics. Limit the Source Type to "Scholarly Journals" for peer-reviewed articles.

Expanded Academic ASAP

Expanded Academic ASAP indexes 4200 journal and periodical titles and provides fulltext for another 2500 title. Provides coverage in social sciences, humanities, sciences, education, and business as well as national news, current events, and general interest topics.

Films on Demand

Search for online educational videos from multiple disciplines and subject areas.

FindLaw

FindLaw provides legal researchers with a sophisticated search engine to locate Web-accessible legal code and case law. Topical sub-searches for foreign domains by country, federal laws and regulations, or individual states are also available.

Free Databases

A selected list of freely available databases (compiled by librarians at CSU, Long Beach).

GenderWatch

Articles on topics like sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, eating disorders, day care, and the workplace that support LGBT studies, family studies, gender studies, and women's studies with a unique interdisciplinary approach. Click the check box to limit results to "Peer-reviewed" for scholarly articles.

General Science Collection

Index with full text for more than 200 journals in biology, mathematics, physics, geology, and basic checmistry. Designed primarily for use in introductory courses.

Google Scholar

Searches academic papers and other scholarly literature. Go to Settings and set SCSU as your "Library link" to get full text available through the library.

Great River Regional Library (St. Cloud Public Library)

Central Minnesota public library system consisting of 33 local libraries, including the main library in St. Cloud.

GreenFILE

A collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles that include content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more.

Grove Music Online

Includes the complete full text of The Oxford Dictionary of Music, The Oxford Companion to Music, and Grove Music Online.

HarpWeek: The Civil War Era

Electronic access to Harper's Weekly, 1857-1912, America's leading 19th-century illustrated newspaper.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic

Index with fulltext for 550 scholarly journals covering many areas of medicine. Include the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide covering 1300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4700 brand names.

Historical Abstracts

Search over 2,000 scholarly journals covering the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).

Historical Minneapolis Tribune (1867-1922)

Contains full-text and article images from the Minneapolis Tribune (1867-1908) and the Minneapolis Morning Tribune (1909-1922). The newspapers are available through a platform provided by the Minnesota Historical Society in partnership with Minnesota State Library Services.

IEEE Xplore

Search for journal articles, transactions, conference proceedings, etc. of IEEE, IEE and affiliated societies. Use Interlibrary Loan to get items we do not own (you will get message in upper left corner, "The content you requested is not included in your subscription")

Independent Voices: An Open Access Collection of an Alternative Press

An open access collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines, and journals produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Latinx, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press, and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.

Information Bridge (Department of Energy)

The Information Bridge provides the open source to full-text and bibliographic records of Department of Energy (DOE) research and development reports in physics, chemistry, materials, biology, environmental sciences, energy technologies, engineering, computer and information science, renewable energy, and other topics.

Informe Académico

Spanish- and English-language scholarly journals and popular magazines with an emphasis on the Americas. Topics covered include business, health, technology, culture, current affairs, economics, and more.

Ingenta

Provides access to article summaries from over 13,000 publications. SCSU has online access to the fulltext from a limited number of publications; other content may be obtained through Interlibrary Loan.

JAMA

Full text of the Journal of the American Medical Association.

Job & Career Accelerator (LearningExpress)

Use this tool to find a career match, explore occupations, search for jobs and internships, build your resume, write cover letters, and much more. Create your own personal account to keep track of your progress.

Journal Titles

Check the availability of journal and newspaper titles through the SCSU library.

JSTOR

Provides access to scholarly journals in anthropology, ecology, economics, education, general science, history, literature, mathematics, political science, philosophy, and more. Some journals have "moving wall" access that does not include the most recent 2-5 years.

Kanopy (Media Education Foundation)

Online videos that encourage critical thinking about the social, political, and cultural impact of American mass media, with a special focus on representations of gender and race.

LearningExpress Library

Practice tests for GED, GRE, SAT, ACT, TOEFL, ESL, civil service and citizenship exams, ESL and AP courses, and a Job and Career Help Center.

Library of Congress Digital Collections

The gateway to the Library of Congress’s digitized American primary source materials including photographs, posters, maps, letters, diaries, sound recordings, films, books, pamphlets, and sheet music.

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts,(LISTA) indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Limited fulltext is available.

LibSearch

Search the library's physical collection (books, movies, music, government publications, etc.) along with online journals and e-books to which the Library subscribes -- all in a single search.

Literature Criticism Online

Provides online full-text scholarly essays and commentary on classic books and authors. Includes Contemporary Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, and Shakespearean Criticism.

Making of America (Cornell)

This database includes "a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology." (From Website)

Making of America (University of Michigan)

This collection "is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology." (From Website)

Market Intelligence (Standard and Poor's)

S&P Global Market Intelligence integrates financial and industry data, research, and news into tools that help track performance, generate alpha, identify investment ideas, understand competitive and industry dynamics, perform valuation, and assess risk.

To sign up for an account, use the New User link on the Market Intelligence homepage and your University email (@go.stcloudstate.edu OR @stcloudstate.edu). Use this login every time you use this resource.

MasterFILE Premier

Popular magazines covering all subject areas. Includes Consumer Reports, Parenting, Sports Illustrated, Time, Newsweek, People, and thousands of other titles.

MathSciNet

MathSciNet indexes and reviews 1800 current journals, conference proceedings, and books of mathematics research. Researchers are encouraged to browse the Mathematics Subject Classification (MSC) for subject access.

Media Education Foundation Collection (Kanopy)

Online videos that encourage critical thinking about the social, political, and cultural impact of American mass media, with a special focus on representations of gender and race.

MedlinePlus

MedlinePlus is a source for consumer information about over 700 diseases, their symptoms and treatment options. It includes a medical encyclopedia and dictionary. MedlinePlus is produced by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the National Institutes of Health (NIH) and other governmental agencies.

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print

Provides test users with descriptive information, citations to test references, and critical reviews of testing instruments. Covers the Ninth Mental Measurements (1985) to the present; previous editions are available in the Reference Collection. Also includes Tests in Print, a listing of testing tools and test reviews. Provides test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s).

Meteorological and Geoastrophysical Abstracts

Comprehensive index with abstracts to literature on meteorology, climatology, atmospheric chemistry and physics, astrophysics, hydrology, glaciology, physical oceanography and environmental sciences. Indexes over 600 journal titles in several languages.

Minneapolis Tribune (Historical 1867-1922)

Contains full-text and article images from the Minneapolis Tribune (1867-1908) and the Minneapolis Morning Tribune (1909-1922). The newspapers are available through a platform provided by the Minnesota Historical Society in partnership with Minnesota State Library Services.

Minnesota Digital Library: Minnesota Reflections

The collection brings you more than 210,000 images, maps and documents from more than 155 of the state's cultural heritage organizations. This site offers resources on Minnesota's history and geography for researchers, educators, students, and the public.

Minnesota Digital Newspaper Hub

A searchable website of online geographically and culturally diverse Minnesota newspapers published between 1856 and today.

MLA International Bibliography (Languages and Literature)

Comprehensive current index to articles and chapters in scholarly collections for literature, linguistics, and folklore. Covers all the world's languages and literatures, both contemporary and historical.

MNLINK

Search multiple libraries within Minnesota and request materials via interlibrary loan (login using the library barcode on the back of your Campus Card).

Monthly Statistics of International Trade

International trade statistics of OECD countries. Data provided by economic groups, by country and by region. Each monthly edition provides data for the previous eight months, four quarters, and two years.

Music Literature (RILM)

Covers all areas of music scholarship, including, concert reviews, recording notes, dance, anthropology, ethnomusicology, music theory, music therapy, instruments and voice.

Music Online Premium Collection

Streaming music and video from the following 13 collections: African American Music Reference, American Song, Classical Music in Video, Classical Music Library, Classical Music Reference Library, Classical Scores Library, Classical Scores Library: Volume II, Contemporary World Music, Dance in Video, The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online, Jazz Music Library, Opera in Video, and Smithsonian Global Sound® for Libraries.

National Academies Press

Downloadable PDF versions of more than 4,000 books and technical reports on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and health, capturing the most authoritative views on important issues in science and health policy.

National Criminal Justice Reference Service

NCJRS is a federally sponsored information clearinghouse for people around the country and the world involved with research, policy, and practice related to criminal and juvenile justice and drug control. Materials cover the areas of: corrections, courts, drugs and crime, international, juvenile justice, law enforcement, victims of crime and statistics as well as grants and funding information.

Nature

Nature is a weekly international journal publishing peer-reviewed research in all fields of science and technology on the basis of its originality, importance, interdisciplinary interest, timeliness, accessibility, elegance and surprising conclusions. Nature also provides rapid, authoritative, insightful and arresting news and interpretation of topical and coming trends affecting science, scientists and the wider public. Coverage includes a 4 year rolling archive to current.

Naxos Music Library

Listen to tracks and create your own playlists from the largest online classical music collection (see Using the Playlists for instructions).

Naxos Music Library Jazz

Listen to or create your own playlists from a comprehensive collection of over 20,000 jazz tracks (see Using the Playlists for instructions).

NBER (National Bureau of Economic Research) Working Papers

NBER Working Papers are intended to make research of the National Bureau for Economic Research available to other economists in preliminary form to encourage discussion and suggestions for revision before final publication.

NetAdvantage (Standard & Poor's)

A comprehensive source of business and investment information including industry surveys, stock reports, company descriptions and financials, and mutual fund research.

New England Journal of Medicine

High-quality, peer-reviewed research and interactive clinical content for physicians, educators, and the global medical community. Full text access from 1990-present.

Newsbank Special Reports

NewsBank's Special Reports focus on topics of current interest. They include content from sources throughout the world to provide a global perspective, current and background information, statistics, maps, images, websites, and suggested search terms. New information is added daily to featured and current reports.

Nineteenth Century US Newspapers

Full-text content and images from about 500 U.S. newspapers published during the 19th Century. The "Research Guide" link leads to commissioned essays that provide context for the collection.

O*NET Online (Occupational Information Network)

O*NET is an official website developed by the Department of Labor. The O*NET database includes information on skills, abilities, knowledge, work activities, and interests associated with over 950 occupations. Previous title: Dictionary of Occupational Titles.

Open Textbook Library

Textbooks that have been funded, published, and licensed to be freely used, adapted, and distributed. These books have been reviewed by faculty, can be downloaded for no cost, and are either used at multiple higher education institutions; or affiliated with an institution, scholarly society, or professional organization.

OurEnergyPolicy.org (OEP)

Non-partisan discussion and analysis of topics spanning the energy landscape, including falternative fuels, oil and gas, nuclear, biofuels, electric vehicles, renewables and many others.

Oxford English Dictionary

The Oxford English Dictionary is the premier guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words in the English language, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books. It also offers the best in etymological analysis, listings of variant spellings, and shows pronunciation using the International Phonetic Alphabet.

Oxford Music Online

Includes the complete full text of The Oxford Dictionary of Music, The Oxford Companion to Music, and Grove Music Online.

Oxford Reference Online

An online collection of reference encyclopedias primarily for music and the arts.

PebbleGo and PebbleGo Next

A curricular content hub specifically designed for K-5 students. Modules include Animals and Biographies in the PebbleGo (K-3) tab, and States and American Indian History in the PebbleGo Next (3-5) tab. Informational articles, ready-made activities, and literacy supports including read-along audio and word-by-word highlighting.

PILOTS Database

Citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder and other mental health issues related to traumatic events.

Points of View Reference Center

Presents multiple sides on current controversial topics. Each topic may include topical essays, supporting articles, primary source documents, images, and videos.

ProCon.org

Professionally-researched pro, con, and related information on more than 50 controversial issues.

Professional Collection (Education)

The Professional Collection is a selection of more than 300 full-text journals for educators. It offers balanced coverage for any professional educator in the following areas: arts and humanities; child and adolescent psychology and development; drug and alcohol abuse; health/nutrition/fitness; learning disabilities; literature; school law; science and technology; social sciences; and sports/athletic training

Professional Development Collection

Full-text access to 520 periodicals related to education, including 350 peer-reviewed journals. Also contains more than 200 educational reports.

Project MUSE

Full-text access to more than 150 scholarly journals and eBooks in all disciplines published by Johns Hopkins University and several other university presses.

Project MUSE eBooks

Thousands of peer-reviewed digital books from major university presses and scholarly publishers.

ProQuest U.S. Newsstream

Search the most recent U.S. news content, plus archives back to the 1980s.

PsychInfo (APA)

PsycINFO is the premier source for finding scholarly articles and other information relating to all aspects of psychology and related fields.

PubMed

"PubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books."

Regional Business News

A supplemental database for customers of Business Source Premier. With daily updates, Regional Business News provides comprehensive full text for regional business publications (including titles from Crain Communications). Regional Business News has full text for more than 60 sources.

Repository at St. Cloud State University (Institutional Repository)

Provides open access to a diverse collection of academic, scholarly, scientific, and creative content produced by faculty, students, and staff at the University.

RIA Checkpoint

Provides online access to the complete RIA United States Tax Reporter with federal and state tax laws, codes, regulations, analysis, annotations, cases, rulings, citator, and more; also includes the complete WG&L Tax Dictionary.

RILM

Covers all areas of music scholarship, including, concert reviews, recording notes, dance, anthropology, ethnomusicology, music theory, music therapy, instruments and voice.

SAGE Journals Online

Full text of over 500 journals in business, humanities, social sciences, and science, technology and medicine.

SAGE Reference Online

Provides access to 90 full-text specialized encyclopedias that offer excellent background information on a topic.

Sanborn Digital Maps 1867-1970

Historic large scale maps (50 feet to the inch) of cities and towns in Minnesota; maps include buildings and streets with original names. Most maps for Minnesota cities available from about 1880.

Science Reference Center

Full-text reference resource compiled from nearly 640 specialized encyclopedias, reference books, and periodicals. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, earth sciences, environmental sciences, physics, medicine, science & society, and technology.

ScienceDirect

Search over 1,200 scholarly journals published by Elsevier. ScienceDirect is multisubject, but specializes in science. Note: We do not have full text access to all journals. 1993 to present for Academic Press journals; 1996 to present for Elsevier journals

SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts)

SciFinder Scholar is the preeminent source of scholarly research in all aspects of Chemistry, searching over 23 million scholarly articles from Chemical Abstracts and Medline.

Access is limited to students and faculty at St. Cloud State University. From an on-campus computer, users must complete individual user registration using your SCSU email address.

Slave Voyages

Includes the Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database with information on roughly 36,000 individual slave ship voyages, searchable by ship name, port of origin, port of arrival, and many other data points.

Social Services Abstracts

The premier source for finding scholarly articles and other informaiton focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,300 journals as well as dissertations, and citations to book reviews.

Sociological Abstracts

The primary database for scholarly articles in sociology, anthropology, social work, and related topics of study.

Something About the Author Online

Biographical and bibliographical information on children's authors and illustrators. Often includes interviews and personal information. For the print version (in the library), use most recent cumulative index volume to determine volume of entries or look on the Web at http://www.galenet.com/servlet/LitIndex

SPORTDiscus with Full Text

SPORTDiscus provides comprehensive, bibliographic coverage of sports, fitness and related disciplines; does not contain fulltext but may link to the fulltext of articles in other sources.

St. Cloud GIS

The St. Cloud Geographic Information System provides detailed information about individual properties, private and public, within the city limits.

St. Cloud Times Index

An index to the St. Cloud Times from 1928 - 2008.

Standard & Poor's Capital IQ

Offers a a powerful array of company, market, and financial data; analytics; and research. Includes functions designed to track performance, generate alpha, identify new trading and investment ideas, perform risk analysis and mitigation strategies, and more.

To sign up for an account, use the New User link in the upper right on the Capital IQ homepage and your University email (@go.stcloudstate.edu OR @stcloudstate.edu).

Standard & Poor's Global Market Intelligence

S&P Global Market Intelligence integrates financial and industry data, research, and news into tools that help track performance, generate alpha, identify investment ideas, understand competitive and industry dynamics, perform valuation, and assess risk.

To sign up for an account, use the New User link on the Market Intelligence homepage and your University email (@go.stcloudstate.edu OR @stcloudstate.edu). Use this login every time you use this resource.

STATSnetBASE

Searchable full-text editions of almost 800 CRC and Chapman & Hall texts, handbooks, and tables covering a variety of topics in statistics & probability, with applications in health, business, environmental, biological and physical sciences, and engineering.

Teacher Reference Center

Provides indexing and abstracts for over 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals to assist professional educators.

Times (London) Digital Archive

Complete fulltext, including birth and death notices, advertisements, etc. of the The Times (London) from 1785 to 1985. The content covers almost every event in the world during that period.

Vital Speeches of the Day

Offers students of public speaking examples of effective speeches by those who have attained leadership in the fields of business, politics, education, government, and more.

Westlaw Campus Research

A database for legal research that includes secondary and primary legal sources such as statutes, codes, and case law.

WorldCat

Search for materials beyond SCSU, from thousands of libraries and institutions around the world. Click on the FindIt! button and sign in to and request items through Interlibrary Loan.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts

The premier source for finding scholarly articles and other informaiton related to political science topics.

University Library at St. Cloud State University

Databases A-Z