University Library at St. Cloud State University

Citation Styles

Citation Styles Manuals and Managers
Like most libraries, the SCSU University Library has a variety of citation styles available for use by students, faculty, and staff.  Below you will find information for locating common style manuals including MLA, APA, and Chicago.  In additional there are links to helpful web pages that are freely available on the web.

Also, included in this page are links to quick citation creation tools and bibliographic managers (Zotero and Mendeley), that allow you to create your own database of citations and PDF for use in papers and reports.  Both include Word plugins that allow you to insert in-text citations and create bibliographies using the style of your choice.
American Psychological Association (APA)
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (APA)
READY REF BF76.7 .P83 2010 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Official manual for APA documentation. Available in print only, in the Ready Reference section of the library, 1st floor. Latest edition is 6th edition, 2010.

SCSU University Library Quick Guide

APA Citation Style from Long Island University
Color-coded examples of how to document your sources (i.e. books, journal articles, newspaper articles, etc.) in your works cited page.

APA Documentation from the University of Wisconsin
Provides examples to help you format your paper, document in-text citations, and prepare your reference list in APA style.

APA Formatting and Style Guide (2010 update) (OWL at Purdue)
Provides examples of formatting papers, in-text citations, footnotes and endnotes, and reference lists in APA style. Updated according to the 6th edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.

Modern Language Association (MLA)
MLA Handbook Eighth Edition | Modern Language Association



MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
READY REF LB2369 .G53 2016
Official manual for MLA documentation. Print copies of the eighth edition are available in the Ready Reference section of the library, 1st floor. For online examples, see the MLA Style Center's "What's New in the Eighth Edition."

Works Cited: A Quick Guide (MLA Style Center)
Describes the core elements of an MLA citation and provides examples for citing different types of sources.

MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
MLA (Modern Language Association) style is most commonly used to write papers and cite sources within the liberal arts and humanities, including English. This resource offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the Works Cited page.

MLA Style Guide, 8th Edition (IRSC Libraries)
Includes examples for citing sources, formatting your paper, using in-text citations, and  creating your Works Cited list according to the 8th edition of MLA style.
 
Chicago/Turabian
Chicago Manual of Style
Print Location: READY REF Z253 U69 2003 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Online reference source for the Chicago Manual of Style. The Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide is particularly helpful. Official print manual is available in the Ready Reference section of the library, 1st floor. Latest edition is 15th, 2003.


A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations
REF LB 2359 .T8 2007 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
A useful guide to Chicago Style for students and researchers. Available in print, in the Reference section of the library, 1st floor. Latest edition is 7th edition, 2007.

Chicago Manual of Style (OWL at Purdue)
Provides examples of formatting papers, in-text citations, footnotes and endnotes, and reference lists according to the Chicago Manual of Style.

Chicago/Turabian Documentation from the University of Wisconsin
Provides examples on formatting your paper and creating your works cited list in Chicago/Turabian style.
American Chemical Society (ACS)
ACS Style
Chapter from the ACS manual presents style conventions for citing references within a manuscript and for listing complete reference citations.

ACS Style from CiteSource
ACS citation style from the Trinity College Library. 
American Sociological Association (ASA)
Formatting in Sociology (ASA Style)
Provides reference examples for books, journals, and other resources as well as examples for formatting your manuscript and in-text references. Part of "The OWL at Purdue" guides.

Quick Style Guide (American Sociological Association)
Provides examples of reference lists, footnotes and endnotes, and miscellaneous style and grammar tips.
CSE Guide (Council of Science Editors)
Scientific Style and Format: The CSE Manual for Authors, Editors, and Publishers: Quick Guide
The CSE (Council of Scientific Editors - formerly CBE) Manual serves is the primary general citation style and manual for the sciences.


Washington State University: CSE Citation Quick Guide
A well detailed CSE quick guide
Citing Government Publications
DocsCite
DocsCite is a step-by-step guide to putting government publication citations into proper style format. 

Citing Government Information Sources (APA Style)
Subject Specialist
Picture: Cindy Gruwell

Cindy Gruwell
Professor, Research Librarian
MC 140D
(320) 308-1508
cagruwell@stcloudstate.edu

Picture: Mary O'Dea

Mary O'Dea
Assistant Professor, Emerging Technologies and Systems Librarian
MC204-F
(320) 308-5628
modea@stcloudstate.edu

Picture: Olivia Olivares

Olivia Olivares
Associate Professor, Research Librarian
MC 140E
(320) 308-4822
oolivares@stcloudstate.edu

RefWorks Change

RefWorks is no longer available to SCSU students, staff and faculty

We are pleased to announce that the University Library will offer instruction and support for two freely available bibliographic citation managers: Zotero (http://www.zotero.com) and Mendeley (http://www.mendeley.com). 

Detailed information below.


 

Zotero

Zotero is an open-source bibliographic management tool that allows you to save citations directly from library databases in any citation format you choose. You can also use Zotero to create bibliographies and lists of references for term papers. Zotero is free, just for signing up, and you'll keep your account after you graduate. It requires a one-time download.

If you have a RefWorks account, you'll want to transfer your citations from RefWorks to Zotero. Zotero is available by clicking the red button above. A detailed guide showing you how to use Zotero will be available soon. 

Zotero FAQs: https://www.zotero.org/support/frequently_asked_questions

Quick Guide - Creating bibliographies with Zotero pdf
Mendeley

Like Zotero, Mendeley is an open-source bibliographic management tool that will allow you to save citations directly from library databases in any format you choose. Mendeley is also free, just for signing up, and you'll keep your account after you graduate.
 
 



If you have a RefWorks account, you'll want to transfer your citations from RefWorks to Mendeley. Mendeley is available by clicking the red button above. A detailed guide showing you how to use Mendeley will be available soon. 

Mendeley doesn't have an FAQ, but does feature a series of user guides.

Mendeley Help Guides: 
https://www.mendeley.com/guides
Mendeley Videos and Tutorials: https://www.mendeley.com/guides/videos

Quick Guides:


Creating Bibliographies with Mendeley - Desktop pdf
Creating Bibliographies with Mendeley - Web pdf
Creating In-text Citations and Corresponding Bibliographies using the Mendeley - MS Word Plug-in pdf
Quick citation tools
In addition to Zotero and Mendeley, the University Library offers access to several "quick" citation formatter. Any of these can be used to generate a quick citation in multiple formats, using information you enter.

CiteFast
CiteFast helps you create citations in APA, MLA and Chicago style by choosing a resource to cite (webpage, journal article, book, etc.), entering the bibliographic information into a worksheet. CiteFast will also help you create a title page for a paper in APA, MLA or Chicago.

Knight Cite
KnightCite helps you create citations in APA, MLA and Chicago style for 29 different kinds of resources (books, anthologies, multimedia, etc.). You can also sign up for a free account that will let you save citations, build bibliographies, and send them to MS Word for inclusion in your paper.

OSLIS APA Citation Maker
APA Citation Maker helps you build citations in APA format, then save your work in MS Word or Google Docs. It includes links to an MLA Citation Maker. 
 


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University