University Library at St. Cloud State University

ED Research after Graduation

Finding Teaching Resources
Facts and background information
Occupational Outlook Handbook Unrestricted Resource
Nationally recognized source of career information, designed to provide valuable assistance to individuals making decisions about their future work lives. Describes what workers do on the job, working conditions, the training and education needed, earnings, and expected job prospects in a wide range of occupations.

Nation's Report Card Unrestricted Resource
The National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP) is the largest nationally representative and co​ntinuing assessment of what America's students know and can do in various subject areas.

Minnesota Department of Education 

U.S. Department of Education Unrestricted Resource
The Department of Education website includes valuable information on all levels of education, including statistical and financial infomation sources. The site provides a useful search engine.

National Center for Education Statistics Unrestricted Resource
This official agency site includes: Education Statistics at a Glance which is comprised of The Condition of Education, The Digest of Education Statistics, and Projections of Education Statistics. In addition, there is a searchable database of NCES tables and figures. This search tool lets the user locate all tables/figures published in the inventory of NCES' "Education Statistics Quarterly"; the NEDRC (National Education Data Resource Center) Postsecondary Table Library; and many NCES publications.


Condition of Education
Summarizes important developments and trends in education using the latest available data.

State Education Data Profiles
Provides information on education by state and allows for comparisons of up to four states at once.

 
Find Scholarly Resources on the Job
After you receive your degree, you can still access scholarly journal articles through ELM (Electronic Library of Minnesota). You will need a barcode or identification number from your public library to sign into these databases when you are no longer an SCSU student. You will see familiar databases like Academic Search Premier and ERIC. Interested in graduate school? ELM provides access to the LearningExpress Library which inlcludes practice graduate school exams.

ELM: Electronic Library for Minnesota Unrestricted Resource elm database
ELM (Electronic Library for Minnesota) gives Minnesota residents online access to magazine, journal, and newspaper articles; eBooks (electronic books); and information from other reference sources via a selection of databases.

ELM for Teachers
Pulls together ELM resources for you and your students. 

MNLINK
Like ELM, MNLINK is a service that connects Minnesotans with library resources. You will need a public library account.


Other freely available scholarly resources:

  • DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals): Includes peer-reviewed journals on all subjects including education.
  • DOAB (Directory of Open Access Books): Includes open access books. 
  • ERIC: Produced by the U.S. Department of Education, ERIC features reports, articles, and book chapters on education and counseling. 
  • Sage Open: Open access journal focused on social sciences. 
  • SSRN (Social Science Research Network): Includes pre-print and other open access materials from the social sciences. 

 

 
Subject Specialist
Picture: Robin Ewing

Robin Ewing
Professor, Research Librarian
MC 130B
(320) 308-2093
rlewing@stcloudstate.edu

Services for Alumni
Library Access for Alumni and Community
  • Book checkout: Borrow up to 10 books for four weeks.
  • Interlibrary loan services: Borrow books from our network of libraries.
  • Online library resources: Access library databases while on campus.
Information Technology Services: Accounts, Passwords & Email
Information on your StarID
 
Mendeley

Like Zotero, Mendeley is an open-source bibliographic management tool that will allow you to save citations directly from library databases in any format you choose. Mendeley is also free, just for signing up, and you'll keep your account after you graduate.
 
 



If you have a RefWorks account, you'll want to transfer your citations from RefWorks to Mendeley. Mendeley is available by clicking the red button above. A detailed guide showing you how to use Mendeley will be available soon. 

Mendeley doesn't have an FAQ, but does feature a series of user guides.

Mendeley Help Guides: 
https://www.mendeley.com/guides
Mendeley Videos and Tutorials: https://www.mendeley.com/guides/videos
Teaching Resources
Gutman Library's Websites for Educators

Creating Your Personal Learning Network

"A network of others whom you turn to for advice, to learn from, and to collaborate with and offer your own ideas and thoughts."

Personal Learning Network Creation for Teachers

Resources Toolkit for New Teachers
 

What Works Clearinghouse
"The What Works Clearinghouse (WWC) reviews the existing research on different programs, products, practices, and policies in education. Our goal is to provide educators with the information they need to make evidence-based decisions."
Zotero

Zotero is an open-source bibliographic management tool that allows you to save citations directly from library databases in any citation format you choose. You can also use Zotero to create bibliographies and lists of references for term papers. Zotero is free, just for signing up, and you'll keep your account after you graduate. It requires a one-time download.

If you have a RefWorks account, you'll want to transfer your citations from RefWorks to Zotero. Zotero is available by clicking the red button above. A detailed guide showing you how to use Zotero will be available soon. 

Zotero FAQs: https://www.zotero.org/support/frequently_asked_questions

Quick Guide - Moving citations from RefWorks to Zotero


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University