WIkipedia:Introduction: What Is Wikipedia?
Concise, organized orientation to Wikipedia and how to edit and create entries. Includes an excellent editing tutorial,as well as explanation of shortcuts on how to find resources for editors and contributors.
WIkipedia: Five Pillars
The five fundamental principles of WIkipedia. This page includes Wikipedia norms for behavior and discourse, as well as all Wikipedia polices and guidelines.
Create your Wikipedia account!
A collection of nearly 39 million freely usable media files that anyone can use. Set up a Wikipedia account to upload Creative Commons licensed media. Please credit the content creators or providers appropriately if using the media for projects or presentations.
Help: Editing Wikipedia
Visual Editor User Guide
Wikipedia Cheatsheet for Code
Don't worry if you don't know html--this cheatsheet is a BIG help to get you started on how to format Wikipedia pages.
Wikipedia Manual of Style
Wikipedia:The Missing Manual
Includes information on how to communicate with fellow editors and content creators through Wikipedia, how to add media, categorization of articles, and customizing pages. One stop shop!
Search here for WikiProjects in all subjects and for articles that need work.
All Wikipedia articles related to Minnesota. Includes list of articles to work on as well as topics not yet covered.
"This project covers the creation and editing of articles related to the U.S. State of Minnesota, its cities, counties, geography, transportation, culture, history, and so on. It aims to expand Wikipedia's resources on Minnesota in a NPOV and accurate manner.
"This WikiProject was formed to coordinate the development of better articles on the U.S. state of Minnesota. This page and its subpages contain suggestions on formatting and layout of articles, which can be discussed at the project's talk page" (WikiProject Minnesota page).
Index of Minnesota-related Wikipedia Articles
The list of existing Minnesota related Wikipedia articles. Great place to start work!
"The GLAM-Wiki initiative ("galleries, libraries, archives, and museums" with Wikipedia; also including botanic and zoological gardens) helps cultural institutions share their resources with the world through collaborative projects with experienced Wikipedia editors" (Wikipedia GLAM page). Includes links to Wikimedia Commons and Wikimedia Outreach initiatives.
Wikipedia: Education Program
Wikimedia Foundation's official orientation materials for educators, volunteers, and students to prepare for a successful editathon, class assignment, or course built around creating and editing Wikipedia entries.
Wikipedia: Education Program Materials for Educators
Get involved with the Wikipedia Education Program! Wikipedia will show you how.
Wikipedia: How to run an edit-a-thon (aka "Wikipedia Party")
Wikipedia editing basics: Citing Sources (Part 1) Video
Wikipedia editing basics: Citing Sources (Part 2) Video
Wikipedia editing basics: Uploading and Adding Images
Associate Professor, Collection Management Librarian