University Library at St. Cloud State University

St. Cloud: You Are Here! Campus and Community, Past and Present

Campus Map, 1934.
Primary Sources

University Archives

University Archives maintains St. Cloud State’s corporate memory by preserving and making available records, photographs and publications of long-term value. The records details St. Cloud State’s development and serves as a resource of information about St. Cloud State’s programs, people, policies and properties.


In addition to information about St. Cloud State, University Archives houses and manages records from organizations related to the University along with collections of rare books and publications and papers of central Minnesota authors including Sinclair Lewis.



Minnesota Historical Society Collections Online
Collections from the Minnesota Historical Society visually represent Minnesotans, their lives, landscapes, leisure and occupations from the pre-territorial period to the present.  Collections Online includes records for three-dimensional objects, photographs, art, maps, some manuscripts, and the KSTP-TV Archive.


Minnesota History Magazine Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Minnesota History is a lively, richly illustrated magazine published by the Minnesota Historical Society Press. Each issue offers a variety of topics drawn from more than 150 years of state and regional history. Issues from 1948-present are available in print in the Miller Center Library and older issues are available in microform.  Full-text available online from MHS for 2005 and older. 


Digital Collections of the University of Minnesota Libraries
Find graphics from image collections ranging from African-American Literature Cover Art to World War I and II posters. The poster collection from both world wars contains 8,000 posters from the U of M and Minneapolis Public Library. They are from government, commercial, and charitable sources.

Minnesota Digital Library: Minnesota Reflections
The collection brings you more than 210,000 images, maps and documents from more than 155 of the state's cultural heritage organizations. This site offers resources on Minnesota's history and geography for researchers, educators, students, and the public.
 
Locally Relevant Statistics Sources
American Community Survey Data Tool
View data about a U.S. county or city/town of interest. Scroll down to the easy-to-use interactive query window. Default landing page is the most recent data year. Select other years from the menu bar at the top of the American Community Survey page. Data source is: American FactFinder.

American FactFinder
Tables and maps of most recent demographic and economic data for all geographies including the U.S., states, counties, cities, towns, American Indian reservations, metropolitan areas, zip codes, census tracts, blocks, and more. Produced by the US Census Bureau.


Bureau of Economic Analysis
BEA produces economic accounts statistics that enable government and business decision-makers, researchers, and the American public to follow and understand the performance of the Nation's economy. To do this, BEA collects source data, conducts research and analysis, develops and implements estimation methodologies, and disseminates statistics to the public. (Website)

St. Cloud Data from the Bureau of Labor Statistics
"The Bureau of Labor Statistics is the principal fact-finding agency for the Federal Government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics."

This is a direct link to information on St. Cloud; there are navigation tools on the page to view data from other regions.

Bureau of Transportation Statistics Data by State
State Transportation by the Numbers: select a state to view its transportation summary report.

Energy Information Administration
Tracks energy production and consumption from a variety of sources on a national and state level. 

Choose 'Geography' from the menu bar at the top of the Energy Information Administration homepage to view data by region.

National Agricultural Statistical Service Data by State
The National Agricultural Statistics Service provides timely, accurate, and useful statistics in service to U.S. agriculture. Click the desired state to be taken to a page with links to regional data.

USDA's NASS Minnesota Field Office is operated in cooperation with the Minnesota Department of Agriculture.

National Center for Educational Statistics Search for Public School Districts
Search here for information on school districts in any U.S. local area, including St. Cloud. 'Public Schools' is a separate search. Output will include school name, number of students, and demographic profile of the student body for each school.

National Center for Health Statistics - 'Stats for the States'
Interactive state-by-state map to regional health statistics.

The mission of the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) is to provide statistical information that will guide actions and policies to improve the health of the American people. As the Nation's principal health statistics agency, NCHS leads the way with accurate, relevant, and timely data. 

National Center for Science and Engineering Statistics - State-Level Information
The National Center for Science and Engineering Statistics (NCSES) is the nation's leading provider of statistical data on the U.S. science and engineering enterprise. Explore our website for data on research and development, the science and engineering workforce, the condition and progress of STEM education, and U.S. competitiveness in science, engineering, technology, and R&D.

Click the link above for an interactive map to show state-level information, or visit the State Indicators page to build your own report.
 

Mary O'Dea, Systems Librarian


Looking for information you can't find? Have I forgotten something really great? Is this guide confusing? Please let me know. I like fixing stuff!


modea [at] stcloudstate.edu

Cartographic Resources
Historic Maps in the University Archives
Includes maps from the 19th century.

Sanborn Digital Maps 1867-1970
Historic large scale maps (50 feet to the inch) of cities and towns in Minnesota; maps include buildings and streets with original names. Most maps for Minnesota cities available from about 1880.

St. Cloud GIS
The St. Cloud Geographic Information System provides detailed information about individual properties, private and public, within the city limits.
Newspapers, Old and New
St. Cloud Times Index
An index to the St. Cloud Times from 1928 - 2008.


'The Chronicle'
Dip a toe into archival research!

The Chronicle is a student published newspaper at St. Cloud State University. Beginning publication in 1924, it covers a wide variety of topics including campus events, athletics, and people, as well as the St. Cloud community itself.

The Chronicle is arranged in four separate series. See a librarian, or University Archivist Tom Steman for assistance with this material.

Minneapolis Star Tribune: ProQuest Newspapers Restricted Resource Some full text availableelm database
Minnesota's biggest newspaper. Search and print full-text articles from 1986 onward.

Local Business Information
St. Cloud Area Quarterly Business Reports
Quarterly Business Reports co-published by St. Cloud State University Depaprtment of Economics faculty and The St. Cloud Times. Reports are kept current and date back to ca. 2014.


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University