University Library at St. Cloud State University

SOC 480: Sociological Practice

Find Journal Articles in Library Databases
Start With: 
Sociological Abstracts Restricted Resource findit database
The primary database for scholarly articles in sociology, anthropology, social work, and related topics of study.

Other Databases to try:
Alternative Press Index Restricted Resource findit database
Index to articles published from 1991-present in over 250 alternative, radical, and liberal publications that report and analyze the practices and theories of cultural, economic, political, and social change.

Criminal Justice Abstracts Restricted Resource findit database
The premier source for finding scholarly articles and other informaiton related to criminal justice.  Topics covered include: courts and the legal process; adult corrections; crime prevention and control strategies; crime, the offender, and the victim; juvenile justice and delinquency; and police.

ERIC (ProQuest) Restricted Resource findit database
ERIC is the primary database supporting research in all areas of education, including psychology, administration, and library science.
Note: 1966 - present

Ethnic NewsWatch Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
Articles from over 200 newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Provides in-depth coverage of a wide range of current and historical topics. Limit the Source Type to "Scholarly Journals" for peer-reviewed articles.

GenderWatch Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
Articles on topics like sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, eating disorders, day care, and the workplace that support LGBT studies, family studies, gender studies, and women's studies with a unique interdisciplinary approach. Click the check box to limit results to "Peer-reviewed" for scholarly articles.

PsycINFO Restricted Resource findit database
PsycINFO is the premier source for finding scholarly articles and other information relating to all aspects of psychology and related fields.


Social Services Abstracts Restricted Resource findit database
The premier source for finding scholarly articles and other informaiton focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,300  journals as well as dissertations, and citations to book reviews.


Search Tips:

  • Search by concepts, taking out common words like effect, affect, good, bad, etc.
  • Using AND focuses or limits your search (you get fewer results). Using OR broadens or expands your search (you get more results).
  • Use * to search for different word endings (child* searches child, child's, children, children's but also childbirth) and plurals.
  • Use quotation marks around phrases.
  • Try the Advanced Search. Change the "field" you are search using the pull down menu (for example, search for keywords only in the "Title" of an article).
Find Statistics
American FactFinder
Tables and maps of most recent demographic and economic data for all geographies including the U.S., states, counties, cities, towns, American Indian reservations, metropolitan areas, zip codes, census tracts, blocks, and more. Produced by the US Census Bureau.

Criminal Justice Statistics Center
This Web site contains more than 5,000 statistical tables, 59 reports, 29 publications, links to federal, state, and local agency statistics, and links to other criminal statistics services. Provided by the State of California Department of Justice.

Digest of Education Statistics
Provides a compilation of statistical information covering the field of American education from pre-K through graduate school. Print copies of the Digest are located in the Government Documents collection at the call number US Docs ED 1.140:

FedStats
More than 100 agencies in the United States Federal Government produce statistics of interest to the public.

Kids Count
Kids Count is an effort to track the status of children in the U.S. By providing policymakers and citizens with benchmarks of child well-being, Kids Count seeks to enrich local, state, and national discussions concerning ways to secure better futures for all children.

Minnesota State Demographic Center
Distributes demographic data from state, U.S. Census Bureau and other sources; also provides access to analytic reports produced by Minnesota Planning, a state agency.

Find Books and Other Resources
 
The Miller Center Library's collection of books, videos, and more can be searched using MnPALS

Sociology books are located in the Basement West of the Miller Center in the call number range HM.  

HM435-477    History of sociology
HM481-554    Theory and methods
HM621-656    Culture
HM661-696    Social control
HM701          Social systems
HM706          Social structure
HM711-806    Groups and organizations
HM826          Social institutions
HM831-901    Social change
HM1001-1281 Social psychology
Subject Specialist
Picture: Michael Gorman

Michael Gorman
Associate Professor, Research Librarian
MC 140F
(320) 308-2028
msgorman@stcloudstate.edu

Ask a Librarian

Click to access email (answered usually within an hour during regular Reference Desk hours), chat (available 24 / 7), phone numbers for SCSU Reference Desk, and online form to set up a one-on-one (in person or via telephone) research consultation with a librarian.
Related Guides
Research Guides (By Subject or Course Number)
Check for subject guides related to your topic to find other relevant databases and statistical resources.
 
American Sociological Association (ASA)
Formatting in Sociology (ASA Style)
Provides reference examples for books, journals, and other resources as well as examples for formatting your manuscript and in-text references. Part of "The OWL at Purdue" guides.
Quick Style Guide (American Sociological Association)
Provides examples of reference lists, footnotes and endnotes, and miscellaneous style and grammar tips.
Find Overview and Background Information
Blackwell Dictionary of Sociology Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref ebook

Cambridge Dictionary of Sociology Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref ebook

Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase eref ebook
Provides online access to over 500 reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) in all subject areas. This is the premier place to look up a quick fact or to search for background information on a research topic.

SAGE Reference Online Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase eref ebook
Provides access to 90 full-text specialized encyclopedias that offer excellent background information on a topic.


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University