Faculty like students have a variety of information needs. This brief introduction will guide you through our online presence and assist in your search for resources to support course curriculum, research, personal interests along with detailed information about our many services including Inter-Library Loan (ILL), Electronic Reserves, and Purchase Requests.
The library liaison for Nursing Science is Cindy Gruwell (contact information noted on your right).
- Yellow: Links to the library catalog (MnPALS Plus) and all databases
- Green: Subject guides for all major areas of study...each includes subject specific reference, article and image databases, etc...
- Purple: Course guides designed in collaboration and faculty to support specific courses (take a look at Nursing)
- Blue: Citation information including RefWorks citation management software where you can build your own database of resources
- Red: Links to ILL, Course Reserves, and Faculty Resources
Exlore MnPALS using the advanced search page (search: nursing education) using a combination of terms, limit years, format, etc...
CINAHL Plus with Full Text (Nursing)
Search 3,000+ journals in nursing and allied health back to 1937; covers nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, etc.
A collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic
Index with fulltext for 550 scholarly journals covering many areas of medicine. Include the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide covering 1300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4700 brand names.
Search over 1,200 scholarly journals published by Elsevier. ScienceDirect is multisubject, but specializes in science. Note: We do not have full text access to all journals. 1993 to present for Academic Press journals; 1996 to present for Elsevier journals
Science, technology, engineering, medical and some social sciences literature from 15,000 scholarly journals from 4,000 international publishers.
Professor, Research Librarian
Child and Family Studies
Communication Sciences and Disorders
Medical Images for Nursing Students
NURS 306/307 Nursing Care of Older Adults
NURS 308: Nursing Informatics
NURS 403: Research in Nursing Practice
NURS 413: Cross Cultural Nursing and Global Health
NURS 417: Scholarship for Evidence Based Practice
NURS 419 Improving Patient Outcomes Across the Lifespan
NURS 490: Pharmacology in Nursing
Medical Images for Nursing Students
In addition there are numerous videos available for your classes and students. The library gives you access to these resources in the form of DVDs and web streaming.
Search for Video and Films at the Miller Center Library
Alexander Street Videos - Nursing Education in Video
Kanopy Videos - Nursing: Interviewing Skills
Films on Demand (General)
Films on Demand: Health & Medicine
MedlinePlus: Video and Cool Tools
Note: Refworks is a subscription database (you will need to register). It is enormously helpful for research and the formating of bibliographies in WORD. Assistance is available through your library liaison.
Citation Styles (APA, MLA, etc.)
Consult examples of APA, MLA, Chicago/Turabian, and other citation styles, and use Mendeley or Zotero to manage your references and format your bibliography.
Manage your research and create bibliographies with a click of a button. Set up your account from an on-campus computer and then use RefWorks from anywhere. If you are asked, our "group code" is RWStCloudSU.