University Library at St. Cloud State University

MUSM 353: Music Since 1900

New York Times Music News

Loading ...

Find Books, Scores, Recordings, Videos ...
LibSearch Unrestricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Search the library's physical collection (books, movies, music, government publications, etc.) along with online journals and e-books to which the Library subscribes -- all in a single search.


search limits imageStart by typing keywords into the search box. When you view the list of search results, you can limit by Resource Type (articles, audio (sound recordings), books, scores, etc.).

If you need to find scholarly, peer-reviewed articles, be sure to select the Peer-Reviewed (Scholarly) checkbox.

 
  • Tips for finding scores and/or sound recordings: Search for composer's name and an important keyword from the title of the work

    Example: Arnold Schoenberg's Verklarte Nacht
    Actual search: schoenberg nacht
 
  • Tips for finding books: For books about a specific composer or criticism of his/her work (secondary resources), use the Advanced Search to search the composer's last name by "Subject"

    For writings by the person, him/herself (primary resources), add one of the following words: interviews, correspondence, personal narratives, or diaries

WorldCat Restricted Resource database
Search for materials beyond SCSU, from thousands of libraries and institutions around the world. Click on the FindIt! button and sign in to and request items through Interlibrary Loan.

Films on Demand: Music & Dance Restricted Resource Resource contains video
Streaming video on topics in music appreciation, music history, and world music as well as ballet, choreography, world dance, and more.
Search Other Article Databases
Music Literature (RILM) Restricted Resource findit database
Covers all areas of music scholarship, including, concert reviews, recording notes, dance, anthropology, ethnomusicology, music theory, music therapy, instruments and voice.

America: History & Life Restricted Resource findit database
Search 2,000 scholarly journals on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present (the rest of the world is covered in Historical Abstracts).

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Provides access to scholarly journals in anthropology, ecology, economics, education, general science, history, literature, mathematics, political science, philosophy, and more. Some journals have "moving wall" access that does not include the most recent 2-5 years.
Find Performance Reviews
The following databases search current and historical newspapers and periodicals. Search by composer, composition, or performer and limit by date.

ProQuest Global Newsstream Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Fulltext of 300+ U.S. and international news sources. Includes the New York Times (1999 to present), The Times of London (index and abstract only), the Wall Street Journal (1984 to present), and the StarTribune of Minneapolis (1986 to present).

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Full page and full article images from The New York Times with searchable fulltext from 1851 through 2013. Full indexing is available for articles, performance and book reviews, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth/marriage announcements, photos, and advertisements.
Note: 1851-2009
Format Your Citations in MLA Format
You are required to use the 8th edition of the MLA Style Manual for your project.

Guides and Tutorials for MLA Formatting:
Works Cited Examples:

MLA examples

Tip: When searching library databases for your sources, use the "Citation" or "Cite" tool and select MLA (8th edition) to copy and paste the citation for that source. Be sure to always double-check the formatting that the database provides. It is not always accurate. Look over the format of the authors' names and capitalization in particular.

In-Text Citations Examples:

MLA in text citation examples
 
Subject Specialist
Picture: Melissa Prescott

Melissa Prescott
Professor, Research Librarian
MC 204E
(320) 308-4751
mkprescott@stcloudstate.edu

Look for Definitions
Oxford Music Online
Includes the complete full text of The Oxford Dictionary of Music, The Oxford Companion to Music, and Grove Music Online.

Harvard Biographical Dictionary of Music
Biographical information about composers, performers, music theorists, and instrument makers from the days of praise chants to the bop and pop of today.

Musical Terms, Symbols, and Theory: An Illustrated Dictionary
Fully cross referenced, this dictionary is an authoritative source for researchers, musicologists, professional musicians, teachers and students of music, and educated members of the public.
Music Resources in the Library


Miller Center 3rd Floor

All music books and scores are on the 3rd floor of the Miller Center Library. Call numbers starting with:

M = the music itself (both scores and sound recordings)
ML = music literature (materials about music, composers, or music history)
MT = music theory or music instruction and study

All sound recordings are kept behind the Circulation Desk on 1st floor; ask for them by call number.
Understanding Scholarly Sources
Journal covers image

From Idea to Library
Video tutorial on how scholarly articles are written, published, and made accessible to researchers and students. From the NCSU Libraries.

Scholarly vs. Popular Materials Guide (NCSU)
Guide to distinguishing between scholarly journals, popular magazines, and trade journals/magazines.
Popular vs. Scholarly practice
Compare and contrast the following articles. What makes one popular and the other scholarly?
 
MLA Works-Cited Entries -- General Guidelines

Direct link: https://youtu.be/lSekgYAdQcU
Marquette University
 
MLA In-Text Citations -- General Guidelines

Direct link: https://youtu.be/R5igNRmKLug
Imagine Easy Solutions


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University