Articles and Databases
FOR ALL TOPICS
Plagiarism and Academic Dishonesty
Ethics in the Workplace
Search for books, ebooks, videos, government publications, recordings, music scores, and other materials available at the library. Use the limiters (formats, collections, language, call numbers, etc.) to focus on specific collections.
Borrow, Request, Renew
Information on library materials checkout, online renewal, interlibrary loan, equipment checkout, and more.
Learn, Evaluate, Cite
Citation resources, information on evaluating materials for credibility and authenticity, and more.
An excellent guide from the University of Washington-Bothell to the various types of publications available to undergradates. Of particular importance to business students is the description of trade journals.
Business Source Complete
Premium full-text content and peer-reviewed business journals covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more.
Each article in BSC has subject headings attached to it. A full list of subject headings can be found in the Thesaurus, in the blue menu bar at the top of the page. Look for these to do more narrowly focused searches. For example, a search in BSP's Thesaurus for "retirement" will retrieve additional subject headings like "retirement planning," "retirement benefits," and so forth.
Academic Search Premier (all topics) from EBSCO
Academic Search Premier (ASP) contains indexing for nearly 8,050 publications, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. ASP provides full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
NOTE: While much of HR Magazine is available online for free, most is available full-text through Business Source Complete. After examining HR Magazine's website, try searching Business Source Complete for additional articles from HR.
There is a competing magazine indexed by Business Source Complete called "HR Magazine (MA Business & Leisure)." To ensure that your articles are from the HR Magazine published by the Sociedty for Human Resource Management, do a search for ["HR Magazine" not "Business & Leisure"], followed by your topic. Like this:
From the SCSU Student Handbook - Prohibited Student Conduct:
Any student who attempts or assists others to commit prohibited conduct as defined below may be held accountable as committing the prohibited act ... Academic dishonesty [is] including but not limited to: cheating, plagiarism, falsification, and collusion. This includes any violation of the Academic Integrity Policy:
University of Texas at Austin - Plagiarism Tutorial
An interactive tutorial on avoiding plagiarism, complete with videos and mini-quizzes.
University of Southern Mississippi Plagiarism Tutorial
A tutorial with examples of incorrect and correct paraphrases and advice of acceptable use of resources.
Work Life Balance from the Harvard Business Review (special section)
An entire section of articles on how to balance your personal life with your career.
TED Talks on Work Life Balance
TED is a nonprofit organization created for the purpose of generating new ideas to address issues in culture, work, politics, and interpersonal relationships.
Hitting the Intergenerational Sweet Spot from the Harvard Business Review (article)
All about managing different generations in one workplace.
Managing People from Five Generations from the Harvard Business Review (article)
Generations United website
Generations United is a non-profit advocacy group whose mission is "to improve the lives of children, youth, and older people through intergenerational collaboration, public policies, and programs for the enduring benefit of all." The website includes a report on intergenerational workforce management written in collaboration with MetLife: "Generations in the Workplace: Engaging the Best Talent of All Ages."
Ethics and Compliance Initiative
The ECI is a non-profit institution founded in 1922, dedicated to researching and establishing ethics and integrity best practices for the workplace. Their members are a combination of industry professionals and academics who have teamed up to create high-quality ethics and compliance programs.
Associate Professor, Research Librarian
Monday, 2:00 - 4:00 pm
Thursday, 4:00 - 6:00 pm
Tuesday, 1:30 - 3:00 pm
Thursday, 2:30 - 4:00 pm
If the above times are not convenient, please call or e-mail to set up an appointment.
PayScale is a business intelligence company started in 2002 that compiles salary data from around the country in almost all areas of industry and makes them available to consumers and companies. Use the salary negotiation guide to learn more about asking for and getting the salary you want and to find out how much people are making in that particular profession.
WomenForHire.com: Negotiating Salary 101
Many studies have shown that one of the reasons women make less than men in most industries is that their salary negotiation skills are undermined by their own perceptions of worth. WomenForHire.com offers advice to women seeking employment and tips for negotiating equitable salaries.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Nationally recognized source of career information, designed to provide valuable assistance to individuals making decisions about their future work lives. Describes what workers do on the job, working conditions, the training and education needed, earnings, and expected job prospects in a wide range of occupations.
These three terms are NOT interchangeable. Cybersecurity refers to the securing of electronic data, records, transmissions, and other online transactions. Information security is the securing and protection of all data, records, transmissions, and transactions, whether they're online or face-to-face. Both of these are subsets of the larger field of information assurance, which refers to the managerial policies, legal aspects, risk management, training, and methods taken to secure the flow of information within companies, government agencies, industry, and so forth.
Business - Information Assurance
The online library research guide for Information Assurance majors in the Herberger Business School.
US-CERT: United States Computer Emergency Readiness Team
From the US Department of Homeland Security.
Dictionary of Finance and Investment Terms
Terms related to stocks, bonds, mutual funds, banking, tax laws, and transactions in the various financial markets are presented alphabetically with descriptions. Readers will also find a helpful list of financial abbreviations and acronyms, as well as illustrative diagrams and charts.
Harvard Business Review: The Crisis in Retirement Planning (article)
Retirement essentials from AARP (American Association of Retired Persons)
Advice, planning, calculators and other useful tools.
An extensive article on workplace privacy with an emphasis on employee rights. Check out the links at the end of the article to other organizations that advocate for employees on many issues, including workplace privacy.
Employee Monitoring and Workplace Privacy Law from the American Bar Association's Section of Labor and Employee Law (article)
An in-depth review of federal and state law governing employee monitoring in the workplace.
Diversity management from Diversity Inc.
Diversity Inc. is a respected newsmagazine that covers all aspects of diversity in the workplace.
Created by the International Business Center at Michigan State University. Use the Country menu to find information about the corporate cultures of nations, business regulations, business climate, and so forth.
From the International Finance Corporation, World Bank Group. The Doing Business Project "provides objective measures of business regulations and their enforcement across 181 economies and selected cities at the subnational and regional level." This site offers measures of the strength of the legal and regulatory environments in countries: not only what regulations are in place, but what bodies exist to enforce them, and to what extent the regulations are enforced.
Doing Business in International Markets
From the Office of Commercial and Business Affairs (CBA) of the US State Department. US-CBA coordinates trade and investment matters in support of US firms doing business overseas, providing information on "corruption and bribery in overseas markets, U.S. export controls on sensitive equipment and technologies, and business-related visas for employees, partners and clients of U.S. firms."