University Library at St. Cloud State University

MGMT 497 - Strategic Management (Moorthy)

Company Information
Business Source Complete Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Premium full-text content and peer-reviewed business journals covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more.
 
Finding company information in BSC: 
At the top of the BSC web page, you'll see a blue bar with links to various items; one of these is "More." Place your cursor over "More" to bring up a pulldown menu. One of the menu options is "Company Profiles." Here, you'll find downloadable company profiles from MarketLine, a well-known and reputable purveyor of company and business data.  Key information presented in MarketLine reports includes sales, employees, SWOT analyses, and primary competitors. Profiles of medical supply companies comes from MedTrack, another business intelligence company.

To find news about the company in major publications, enter the name of the company in the search interface. Specify in the drop-down menu in the search interface that you're searching by "CO Company Entity." 
 
 
Mergent Intellect Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Provides access to private and public U.S. and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, the ability to access industry profiles, and much more.

Finding company information in Mergent Intellect:
Enter the name of the company you're researching in the search box near the top of Mergent Intellect's webpage (the box will say, "Search by Company name, Ticker or URL"). On the following page, scroll down to see a list of companies, and choose the company you're researching by clicking its name. This will take you to a page with information about the company: financial and industry details, executives, competitors, SEC filings, and more.
 

International Directory of Company Histories
REF HD2721 .D36x Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
This directory includes the historical development of companies that exceed US$25 million in annual sales and are leading influences in their industries or geographic area. Each volume contains a cumulative, industry and geographic indexes  
 

 
Industry Trends
NOTE:  While there are a number of guides that follow trends in particular industries, often the only real way to track trends is through the press. Below is a list of databases that publish news on industry trends. In addition to databases, there are print resources in Miller Library that track trends in specific industries. Please consult the librarians for assistance in finding additional resources in the print reference collection. 

NetAdvantage (Standard & Poor's) Restricted Resource database
A comprehensive source of business and investment information including industry surveys, stock reports, company descriptions and financials, and mutual fund research. For tips, see the NetAdvantage User Guide.

Mergent Intellect Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Provides access to private and public U.S. and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, the ability to access industry profiles, and much more.

Finding Industry Profiles in Mergent Intellect
Mergent Intellect includes a sub-database called First Research, which includes industry profiles for over 500 industries and 1000 sub-industries. To search First Research, scroll down Mergent Intellect's webpage to find the link for First Research. The database will require a secondary login with your SCSU e-mail address. Do not use a gmail or other external e-mail address, as this will effectively block you from the database.

Business Source Complete Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Premium full-text content and peer-reviewed business journals covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more.

Finding Information on Markets and Economic Conditions in BSC
BSP includes in-depth analyses of the economies, markets and financial environments of almost all nations. These analyses are compiled and written by reputable companies like the Economist Intelligence Unit and Business Monitor (EIU publications have a six-month embargo). To limit your search to economic reports for a particular country, enter the industry you're researching in the first box in the search interface, then the name of the country in which the industry operates in the second box in the search interface. Specify "GE Geographic Terms" in the pull-down menu for the country.

 

 
NEW: NetAdvantage for ROI, etc.
To find ROI, ROA, etc. in NetAdvantage, do a search for the company profile as we did in class (NetAdvantage -> Companies (in blue bar on top of webpage) -> Companies (in popup box, under “Search Profiles”) -> search for your company by name -> company profile). Then look to the left side of the webpage for the light blue menu box. Click "Ratios."



 The Ratios page expresses numbers as percentages. To get exact numbers, click the desired ratio percentage. Don't just place your cursor over the ratio percentage; you have to CLICK IT to get a popup box with numbers. For example, if I click 19.3%, the return on capital for Boeing for 2013, the popup box looks like this:



The little red carats (arrows) pointing to the right indicate that additional stats are available. Click to retrieve.

  
Subject Specialist
Picture: Olivia Olivares

Olivia Olivares
Associate Professor, Research Librarian
MC 140E
(320) 308-4822
oolivares@stcloudstate.edu

Olivia's contact hours, Fall 2018
At the Reference Desk:
Tuesday, 2:00 - 4:00 pm
Thursday, 4:00 - 6:00 pm 


Office hours:
Tuesday, 1:30 - 3:00 pm
Wednesday, 2:30 - 4:00 pm

If the above times are not convenient, please call or e-mail to set up an appointment.
Case Studies and Strategic Analysis
Harvard Business School Cases
From the HBS Case Studies website: "The case method forms the basis of learning at Harvard Business School. It is designed to challenge students by bringing them as close as possible to business situations of the real world. Judgment and experience lie at the very core of managerial success. Harvard Business School Publishing makes cases and related materials available to improve and enhance business education around the world." Cases are available only for sale here, but tend to be reasonably priced ($3.00-8.00 each).

From time to time, HBS cases are also available in BSC. However, BSC doesn't have the full complement of available cases. Might be worth your time to search BSC before you pay, though.

Emerald FullText Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Emerald provides access to the fulltext content or more than 100 management and information services journals published by MCBPress (UK). Among the journal titles for business are European Business Review, European Journal of Marketing, Benchmarking, Balance Sheet, International Journal of Public Sector Management, International Marketing Review, and Journal of Consumer Marketing; titles for information services include Library Hi Tech, and Reference Services Review.

Finding Case Studies and Competitive Analysis in Emerald FullText: 
Unfortunately, Emerald FullText offers no way to search by subject term or topic. Use the terms you found in BSC to do keyword searches in Emerald. 

Business Source Complete Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Premium full-text content and peer-reviewed business journals covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more.

Finding Case Studies and Competitive Analysis in BSC: 
While BSC offers the research the option of limiting a search to case studies only, this option is likely to block any number of useful materials. A better way to find in-depth analysis of the management structures and strategic planning of a particular company in BSC is to first use the Thesaurus (in the blue bar at the top of the web page) to find terms related to strategic planning and/or competitive advantage. Try a search for "strategic" or "competitive" to find related subject terms within BSP: "strategic planning," "strategic alliances," "strategic enterprise planning," "competitive advantage," "competitive business intelligence," etc. Try a combined company name search with one of the above terms to find articles on the strategic planning of that company.



 
Market Research
SRDS Media Solutions Advertising Sources Restricted Resource database
The Standard Rate and Data Service (SRDS) is a collection of databases offering information of interest to advertising and marketing students, including the Business Media Advertising Source and Consumer Media Advertising Source. Most importantly, SRDS offers access to Claritas Segmentation and Market Solutions, the online replacement for the print resource, Lifestyle Market Analyst.  

U.S. Census Bureau Unrestricted Resource
The Census Bureau's mission is to serve as the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy.

American FactFinder Unrestricted Resource database
Tables and maps of most recent demographic and economic data for all geographies including the U.S., states, counties, cities, towns, American Indian reservations, metropolitan areas, zip codes, census tracts, blocks, and more. Produced by the US Census Bureau.

U.S. Economic Census Unrestricted Resource
The U.S. Economic Census offers detailed statistics and information on all aspects of business and industry in the United States, including retail trade, manufacturing, and other sectors.
 

Market Share Reporter
REF HF5415.M37x Unrestricted Resource Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
A compilation of market share statistics on companies, products and services, drawn from periodical sources providing a unique source of data for competitive analysis and marketing research. Indexed by SIC code, brand name, product category or company name. Most recent five years are in Reference; older editions are located in the Main Collection.


 


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University