University Library at St. Cloud State University

MBA 698 - Capstone Project (Gulati)

The Toro Company
Industry Research
North American Industry Classification System Unrestricted Resource
North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) has replaced the U.S. Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) system. This site includes tables to NAICS-to-SIC and SIC-to-NAICS conversion. NAICS is the key to using and understanding economic statistics collected by the U.S. Census Bureau.

Because searching the NAICS structure can be a bit overwhelming, here are some pre-chosen classifications:
  • Golf courses
    • 237990 – Other Heavy and Civil Engineering Construction
    • 333924 – Industrial Truck, Tractor, Trailer, and Stacker Machinery Manufacturing
       
  • Professional contractor
    • 235117 – New housing for-sale builders
    • 236115 – New single family housing construction (except for-sale builders)
    • 236118 – Residential remodeling
    • Subsector 238 – Specialty trade contractors
       
  • Rental and specialty construction
    • 333924 – Industrial Truck, Tractor, Trailer, and Stacker Machinery Manufacturing
       
  • Sports fields and grounds
    • 237990 – Other Heavy and Civil Engineering Construction
    • 333112 – Lawn and Garden Tractor and Home Lawn and Garden Equipment Manufacturing
       
  • Agriculture
    • 333111 – Farm Machinery and Equipment Manufacturing
       
  • Homeowner
    • 333112 – Lawn and Garden Tractor and Home Lawn and Garden Equipment Manufacturing
    • 332216 – Saw Blade and Handtool Manufacturing 

Mergent Intellect Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Provides access to private and public U.S. and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, the ability to access industry profiles, and much more.

Business Source Complete Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Premium full-text content and peer-reviewed business journals covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more.
Library Research Video Modules
These videos were created for the SCSU MBA Ignite program about two years ago. They've been updated since then, and are now in need of a second update; however, I'm linking them here for anyone interested in library research. The link will take you to the SCSU MediaSpace page requesting a StarID and password; once you've entered that, you'll come to the video module.

Introduction to the SCSU University Library

The University Library catalog: Books and More

Interlibrary Loan

Using SCSU Library databases to find journal articles

SCSU University Library business research guides

The video files for Business Source Complete were corrupted somehow, and I'm working on replacements. In the meantime, here are a couple of PowerPoint presentations on using Business Source Complete, the most often-used business database at SCSU.

Business Source Complete, part 1
Business Source Complete, part 2 

Using company webpages to find company information: history, stock information, sustainability initiatives, and more

NAICS - The North American Industry Classification System

Using Mergent Intellect's First Research database to find industry information 

Using trade and industry association websites to find industry information 
 
Subject Specialist
Picture: Olivia Olivares

Olivia Olivares
Associate Professor, Research Librarian
MC 140E
(320) 308-4822
oolivares@stcloudstate.edu

Industry Associations
Industry associations are valuable sources of information because they collect statistics and data on the industry that's hard (and sometimes impossible) to find elsewhere. Many industry associations require membership for access to some data, but almost all will offer aggregate date for the United Staes. The easiest way to find these associations is to Google, "name of industry industry association." Examples: "golf course industry association," "contracting industry association," and so forth. Here are a few associations to get you started. Look for links to "resources," "Industry news," and "press."
 
Establishing Consumer Indicators
SRDS Media Planning Platform Restricted Resource database
The Standard Rate and Data Service (SRDS) is a collection of databases offering information of interest to advertising and marketing students, including the Business Media Advertising Source and Consumer Media Advertising Source. Most importantly, SRDS offers access to Claritas Segmentation and Market Solutions, the online replacement for the print resource, Lifestyle Market Analyst.  

American Community Survey Unrestricted Resource
Provides up-to-date statistical summaries based on US Census data for states, selected cities(with populations greater than 65,000) and counties. Similar to the American FactFinder.


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University