University Library at St. Cloud State University

Library Resources for Research
Jane Eyre
Developing a literary research topic
Search for Books
Search for books, eBooks, music, ...


Advanced Search

Other book sources
Google Book Search Unrestricted Resource
Allows searching within full-text of digitized books and viewing of small portions of copyrighted material or full versions of public domain items. Includes links to booksellers and libraries.
Tips for more effective searching of Google Books, can be found here:

Project Gutenberg Unrestricted Resource
A collection of more than 15,000 free electronic books.
Included are Public Domain editions of everything from Alice in Wonderland to the complete works of Shakespeare.

Internet Archive Unrestricted Resource
Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, and more.
Find scholarly journal articles
MLA International Bibliography (Languages & Literature) Restricted Resource findit database
Comprehensive current index to articles and chapters in scholarly collections for literature, linguistics, and folklore. Covers all the world's languages and literatures, both contemporary and historical.
Note: 1963 - present

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Provides access to scholarly journals in anthropology, ecology, economics, education, general science, history, literature, mathematics, political science, philosophy, and more. Some journals have "moving wall" access that does not include the most recent 2-5 years.

Project Muse Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Full-text access to more than 150 scholarly journals and eBooks in all disciplines published by Johns Hopkins University and several other university presses.

Academic Search Premier (all topics) from EBSCO Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Academic Search Premier (ASP) contains indexing for nearly 8,050 publications, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. ASP provides full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.

LibSearch Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Your first stop for finding scholarly high-quality research. Search the library's physical collection (books, movies, music, government publications, etc.) along with most of the online journals and e-books to which the Library subscribes -- all in a single search. Tip: For scholarly articles, click the check box to limit your results to peer-reviewed journals.
Literary Criticism
Literature Criticism Online Restricted Resource database
Provides online full-text scholarly essays and commentary on classic books and authors. Includes Contemporary Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, and Shakespearean Criticism.
Primary Sources
Understanding primary, secondary and tertiary sources

Primary sources can also be located in print in the Miller Center Library can be located using the Books and More Advanced Search (MnPALS) by combining keywords about your topic with these keywords: personal narratives, diaries, letters, reminiscences, correspondence, sources, speeches, notebooks, anecdotes, interviews, oral histories.

Carlyle Letters Online: A Victorian Cultural Reference:
A fully digitized version of one of the most comprehensive literary archives of the nineteenth century, the Carlyle Letters Online features thousands of letters written by Scottish author and historian Thomas Carlyle (1795–1881) and his wife, Jane Welsh Carlyle (1801–1866), to over six hundred recipients throughout the world.

Times (London) Digital Archive Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Complete fulltext, including birth and death notices, advertisements, etc. of the The Times (London) from 1785 to 1985. The content covers almost every event in the world during that period.

New York Times: 1851-2013 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Full page and full article images from The New York Times with searchable fulltext from 1851 through 2013. Full indexing is available for articles, performance and book reviews, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth/marriage announcements, photos, and advertisements.
Note: 1851-2009

Nineteenth Century US Newspapers Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Full-text content and images from about 500 U.S. newspapers published during the 19th Century. The "Research Guide" link leads to commissioned essays that provide context for the collection.
Need help with you research?
New York Times Book Review

Loading ...

Oxford English Dictionary



Oxford English Dictionary Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
The Oxford English Dictionary is the premier guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words in the English language, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books. It also offers the best in etymological analysis, listings of variant spellings, and shows pronunciation using the International Phonetic Alphabet.
Browsing for literature
Here are Library of Congress call number areas for literature if you want to browse:

Class P -- Language and Literature (located in the Miller Center basement)
PN  Literature (General)
PR  English Literature
PS  American Literature
Find background information on your topic

Search for background information on your topic in CREDO Reference

Additional Background information
Dictionary of Literary Biography
Print Location: REFERENCE PN451 .D54 and online
Contains in-depth biographical information on writers, poets, and playwrights world-wide. Each entry places the major works in the context of that person's life. Entries include a list of major works of the author, and a list of references.

Cambridge Guide to Literature in English
A basic dictionary of literary terms and key figures in English literature. Available online and in our print reference collection.

Palgrave Guide to English Literature and its Contexts, 1500-2000
Comprehensive guide to the historical and cultural context of English literature covers the core periods of literature, and history, from the English Renaissance to the present. Introduces and outlines key terms, concepts and developments and provides a series of timelines showing political, social, cultural and literary events for each year.
Evaluate and Cite Your Sources
Learn, Evaluate, Cite: Resources from the Library on evaluating and citing information

SCSU's The Write Place writing resources

Citation Styles Choose a citation style (APA, MLA, Chicago/Turabian, etc) and follow the guidelines for formatting your paper and references.


MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
MLA (Modern Language Association) style is most commonly used to write papers and cite sources within the liberal arts and humanities, including English. This resource offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the Works Cited page.

Theses and Dissertations
Repository at St. Cloud State University: provides open access to a diverse collection of academic, scholarly, scientific, and creative content produced by faculty, students, and staff at the St. Cloud State University.

St. Cloud State University Thesis Collection
Theses and starred papers completed by St. Cloud State University students are collected and maintained by the Library and are located in Basement West. These papers are searchable through the Library catalog, Books and More Search (MnPALS Plus)
Click Advanced Search for more search options, change Collection to Thesis-Basement

Open Access Theses and Dissertations: Resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world.

Dissertations and Theses Restricted Resource elm database
Catalog of all dissertations and thesis cataloged by member libraries in OCLC WorldCat.

Dissertation Abstracts - PQDT Open Unrestricted Resource findit database
Selective index to open access masters theses and dissertations from U.S., Canada, Great Britain, and Europe. Note: This is an open access subset of Dissertation Abstracts International (DAI).
Subject Specialist
Picture: Jennifer Quinlan

Jennifer Quinlan
Associate Professor, Research Librarian
MC 140G
(320) 308-5626
jmquinlan@stcloudstate.edu


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University