University Library at St. Cloud State University

Library Resources for Research
linguistics
Search for Books
Search for books, eBooks, music, ...


Advanced Search

Find scholarly journal articles
MLA International Bibliography (Languages & Literature) Restricted Resource findit database
Comprehensive current index to articles and chapters in scholarly collections for literature, linguistics, and folklore. Covers all the world's languages and literatures, both contemporary and historical.
Note: 1963 - present

Communication & Mass Media Complete Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
The main database for Communication Studies and Mass Communications. Searches over 600 journal titles that support research in communication, mass media, linguistics, language learning and related fields of study.

PsycINFO Restricted Resource findit database
PsycINFO is the premier source for finding scholarly articles and other information relating to all aspects of psychology and related fields.

ERIC (Education) Restricted Resource findit database
ERIC is the primary database supporting research in all areas of education, including psychology, administration, and library science.
Note: 1966 - present

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Provides access to scholarly journals in anthropology, ecology, economics, education, general science, history, literature, mathematics, political science, philosophy, and more. Some journals have "moving wall" access that does not include the most recent 2-5 years.
  Academic Search Premier (all topics) from EBSCO Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Academic Search Premier (ASP) contains indexing for nearly 8,050 publications, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. ASP provides full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.

LibSearch Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Your first stop for finding scholarly high-quality research. Search the library's physical collection (books, movies, music, government publications, etc.) along with most of the online journals and e-books to which the Library subscribes -- all in a single search. Tip: For scholarly articles, click the check box to limit your results to peer-reviewed journals.
Theses and Dissertations
Repository at St. Cloud State University: provides open access to a diverse collection of academic, scholarly, scientific, and creative content produced by faculty, students, and staff at the St. Cloud State University.

St. Cloud State University Thesis Collection
Theses and starred papers completed by St. Cloud State University students are collected and maintained by the Library and are located in Basement West. These papers are searchable through the Library catalog, Books and More Search (MnPALS Plus)
Click Advanced Search for more search options, change Collection to Thesis-Basement

Open Access Theses and Dissertations: Resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world.

Dissertations and Theses Restricted Resource elm database
Catalog of all dissertations and thesis cataloged by member libraries in OCLC WorldCat.

Dissertation Abstracts - PQDT Open Unrestricted Resource findit database
Selective index to open access masters theses and dissertations from U.S., Canada, Great Britain, and Europe. Note: This is an open access subset of Dissertation Abstracts International (DAI).
Need help with you research?
Find background information on your topic

Search for background information on your topic in CREDO Reference

Additional background information



Oxford English Dictionary Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
The Oxford English Dictionary is the premier guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words in the English language, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books. It also offers the best in etymological analysis, listings of variant spellings, and shows pronunciation using the International Phonetic Alphabet.

International Encyclopedia of Linguistics
Print Location, Reference Collection: REF P29 .I58 1991
Check availability
Encompasses the full range of topics in linguistics, including such areas as historical, comparative, formal, mathematical, functional, philosophical, and sociolinguistics.

Cambridge Encyclopedia of Language Sciences
Aimed at readers who have an interest in some aspect of language science but wish to learn more about the broad range of ideas, findings, practices, and prospects that constitute this rapidly expanding field, a field arguably at the center of current research on the human mind and human society.

Concise Encyclopedia of Sociolinguistics
This work provides uniquely comprehensive and authoritative information on all aspects of sociolinguistics.
Internet Resources
IDEA International Dialects of English Archive
An online archive of primary-source recordings of English dialects and accents as heard around the world.
Evaluate and Cite Your Sources
Learn, Evaluate, Cite: Resources from the Library on evaluating and citing information

SCSU's The Write Place writing resources

Citation Styles Choose a citation style (APA, MLA, Chicago/Turabian, etc) and follow the guidelines for formatting your paper and references.


MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
MLA (Modern Language Association) style is most commonly used to write papers and cite sources within the liberal arts and humanities, including English. This resource offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the Works Cited page.

Subject Specialist
Picture: Jennifer Quinlan

Jennifer Quinlan
Associate Professor, Research Librarian
MC 140G
(320) 308-5626
jmquinlan@stcloudstate.edu


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University