The Library at St. Cloud State University

Laws and Politics

Justice is Blind
Federal and State Case Law
LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
LexisNexis Academic is a collection of online full text databases covering News, Business, Legal, Medical, and Reference. News includes newspapers, magazines, wire services, broadcast transcripts, regional and international news sources, scholarly & trade journals, and a guide to current issues. Business includes company SEC reports, company profiles and financial data, and accounting literature and standards. Law resources include law reviews (journals), federal and state congressional laws as well as federal court cases. Includes the text of the U.S. Code as well as the Federal Regulations and CFR. It includes hundreds of scholarly journals in a wide range of disciplines.

FindLaw Unrestricted Resource database
FindLaw provides legal researchers with a sophisticated search engine to locate Web-accessible legal code and case law. Topical sub-searches for foreign domains by country, federal laws and regulations, or individual states are also available.

Finding Court Opinions on the Web Unrestricted Resource
Sponsored by The National Law Journal. Provides links to U.S. Supreme Court, U.S. Circuit Courts, U.S. District Courts, U.S. Bankruptcy Courts, Specialized Courts, and State Courts.
 
Federal Laws and Regulations
United States Code (online) Unrestricted Resource
From the Legal Information Institute at Cornell University. The full text of the United States Code, including updates.

United States Code Unrestricted Resource
The permanent and general laws of the United States are divided by broad subjects into fifty-one titles.

U. S Statutes at Large from the Law Library of Congress

U. S. Code of Federal Regulations from the U. S. Government Publishing Office

U. S. Federal Register from the U. S. National Archives and Records Administration



 
State of Minnesota Laws and Regulations
Minnesota.gov
The official portal to government information and services for the State of Minnesota, including the Office of the Governor.

Minnesota Office of the Revisor of Statutes
The Office of the Revisor of Statutes compiles and maintains laws, statutes and regulations for the State of Minnesota. 

State Legislature Websites from the Library of Congress
International Law and Politics
United Nations Unrestricted Resource
Offers news releases, virtual tours, documents, and basic information about the United Nations and its bodies. Three different search engines explore a large database and list of links. The site includes a wealth of reports, statistical data, and other information on human rights, international law, peacekeeping missions, and other topics (Diana Hacker, 2003).

International Court of Justice at The Hague, Netherlands

Europa: Gateway to the European Union Unrestricted Resource
Europa is the portal site of the European Union. It provides up-to-date coverage of European Union affairs and essential information on European integration. Users can also consult all legislation currently in force or under discussion, access the websites of each of the EU institutions and find out about the policies administered by the European Union under the powers devolved to it by the Treaties.

 
Subject Specialist
Picture: Olivia Olivares

Olivia Olivares
Associate Professor, Research Librarian
MC 140E
(320) 308-4822
oolivares@stcloudstate.edu

Municipal Law: Stearns County and environs
Stearns County Unrestricted Resource
Official Stearns County, Minnesota home page. Provides links to departments, services, fees, news and notices.
Stearns County (MN) Ordinances Unrestricted Resource
The Stearns County Ordinances online. This site includes links to the Minnesota Rules, information about the departments, officials, maps and directions, and job openings.

City of Saint Cloud, Minnesota Unrestricted Resource
Official web site of the City of St. Cloud, Minnesota. Links to municipal departments, officials, and facilities.
St. Cloud (MN) City Ordinances Unrestricted Resource
Links to the 1977 Ordinance Code, updated as time permits.
 
City of Waite Park, Minnesota
Politics Databases

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts Restricted Resource findit database
The premier source for finding scholarly articles and other informaiton related to political science topics.

CQ Weekly Restricted Resource Some full text available
A weekly publication covering events in Washington. Includes in-depth reports on congressional issues, a summary of the previous week's news, committee and floor activity, and debates and roll-call votes. Cancelled; access ended on 31 October 2014.

ProQuest Congressional Publications Restricted Resource
Comprehensive coverage of U.S. legislative information, including fulltext and current status of Congressional bills, laws, regulations, legislative histories for public laws, congressional hearings, and research publications. Also fulltext information on related public policy issues and legislative activities. Locate information about members and committees. Search the Congressional Record and Federal Register. 

CNN Politics





 


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University