University Library at St. Cloud State University

HONS 160: Shakespeare's Comedies (Abartis)

Background information

  The Greenwood Companion to Shakespeare: A comprehensive Guide for Students
Multivolume print encyclopedia on Shakespeare and his plays. Volume 2 is The Comedies.
Located on the first floor of the Miller Center in the Reference Collection, in-library use only
Call number: PR 2976 .G739 2005

 

Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase eref ebook
Provides online access to over 500 reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) in all subject areas. This is the premier place to look up a quick fact or to search for background information on a research topic.

Search for Books
Search for books, eBooks, music, ...


Advanced Search

Finding Library Books
Tips for Finding Books
  • Academic libraries contain materials that support the curriculum, or what is taught and studied at the college or university.
  • Most academic libraries use the Library of Congress (LC) Call Number System to organize their physical items.
  • When you search for books, videos, or other materials in the library catalog (MnPALS), you find information about each item. This information is displayed in what's called a "record." For instance, a record for a book looks like this:



To find the book, you must look for it in the library using its Call Number and its location. In our example, we can see that the item is Available and is in the Main Collection - Basement. The call number, LC67.62 .M58 2010, translates to...
  • Subclass LC -- “Special aspects of education” -- Shelved in alphabetical order
  • 67.62 -- “Social aspects of education. Economic aspects of education.” -- Shelved numerically as a whole number, sometimes with a decimal
  • .M58 -- (a.k.a. the Cutter line) author’s last name, “Mullen” -- Shelved alphabetically by the letter, then numerically as a decimal
  • 2010 -- the year the book was published -- Shelved in chronological order
Find Scholarly Journal Articles

All topics:
Academic Search Premier (all topics) from EBSCO Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Academic Search Premier (ASP) contains indexing for nearly 8,050 publications, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. ASP provides full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.

LibSearch Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Your first stop for finding scholarly high-quality research. Search the library's physical collection (books, movies, music, government publications, etc.) along with most of the online journals and e-books to which the Library subscribes -- all in a single search. Tip: For scholarly articles, click the check box to limit your results to peer-reviewed journals.

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Provides access to scholarly journals in anthropology, ecology, economics, education, general science, history, literature, mathematics, political science, philosophy, and more. Some journals have "moving wall" access that does not include the most recent 2-5 years.

Project MUSE Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Full-text access to more than 150 scholarly journals and eBooks in all disciplines published by Johns Hopkins University and several other university presses.

Topics related to history:
Historical Abstracts Restricted Resource findit database
Search over 2,000 scholarly journals covering the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).
Note: 1954 to present

Topics related to literature:
MLA International Bibliography (Languages & Literature) Restricted Resource findit database
Comprehensive current index to articles and chapters in scholarly collections for literature, linguistics, and folklore. Covers all the world's languages and literatures, both contemporary and historical.
Note: 1963 - present

Topics related to art:
Art Full Text Restricted Resource findit database
Provides indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals dating as far back as 1984, including 280 peer-reviewed journals, including full-text articles from more than 300 periodicals dating back to 1995. Also provides indexing and abstracting of over 13,000 art dissertations.
Note: For articles published from 1929-1984, use the print version of Art Index, available on the Miller Center Reference Index Shelves.

Topics related to sports:
SPORTDiscus with Full Text Restricted Resource findit database
SPORTDiscus provides comprehensive, bibliographic coverage of sports, fitness and related disciplines; does not contain fulltext but may link to the fulltext of articles in other sources.
 

Search tips for library databases:
  • Search by concepts, taking out common words like effect, affect, good, bad, etc.
  • Using AND focuses or limits your search (you get fewer results). Using OR broadens or expands your search (you get more results).
  • Use * to search for different word endings (child* searches child, child's, children, children's but also childbirth) and plurals.
  • Use quotation marks around phrases.
  • Try the Advanced Search. Change the "field" you are search using the pull down menu (for example, search for keywords only in the "Title" of an article, especially helpful in Project Muse and JSTOR).
Google Scholar
Google Scholar Restricted Resource database
Google Scholar allows you to search the Web for peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts, and articles available from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. When on campus click on "Available via SCSU FindIt" to locate the item through the Library's subscriptions.   

Some tips for searching Google Scholar:
http://guides.library.illinois.edu/c.php?g=347668&p=3835551

More tips:
http://www.umuc.edu/library/libhow/googlescholar.cfm

Information from Google about Google Scholar:

http://scholar.google.com/intl/en-US/scholar/help.html
 

Information about the "Cited by" function in Google Scholar:
http://academicguides.waldenu.edu/content.php?pid=225643&sid=1870041

Resources for HONS 160

Image courtesy of the Metropolitan Museum of Art.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Jennifer Quinlan

Jennifer Quinlan
Associate Professor, Research Librarian
MC 140G
(320) 308-5626
jmquinlan@stcloudstate.edu

Research consultation
As you continue your research, I would be happy to meet with you for a research consultation. Research consultations are intended to give you in-depth assistance in identifying and locating the resources most useful for your project. Please complete the form on our Ask a Librarian page to schedule a consultation.
Library Services
View instructions and get help with troubleshooting.

Student Study Rooms
Reserve student study rooms for group work, available on the second and third floors of the Library.

Equipment Check Out
VIsit the Circulation Desk to borrow digital cameras, camcorders, projectors, and other equipment.

Write Place
Make an appointment with a writing tutor.
Finding Your Way in the Library
Interlibrary Loan
On Library homepage, select Borrow, Request, Renew to find the Interlibrary Loan link:
http://www.stcloudstate.edu/library/borrow/interlibrary.aspx
  • From the above link select Request an article for articles SCSU Library does not own. (For books SCSU does not own, select Request a book.)
  • Login using your StarID and password.
  • Fill out the required fields of the form. 
  • Be sure to check the copyright agreement box.
  • Select Submit Request. Watch your SCSU email for information about your request.
Cite Your Sources
Citation Styles

Choose a citation style (APA, MLA, Chicago/Turabian, etc) and follow the guidelines for formatting your paper and references.

MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
MLA (Modern Language Association) style is most commonly used to write papers and cite sources within the liberal arts and humanities, including English. This resource offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the Works Cited page.

Scholarly vs. Popular Articles

Direct link: https://youtu.be/jaZUAHxSb9k


Scholarly vs. Popular Materials Guide (NCSU)
Guide to distinguishing between scholarly journals, popular magazines, and trade journals/magazines.
Effective Research Strategies
Before searching the library databases, spend a few minutes brainstorming keywords and considering synonyms that describe the individual concepts within your topic. Developing a search strategy in this way can improve the effectiveness and efficiency of your search results.


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University