University Library at St. Cloud State University

Business - General

Manufacturing and Distribution USA
News and Journal Articles
Business Source Complete Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Premium full-text content and peer-reviewed business journals covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more.

Emerald FullText Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Emerald provides access to the fulltext content or more than 100 management and information services journals published by MCBPress (UK). Among the journal titles for business are European Business Review, European Journal of Marketing, Benchmarking, Balance Sheet, International Journal of Public Sector Management, International Marketing Review, and Journal of Consumer Marketing; titles for information services include Library Hi Tech, and Reference Services Review.


Regional Business News Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
A supplemental database for customers of Business Source Premier. With daily updates, Regional Business News provides comprehensive full text for regional business publications (including titles from Crain Communications). Regional Business News has full text for more than 60 sources.

Wall Street Journal Restricted Resource Some full text availableelm database
One of the most important business newspapers in the country. Search, view, and print full-text articles from 1984 to the present.

 

 

Company Research
Business Source Complete Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Premium full-text content and peer-reviewed business journals covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more.

Finding company information in BSC: 
At the top of the BSC web page, you'll see a blue bar with links to various items; one of these is "More." Place your cursor over "More" to bring up a pulldown menu. One of the menu options is "Company Profiles." Here, you'll find downloadable company profiles from MarketLine, a well-known and reputable purveyor of company and business data.  Key information presented in MarketLine reports includes sales, employees, SWOT analyses, and primary competitors. Profiles of medical supply companies comes from MedTrack, another business intelligence company.

To find news about the company in major publications, enter the name of the company in the search interface. Specify in the drop-down menu in the search interface that you're searching by "CO Company Entity." 
 
U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) Unrestricted Resource
This site allows users to access the EDGAR database of corporate SEC filings, SEC news digests and public statements, current SEC rulemaking, proposals and final rules, SEC enforcement actions, etc.

Value Line Investment Survey
REF HG4501 .V26 Unrestricted Resource Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Value Line covers more than 1,700 companies listed on the major U.S. stock exchanges. The "Weekly summary and index" gives ratios, rankings, and price data in an alphabetical list. Detailed listings for each company are arranged in "Ratings and reports" sections, grouped by industry sectors, each introduced with an industry overview. Each also includes Value Line ratings, projections, and betas. The "Weekly selection and opinion" contains predictions about economic conditions and outlook, with profiles on recommended investments.

Hoover's Handbook of Private Companies
REF HG4057 .A28616 Unrestricted Resource Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Subject Specialist
Picture: Olivia Olivares

Olivia Olivares
Associate Professor, Research Librarian
MC 140E
(320) 308-4822
oolivares@stcloudstate.edu

Market Research
Market Share Reporter
REF HF5415.M37x Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
A compilation of market share statistics on companies, products and services, drawn from periodical sources providing a unique source of data for competitive analysis and marketing research. Indexed by SIC code, brand name, product category or company name. Most recent five years are in Reference; older editions are located in the Main Collection.



SRDS Media Solutions Advertising Sources Restricted Resource database
The Standard Rate and Data Service (SRDS) is a collection of databases offering information of interest to advertising and marketing students, including the Business Media Advertising Source and Consumer Media Advertising Source. Most importantly, SRDS offers access to Claritas Segmentation and Market Solutions, the online replacement for the print resource, Lifestyle Market Analyst.  
Industry Reports and Research
NetAdvantage (Standard & Poor's) Restricted Resource database
A comprehensive source of business and investment information including industry surveys, stock reports, company descriptions and financials, and mutual fund research. For tips, see the NetAdvantage User Guide.
 
Using NetAdvantage to find industry trends and information:
Click on "Industry Surveys" in the menu bar at the top of the page to get to the primary search interface for industries. From here, you can search a list of over 50 in-depth S&P industry surveys. You can also do a search for an industry survey by company name, if you're unsure of the industry in which your company is classified.
 
Mergent Intellect Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Provides access to private and public U.S. and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, the ability to access industry profiles, and much more.
Finding Industry Profiles in Mergent Intellect
Mergent Intellect includes a sub-database called First Research, which includes industry profiles for over 500 industries and 1000 sub-industries. To search First Research, scroll down Mergent Intellect's webpage to find the link for First Research. The database will require a secondary login with your SCSU e-mail address. Do not use a gmail or other external e-mail address, as this will effectively block you from the database.
 

Manufacturing and Distribution USA: Industry Analyses, Statistics and Leading Companies
REF HD 9721 .M364 [year] Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Provides statistical information on the U.S. manufacturing sector, including data on major companies within each industry. Data includes financial ratios, employee compensation, sales, and materials consumed within each industry. Arranged by NAICS code.
Note: 2000 - present

Industries at a Glance from the U.S. Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics.

U.S. Economic Census Unrestricted Resource
The U.S. Economic Census offers detailed statistics and information on all aspects of business and industry in the United States, including retail trade, manufacturing, and other sectors.

North American Industry Classification System Unrestricted Resource
North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) has replaced the U.S. Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) system. This site includes tables to NAICS-to-SIC and SIC-to-NAICS conversion. NAICS is the key to using and understanding economic statistics collected by the U.S. Census Bureau.

Bureau of Economic Analysis Unrestricted Resource
BEA produces economic accounts statistics that enable government and business decision-makers, researchers, and the American public to follow and understand the performance of the Nation's economy. To do this, BEA collects source data, conducts research and analysis, develops and implements estimation methodologies, and disseminates statistics to the public. (Website)
Minnesota Business Resources
Minnesota Department of Employment and Economic Development
Place your cursor over the "For Business" tab for links to resources for starting, managing and financing a business, among other useful items.
Minnesota Business magazine (full-text archive available in Regional Business News )

Twin Cities Business magazine

Minneapolis/St Paul Business Journal

Minnesota Real Estate Journal


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University