University Library at St. Cloud State University

ETHS 201: Introduction to Ethnic Studies

The Peer Review Process
Generate Topic Ideas
AllSides
Examines current topics and issues through multiple news sources that represent different political viewpoints.

American Community Survey
Provides up-to-date statistical summaries based on US Census data for states, selected cities(with populations greater than 65,000) and counties. Similar to the American FactFinder.

Points of View Reference Center
Presents multiple sides on current controversial topics. Each topic may include topical essays, supporting articles, primary source documents, images, and videos.

ProCon.org
Professionally-researched pro, con, and related information on more than 50 controversial issues.


Southern Poverty Law Center
A legal advocacy organization specializing in civil rights and public interest litigation. Look under Our Issues for topic ideas.

Colorlines
A daily news site published by Race Forward, a national organization that advances racial justice through research, media and practice.

Zinn Education Project
Based on the work of Howard Zinn, this site emphasizes the role of working people, women, people of color, and organized social movements in shaping history. The News and Why sections of the site include articles of current interest that look critically at historical topics and how they relate to today's society. You can also Explore by Theme.
Create Your Search Strategy
  • Identify the main concepts of your topic
  • Think of synonyms to describe each concept, where appropriate
  • Combine synonyms with OR and enclose in parentheses
  • Combine the different concepts with AND
  • Use truncation (*) to find multiple endings of words
** Some terms for the "institutional racism" concept: systemic, institution*, discriminat*, racism, oppression
** Some terms for the "empowerment" concept: empower*, resistan*, reform*, activis*, organizational change, agency, organizing
** Try specific terms for the group of color you are studying: japanese american*, mexican american*, dakota
** If you don't have enough search results, try using broader terms like asian american*, hispanic american*, native american*

Sample searches:

(resistan* OR "activis*) AND institutional AND (native american* or american indian*) AND education*

(racis* OR discriminat*) AND (latin* OR hispanic american*) AND politic*

(racis* OR discriminat*) AND (african american* OR blacks) AND (law OR legal)

(oppression OR discriminat*) AND asian american* AND (economic OR income)
Search for Scholarly Articles
You should select at least two databases to search for scholarly articles on your topic.

All topics:
  • LibSearch
    Search the library's physical collection (books, movies, music, government publications, etc.) along with online journals and e-books to which the Library subscribes -- all in a single search.
  • Academic Search Premier (all topics)
    Full-text articles in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
  • Ethnic NewsWatch
    Articles from over 200 newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Provides in-depth coverage of a wide range of current and historical topics. Limit the Source Type to "Scholarly Journals" for peer-reviewed articles.
  • GenderWatch
    Articles on topics like sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, eating disorders, day care, and the workplace that support LGBT studies, family studies, gender studies, and women's studies with a unique interdisciplinary approach. Click the check box to limit results to "Peer-reviewed" for scholarly articles.
  • JSTOR
    Provides access to scholarly journals in anthropology, ecology, economics, education, general science, history, literature, mathematics, political science, philosophy, and more. Some journals have "moving wall" access that does not include the most recent 2-5 years.

Criminal Justice / Crime and Punishment:
  • Criminal Justice Abstracts
    The premier source for finding scholarly articles and other information related to criminal justice.  Topics covered include: courts and the legal process; adult corrections; crime prevention and control strategies; crime, the offender, and the victim; juvenile justice and delinquency; and police.
  • Ethnic NewsWatch
    Articles from over 200 newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Provides in-depth coverage of a wide range of current and historical topics. Limit the Source Type to "Scholarly Journals" for peer-reviewed articles.
  • Sociological Abstracts
    The primary database for scholarly articles in sociology, anthropology, social work, and related topics of study.

Economics:
  • EconLit
    Index to scholarly articles and dissertations in economics and related fields. Updated monthly. Corresponds to the print index published as part of the Journal of Economic Literature.
    Note: 1969 to present
  • Business Source Complete
    Premium full-text content and peer-reviewed business journals covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more.
  • JSTOR
    Provides access to scholarly journals in anthropology, ecology, economics, education, general science, history, literature, mathematics, political science, philosophy, and more. Some journals have "moving wall" access that does not include the most recent 2-5 years.
  • Ethnic NewsWatch
    Articles from over 200 newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Provides in-depth coverage of a wide range of current and historical topics. Limit the Source Type to "Scholarly Journals" for peer-reviewed articles.

Education:
  • ERIC (EBSCO)
    ERIC is the primary database supporting research in all areas of education, including psychology, administration, and library science.
  • PsycINFO
    PsycINFO is the premier source for finding scholarly articles and other information relating to all aspects of psychology and related fields.
  • Ethnic NewsWatch
    Articles from over 200 newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Provides in-depth coverage of a wide range of current and historical topics. Limit the Source Type to "Scholarly Journals" for peer-reviewed articles.
  • Sociological Abstracts
    The primary database for scholarly articles in sociology, anthropology, social work, and related topics of study.

Environmental Racism / Environment:
  • GreenFILE
    A collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles that include content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more.
  • Ethnic NewsWatch
    Articles from over 200 newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Provides in-depth coverage of a wide range of current and historical topics. Limit the Source Type to "Scholarly Journals" for peer-reviewed articles.
  • Sociological Abstracts
    The primary database for scholarly articles in sociology, anthropology, social work, and related topics of study.

Housing:
  • Academic Search Premier (all topics)
    Full-text articles in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
  • Social Services Abstracts
    The premier source for finding scholarly articles and other informaiton focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,300  journals as well as dissertations, and citations to book reviews.
  • Ethnic NewsWatch
    Articles from over 200 newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Provides in-depth coverage of a wide range of current and historical topics. Limit the Source Type to "Scholarly Journals" for peer-reviewed articles.
  • Sociological Abstracts
    The primary database for scholarly articles in sociology, anthropology, social work, and related topics of study.

Laws / Public Policies:
  • Ethnic NewsWatch
    Articles from over 200 newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Provides in-depth coverage of a wide range of current and historical topics. Limit the Source Type to "Scholarly Journals" for peer-reviewed articles.
  • Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
    The premier source for finding scholarly articles and other informaiton related to political science topics.
  • Sociological Abstracts
    The primary database for scholarly articles in sociology, anthropology, social work, and related topics of study.

Media:
  • Communication & Mass Media Complete
    The main database for Communication Studies and Mass Communications. Searches over 600 journal titles that support research in communication, mass media, linguistics, language learning and related fields of study.
  • Ethnic NewsWatch
    Articles from over 200 newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Provides in-depth coverage of a wide range of current and historical topics. Limit the Source Type to "Scholarly Journals" for peer-reviewed articles.

Medical / Health Care:
  • Alt HealthWatch
    Emphasis on holistic and integrated approaches to wellness and health care. Index with abstracts to articles back to 1984, full text for 180 journals and reports back to 1990.
  • Health Source: Nursing/Academic
    Index with fulltext for 550 scholarly journals covering many areas of medicine. Include the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide covering 1300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4700 brand names.
  • PsycINFO
    PsycINFO is the premier source for finding scholarly articles and other information relating to all aspects of psychology and related fields.
  • Ethnic NewsWatch
    Articles from over 200 newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Provides in-depth coverage of a wide range of current and historical topics. Limit the Source Type to "Scholarly Journals" for peer-reviewed articles.

Military:
  • America: History & Life
    Search 2,000 scholarly journals on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present (the rest of the world is covered in Historical Abstracts).
  • Ethnic NewsWatch
    Articles from over 200 newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Provides in-depth coverage of a wide range of current and historical topics. Limit the Source Type to "Scholarly Journals" for peer-reviewed articles.
  • Sociological Abstracts
    The primary database for scholarly articles in sociology, anthropology, social work, and related topics of study.
  • Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
    The premier source for finding scholarly articles and other informaiton related to political science topics.

Politics:
  • Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
    The premier source for finding scholarly articles and other informaiton related to political science topics.
  • Ethnic NewsWatch
    Articles from over 200 newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Provides in-depth coverage of a wide range of current and historical topics. Limit the Source Type to "Scholarly Journals" for peer-reviewed articles.
  • Sociological Abstracts
    The primary database for scholarly articles in sociology, anthropology, social work, and related topics of study.

Religion:
  • Philosopher's Index
    A comprehensive database that searches the contents of over 550 philosophical journals as well as books, anthologies, and book reviews related to topics in philosophy.
  • JSTOR
    Provides access to scholarly journals in anthropology, ecology, economics, education, general science, history, literature, mathematics, political science, philosophy, and more. Some journals have "moving wall" access that does not include the most recent 2-5 years.
  • America: History & Life
    Search 2,000 scholarly journals on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present (the rest of the world is covered in Historical Abstracts).
  • Ethnic NewsWatch
    Articles from over 200 newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Provides in-depth coverage of a wide range of current and historical topics. Limit the Source Type to "Scholarly Journals" for peer-reviewed articles.
Library Services
Library Access from Off Campus
View instructions and get help with troubleshooting.

Student Study Rooms
Reserve student study rooms for group work, available on the second and third floors of the Library.

Equipment Check Out
VIsit the Circulation Desk to borrow digital cameras, camcorders, projectors, and other equipment.

Write Place
The Write Place offers free, one-on-one tutoring to all members of the St. Cloud State University community, at any stage in the writing process. They are located in Building 51 and also have a satellite location in the library on the first floor.
Search for Streaming Video
Films on Demand: Ethnic and Women's Studies Restricted Resource Resource contains video
Streaming video on issues related to Ethnic Studies, Women's Studies, Social Inequality, and general Sociology.
Tip: To focus your results, type "racism" into the search box.

Media Education Foundation Collection (Kanopy) Restricted Resource Resource contains video
Online videos that encourage critical thinking about the social, political, and cultural impact of American mass media, with a special focus on representations of gender and race.
Accessing Full Text Articles
  • When searching the databases for articles, look for the one of these links to access full text:
    HTML Full Text Image PDF Full Text image
     
  • If you don't see full text links, click on the Find It! button to view the easiest way to access the article:
    Find It button
     
find it menu
 
  • If an online full text option is not available, you will either see information about where the physical item is in the library OR be prompted to Sign in to order the item through Interlibrary Loan.
Cite Your Sources
Use the Cite feature in the library's databases to format your citations and copy and paste into your paper. Be sure to double check them for accuracy.

APA Formatting and Style Guide from OWL at Purdue

MLA Formatting and Style Guide from OWL at Purdue
In-Text Citations in APA
An in-text citation allows your reader to track down a specific source you use in your paper. The in-text citation should provide enough information to point your reader to the full citation in your reference list. An in-text citation must be included when you quote or paraphrase information from one of your sources.

In APA Style, an in-text citation typically includes the author's last name and the date of publication, in parenthesis. If you use a direct quote, include the page number for the reference.

Examples from OWL at Purdue and APA Style Blog:

After the intervention, children increased in the number of books read per week (Smith & Wexwood, 2010). 

Smith and Wexwood (2010) reported that after the intervention, children increased in the number of books read per week. 

According to Jones (1998), "Students often had difficulty using APA style, especially when it was their first time" (p. 199).

Johnson argued that...(as cited in Smith, 2003, p. 102).
Popular vs. Scholarly practice

Scholarly and Popular Materials (NCSU)

Popular vs. Scholarly Articles: A Guide and Tutorial

Compare and contrast the following articles. What makes one popular and the other scholarly?
 
Subject Specialist
Picture: Melissa Prescott

Melissa Prescott
Professor, Research Librarian
MC 204E
(320) 308-4751
mkprescott@stcloudstate.edu


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University