University Library at St. Cloud State University

Ethnic Studies (Muslim Americans)

All Items by Source


Expand/Collapse All

  Articles, journals, magazines and newspapers

Academic Search Premier (all topics) Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Academic Search Premier (ASP) contains indexing for nearly 8,050 publications, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. ASP provides full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
America: History & Life Restricted Resource findit database
Search 2,000 scholarly journals on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present (the rest of the world is covered in Historical Abstracts).
Ethnic NewsWatch Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
Articles from over 200 newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Provides in-depth coverage of a wide range of current and historical topics. Limit the Source Type to "Scholarly Journals" for peer-reviewed articles.
JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Provides access to scholarly journals in anthropology, ecology, economics, education, general science, history, literature, mathematics, political science, philosophy, and more. Some journals have "moving wall" access that does not include the most recent 2-5 years.
Sociological Abstracts Restricted Resource findit database
The primary database for scholarly articles in sociology, anthropology, social work, and related topics of study.

  Facts, definitions, and overviews

American Immigrant Cultures: Builders of a Nation
Print Location: REF E184 .A1 A63448 1997
Check availability
Moderate to lengthy essays on immigration, socio-cultural, and political aspects for every racial, national, and ethnic group in the United States. Each essay includes a brief bibliography.
Concise Oxford Dictionary of World Religions
Print Location: REF BL31 .O842 2000
Check availability
Abriged and updated edition, which includes bibliographical references and indexes.
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref ebook
This encyclopedia looks at Islam's role in the modern world in the context of the religion's history and development over the last 13 centuries. Contains thematic articles, biographies of key figures, definitions, illustrations, maps and more.
Encyclopedia of Islam in the United States
Print Location: Ref BP 67 .U6 E53 2007
Two volumes. Vol. 1 includes A-Z articles on culture, economics, education and intellectual thought, ethnicity, immigration, events, food and drink, government, health, holidays, media and communications, movements, organizations/societies, people, places, religious beliefs and practices, sexuality, war/conflict/violence/peace, and women/gender/family. Vol. 2 contains primary documents on religious life of Muslims; terrorism and September 11, 2001; challenges of citizenship; gender and Islam; race and Islam; and Muslim artistic and cultural expression in America.
Encyclopedia of Muslim-American History
Print Location: Ref E 184 .M88 E876 2010
2 vol. A-Z encyclopedia. Includes almost 300 entries, plus 50 historical documents. Includes a historical introduction, a timeline, an extensive bibliography, and detailed index.
Encyclopedia of Politics and Religion
Print Location: Ref BL 65 .P7 E53 2007
Two volumes, A-Z, with more than 300 signed articles. Entries trace the historical roots of the relations between politics and religion in the modern world and consider how these two elemental institutions of society have combined to shape public discourse, affect social attitudes, spark and sustain collective action, and influence policy, especially over the past two centuries.
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism
Print Location: Ref E184 .A1 E584 2008
Check availability
3 vol. A-Z encyclopedia with more than 400 signed entries on historical and contemporary aspects of race. Most entries include recommendations for further reading. Vol. 1 includes lists of articles, contributors, and thematic outlines.
Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures
Print Location: Ref HQ 1170 .E53 2003
Vol. 1 includes methodologies, paradigms, and sources for studying women and Islamic cultures through thematic entries. Articles are scholarly and include bibliographies. Tip: use the table of contents and subject index to access relevant articles on topics such as marriage, gender roles, health, law, migration, childbirth, etc.
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America
Print Location: REF E184.A1 G15
Check availability
4 vols. Medium to lengthy entries for American ethnic groups. Organized by ethnic groups. Each entry includes information on history, geography, immigration, culture, religion, family structures, and more. Bibliographies are included with each entry.
Islamic World: Past and Present
Print Location: Ref DS 35.53 .I86 2004
3 vol. A-Z encyclopedia has index in Vol. 3. Look under United States to find information on Arab Americans. Includes articles history, daily life, religion, art, architecture, culture, and current issues.
Muslim Almanac: A Reference Work on the History, Faith, Culture, and Peoples of Islam
Print Location: Ref BP 40 .M83 1996
Not the usual A-Z organization, so use index and contents to locate relevant articles. Includes articles on Beginnings and Foundations of Islam; History and Extension of Islam; Diversity in Islam; Intellectual Tradition in Islm; Spiritual and Devotional Tradition in Islam; Artistic and Architectural Expression in Islam; Literary Expressions; Women and Their Contributions to Islam; Islam and other Faith Communities; and Contemporary Developments in Islam. Most articles includes References for further study. Chapter 12 (pp. 144-158) focuses on Islam in the Americas.
Religions of the World
Print Location: REF BL80.3 .R45 2002
Check availability
4 vol. A-Z entries include information on world religions, history of their origin and growth, their interaction with the larger world, and their present status in the world. Includes in-depth articles on 16 major religions as well as articles on religions of hundreds of world countries.

  Websites

American Civil Liberties Union: Racial Justice
Website of the ACLU Racial Justice Program which aims to preserve and extend constitutionally guaranteed rights to people who have historically been denied their rights on the basis of race. 
Subject Specialist
Picture: Melissa Prescott

Melissa Prescott
Professor, Research Librarian
MC 204E
(320) 308-4751
mkprescott@stcloudstate.edu


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University