University Library at St. Cloud State University

EAP 101/201: Listening and Speaking for Academic Purposes

English for Academic Purposes
Step 1: Choose and Explore a Topic
To find facts about the topic:
Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase eref ebook
Provides online access to over 500 reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) in all subject areas. This is the premier place to look up a quick fact or to search for background information on a research topic.


Points of View Reference Center Restricted Resource Some full text availableelm database
Presents multiple sides on current controversial topics. Each topic may include topical essays, supporting articles, primary source documents, images, and videos.

To find research resources for specific disciplines or courses:
Research Guides (By Subject or Course Number)
Guides for doing research in a particular subject area (Art, Education, Social Work, etc.) or for a specific course.
Step 2: Look for Books

LibSearch Unrestricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Search the library's physical collection (books, movies, music, government publications, etc.) along with online journals and e-books to which the Library subscribes -- all in a single search.


Call numbers beginning with A-D are on 2nd floor
Call numbers beginning with E-HX, J-L, and P-Z are in the basement
Call numbers beginning with M, N, or JUV are on 3rd floor
Call numbers beginning with MRC or REF are on 1st floor

View Library Building Maps and Locations

ELLReaders102315.pdf pdf
This link will take you to a list of English language readers including fiction and non-fiction. You may be locate the books by searching on the title LibSearch.

Step 3: Look for Articles

Academic Search Premier (all topics) from EBSCO Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Full-text articles in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.

Communication & Mass Media Complete

ProQuest Newspapers Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Fulltext of 300+ U.S. and international news sources. Includes the New York Times (1999 to present), The Times of London (index and abstract only), the Wall Street Journal (1984 to present), and the StarTribune of Minneapolis (1986 to present). ​​ 
Scholarly vs. Popular Sources

Scholarly vs. Popular Periodicals from Vanderbilt University
____________________________
 
Scholarly sources are:
  • written by experts, scholars, or professors in the discipline; names and credentials are included
  • contain a bibliography (works cited) and/or footnotes to document research
  • reviewed and critically evaluated by experts in the field of study (peer review or refereed)
Accessing Full Text Articles
  • When searching the databases for articles, look for the one of these links to access full text:
    HTML Full Text Image PDF Full Text image
     
  • If you don't see full text links, click on the Find It! button to view the easiest way to access the article:
    Find It button
     
find it menu
 
  • If an online full text option is not available, you will either see information about where the physical item is in the library OR be prompted to Sign in to order the item through Interlibrary Loan.
Step 4: Read and Evaluate Your Sources
Once you have searched for and located information, you must evaluate your results to determine which resources to use for your research assignments. One method for evaluating information is the CRAAP Test (from the Meriam Library at California State University Chico). CRAAP stands for:
  • Currency: The timeliness of the information.
  • Relevance: The importance of the information for your needs.
  • Authority: The source of the information.
  • Accuracy: The reliability, truthfulness, objectivity, and correctness of the informational content.
  • Purpose: The reason the information exists. 
 
Step 5: Cite Your Sources
Many scholarly organizations and publications have developed systems for documenting and citing sources.  The American Psychological Association (APA) and the Modern Language Associaiton (MLA) are the two most common systems. OWL at Purdue University has good online guides for both systems.  
Ask a Librarian

Click to access email (answered usually within an hour during regular Reference Desk hours), chat (available 24 / 7), phone numbers for SCSU Reference Desk, and online form to set up a one-on-one (in person or via telephone) research consultation with a librarian.
Library Services
View instructions and get help with troubleshooting.

Student Study Rooms
Reserve student study rooms for group work, available on the second and third floors of the Library.

Equipment Check Out
VIsit the Circulation Desk to borrow digital cameras, camcorders, projectors, and other equipment.

Husky Fetch
Place a hold on the books you want using the Library’s Books and More catalog, and Husky Fetch will fetch them for you.
Write Place
Write Place
The Write Place offers free, one-on-one tutoring to all members of the St. Cloud State University community, at any stage in the writing process. They are located in Building 51 and also have a satellite location in the library on the first floor.
Academic Integrity
Academic writing involves finding, evaluating, and using information resources.  When you use research, quotes, ideas, or data you have found in books, articles, webpages, etc. you need to cite the source of your information. Why do you need to cite your sources?
  • Effectively integrating source material from the experts with your own ideas and accurately referencing that source material can lend support to the argument in your paper and credibility to your reputation as a maturing professional in your field
  • Providing complete references enables readers who are interested in your topic to find out more about your research
  • Just as you expect to receive credit for your work, other authors expect and deserve credit for theirs  (from LEO: Literacy Education Online)

If you do not cite your sources you are being academically dishonest and guilty of plagiarism, a violation of SCSU's Student Code of Conduct.
Plagiarism can result in a failing grade for the assignment or the class as well as other disciplinary actions.
Minnesota Resources
Atlas of Minnesota Online Edition Unrestricted Resource
Interactive online maps based on the Atlas of Minnesota, 2nd edition. You can browse topics such as agriculture, people, education, housing, and more.

Minnesota NorthStar
The official website for the state of Minnesota

Minnesota History
A lively, richly illustrated magazine published by the Minnesota Historical Society. Topics vary and cover 150+ years of state and regional history. Issues from 1948-present are available in print.

Minnesota Digital Library: Minnesota Reflections Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audiodatabase
The collection brings you more than 210,000 images, maps and documents from more than 155 of the state's cultural heritage organizations. This site offers resources on Minnesota's history and geography for researchers, educators, students, and the public. ​ 


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University